Terrace + Pool + Alpilles mountains
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Le Mazet du Soleil is situated in the heart of Provence, at the foot of the Alpilles, close to Saint Remy de Provence, Avignon and Arles. You'll appreciate the beauty of nature here, all the modern amenities in the heart of the country with a spectacular view. More than just a holiday, we do our best to ensure you enjoy your time with us in Provence.

The space

Le Mazet du Soleil is situated in Provence just 9 km from Saint Remy de Provence, between Avignon and Arles in the heart of the Alpilles countryside. Our recently renovated room, which is part of our 18th century Mas (country house), will give you the opportunity to appreciate the beauty of the Alpilles and the Provençal countryside. An excellent place to relax after a day in Avignon, Nimes, Arles or at the sea.

The room includes a spacious bedroom, on the first floor with a cathedral ceiling, and a beautiful stone wall and a high ceiling. There is a large comfortable double bed (160 cm) and a single bed. (90 cm). (Nb. the stairs are open and may seem rather steep for some people). Ideal for a couple, or a small family (2 children) as the beds are in the same room.. Also possible for three travelers (no additional fee for children).

The kitchen is fully equipped (dishwasher, washing machine, hob unit, fridge, microwave, toaster. The living area opens out onto the garden which is surrounded by fields.
The perfect place for relaxing. We have a very good WIFI connection.

Ideal if you're looking for an escape away from a busy city or work environment with walks in the Alpilles or cycling. An artist's paradise with the changing colors of the countryside and the sky. You can also swim in our beautiful pool with a spectacular view of the Alpilles or relax on the terrace, play table tennis or badminton, or simply enjoy the garden. The duplex also has its own BBQ.

We are situated 2km from the village, Saint Etienne du Grès, in the heart of Provence and at the foot of the Alpilles. There are some excellent shops in the village: a baker's, famous for its "fougasse", butcher's, grocer's and florist's and an excellent greengrocers with fresh local fruit and vegetables.
There are excellent local markets in nearby villages.
There are some excellent restaurants, two in the village, and many others in nearby villages, in particular in Saint Remy de Provence and Maussane.

We are situated at the foot of the regional park of Les Alpilles, just 9km from the charming village of Saint Remy de Provence, and the archaeologic site of Glanum, 6km from Fontvieille, (home of Alphonse Daudet), 10 km from Les Baux de Provence, 15 km from Arles, (a UNESCO city), 20 km south of Avignon and its famous drama festival in July, and 9km from Tarascon (nearest train station). 40 minutes from Aix-en-Provence, also close to the Lubéron and Mont Ventoux, the Camargue and its beaches at Saintes Marie de la Mer and Le Pont du Gard. (25 minutes by car).
For Golf lovers, there are some beautiful golf courses in Les Baux-de-Provence ( 9 holes).

You will need a car, as, although just 2km from the village, we are on a country road. You'll find our place ideal for cycling and walking in the Alpilles. If you like horse-riding, there are many riding stables close-by. Riding lessons can easily be organized, either at the local riding stables, or in the Camargue.

Our guests love our new pool. Also great for children learning to swim.
Bikes are available, free of charge.

You'll love the area as there's so much to visit and Provence is just beautiful. Make sure you book enough days to visit, most of our visitors want to stay longer! We recommend at least 4 days!

Minimum 7 nights during July and August.

Guest access

Guests have full use of the garden, badminton, table tennis. Can enjoy the pool whenever they like. They are also free to use our bikes.
You can park your car just in front of the Mas.

Interaction with guests

We love spending time with our guests, exchanging views, hearing about their travels and sharing all our tips about what to visit in Provence ....and beyond.

Other things to note

We can organize all sorts of additional services eg. babysitter, a "chef à domicile", local guide, taxi service, visit to local vineyards.... just ask us.
If you would like us to organise a ride in a horse and cart, one of the farmers nearby still takes his horse and cart out. He's often at the local village festivities.


Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $37
Security Deposit $370
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

We love traveling and love staying in B&B. We treat you as our guests, the way we would expect to be treated. We also pay attention to detail to make you feel at home.
Please leave the appartment as you found it. If you prefer to pay for a cleaning service (50 €) just let me know and I will organize it.
You can borrow any books, but please remember to put them back.

Nous vous indiquerons les fonctionnalités des clim réversibles.
Les draps et les serviettes sont fournis.
Nous nous attendons à ce que vous quittiez la chambre dans le même état que l'avez trouvé.
Sinon, indiquez-nous que vous préférez payer un service de nettoyage (50 €).
Merci de votre compréhension.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
4 nights minimum stay

107 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Zoe User Profile
September 2017
We had a fantastic time at Herve and Emma's place. It was so peaceful and relaxing; exactly what we needed away from our hectic London lives. We had the pool to ourselves, visited cutesy little French villages, enjoyed BBQs on our terrace and just generally enjoyed the quiet! Tip: We went in September and there were quite a lot of mosquitoes about, plus there are a fair few crickets too, so take some repellent and you'll keep them at bay! You will need a car here though as you can't really walk anywhere. The nearest shop is about a 7 min drive away. Plus it's good to be mindful of this when planning meals out etc. While there are LOADS of eating places to choose from a short drive away, driving the country lanes in the dark is a bit scary sometimes!

Jane User Profile
August 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Le Mazut du Soleil. Emma & Herve were wonderful hosts and their hospitality unprecedented. We appeciated the enormous efforts they made to meet our requests and to answer our many questions about the area. The highlight of our trip was helping their beautiful daughter, Aurelie, prepare a traditional french dinner. The location is centrally located to many Provence sites. We hope to return very soon!

Shmuel User Profile
June 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Emma and Herve's Mazet du Soleil. It is a very well kept place, with all the things you might need on a vacation. Emma and Herve were very warm and welcoming, providing us with all we needed, and always making sure that all the little details were taken care of. The place is set in the country side, a little remote, so you need a car. Restaurants and all needed facilities are a short drive away. St Remy is 10 minutes away, Avignon and Arles about 30 minutes away. Regarding the duplex- The bedroom is upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs. So if you need the bathroom a few times at night, be prepared for the ascent/descent of a relatively steep staircase. Other than that we have only good things to say about the place and the hosts. The duplex has all you might think of, including a sufficient kitchen with dishwasher and a washing machine, a TV and DVD with a very nice selection of movies. To summarize - the place is serene and lovely, the hosts are generous and warm. It was the perfect place for our first Provence vacation.

These are fabulous hosts with a wonderful serene, scenic place. If you are looking for a quiet getaway in Provence, definitely consider this place. The place is so cute and comes with everything - pool, bikes, washer/dryer, etc. We would stay here again. Thank you Emma and Herve!!

Kristina User Profile
May 2017
Emma and Herve are absolutely lovely people and are very friendly and gracious hosts. Their home is outside a very quaint village and the property itself is beautiful. I can't say enough nice things about them as people -- they were available but not obtrusive, generously brought us treats like morning pastries and fruit from a neighbor's farm, and most likely would have helped us with anything we had asked for. That being said, the quality and cleanliness of their AirBNB suite was disappointing. The moment we entered, we were greeted with a moldy, off-putting odor. We never did find the source of it but it was unpleasant. The place is furnished shabbily and gives you the feeling of being in an elderly relative's cluttered attic furnished with discarded odds and ends. And although the suite is well equipped with no standard items lacking, everything (including dishes inside cupboards) is covered with a layer of grime that reflects heavy use with only light cleaning. Some other things to note are that the wifi is so slow as to be unusable except when sitting outside near the side of the house. We were on a working holiday, so access to decent internet was important and we were disappointed here. The bathroom is adjacent to the kitchen and, in addition to being moldy and damp, is not at all private. We had to coordinate bathroom utilization with one person waiting outside on the patio each time, and as such I would not recommend this place for more than one person. As others have mentioned, the staircase to the bedroom is open and very steep and difficult to navigate when you need to go downstairs to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. And I wouldn't have been able to carry my own small luggage upstairs safely had I not had assistance from a friend. Overall, you should know that this place is owned by some of the nicest people you will ever meet. But I left the week feeling like I had been camping and was eager and relieved to check into cleaner accommodations. For the price I paid, I did not feel like this place was a good value and I will look elsewhere for lodging when I return to the area.
Emma & Herve User Profile
Response from Emma & Herve:
Kristina I'm very surprised at your comment - since when I asked your partner he told me the wifi was ok - - had I known you were (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN)ing for business all the time we could have easily (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN)d less ourselves! Also I'm surprised you say the dishes were not so clean - our cleaner can't have checked the dishes in the cupboard drawers and it's true some people do not wash them so well - I noticed you didn't use the dishwasher. Regarding the stairs - I'm surprised you found them steep - for elderly people - it's true they can be difficult - I will check this is mentioned on the ad. Next time I suggest you let the host know - I'm sure it would have helped! Yours is the first not so positive comment we have had out of 100! Enjoy Morocco Emma
May 2017

Omri User Profile
May 2017
Loved staying at this country house, surrounded by the lush fields, enjoying wine, cheese, and fresh baguette from the nearby village. The location simply can't be beat, and the hosts couldn't be any nicer. Thanks to Emma & Herve for a lovely stay!

John User Profile
May 2017
Great place to stay. Much closer to all of the desired sites/towns than we imagined. In a beautiful setting. They even helped us book a restaurant in nearby Maillane.

This host has 10 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, FranceJoined in February 2013
Emma & Herve User Profile

We're an Anglo-French couple who adore traveling and exploring new places. 5 years ago we arrived in Provence and fell in love with the beauty of France's true Provence. We love nature, outdoor life, BBQs, cycling and swimming.
We lived and worked in Canada for five years, then moved back to Paris, before heading south to the Riviera and finally to Provence where we appreciate the relaxed way of life.
We are also keen Airbnb travelers!

Languages: Deutsch, English, Español, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings