My Petite Room South Yarra Botanic Gardens
My Petite Room South Yarra Botanic Gardens


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The space

‘My Petite Room’ is one of four upstairs en-suite bedrooms which once formed part of an exclusive small hotel run by my family. Each room has its own lock and key for guests' complete privacy.

This beautiful heritage building is situated in the most accessible part of South Yarra with the wonderful Royal Botanic Gardens at one end of the street, and Fawkner Park, with tennis courts and café, at the other end.

‘My Petite Room’ is a small room with the original vintage blue Laura Ashley wallpaper. The Room has:

o Key to your own roo(URL HIDDEN)oDouble Victorian black iron bed
oTwo bedside tables
oChest of drawers
oWall hooks for your clothes
oElectric wall heater
oOverhead ceiling fan
oShutters to keep the room nice and cool on a hot day
oClock radio with iPod dock
oTelevision

All bed linen, bath towels, feather pillows, and doonas (duvets/comforters) are provided. If your stay is longer than a week I will provide clean linen and towels once a week.

The original en-suite bathrooms were installed in 1986 (when the property functioned as a boutique hotel), so are clean and functional, not glossy and new. My Petite Room has:

oBath with overhead shower
oHair dryer
oSoaps

Downstairs there is a bright open shared lounge area with:

oItalian black leather couch
o Jetmaster gas fireplace
oTwo leather Barcelona chairs
oMarble dining table
oSix chairs
oOverhead lamp
oA selection of books, magazines and games
oNespresso coffee machine & milk frother (including capsules)
oGas Barbecue in the small bamboo courtyard off the lounge area.

You may help yourself to a light breakfast of:

oFresh Fruit
oCereal
oMilk
oTeas
oSugar

There is also a small kitchenette downstairs with:

oSink
oFridge
oMicrowave
oToaster
oSandwich Press
oInduction hot plate.
o Kettle
o Cutlery and crockery

We have a washing machine,dryer, iron and ironing board that guests may use. There is a dry cleaners, 10 mins walk away. For stays longer than a week, you will receive fresh linen and towels once a week.

It is very easy to get around town from our property, with the tram stop only a 5 min walk away. Catch a tram into the City, St Kilda , Chapel St South Yarra, Fitzroy and Carlton (all within 30mins tram ride). South Yarra Train Station is also only a short tram ride away, or walk to the station in 10-15mins. The Melbourne bike share rack is close by should you wish to hire a bike, and The Flexicar spot is also nearby. You can also walk to the city, through the botanic gardens, or the shopping Mecca of Chapel St, in a leisurely 20 mins. The Rod Laver Arena (for the Australian Open & various concerts & events), MCG and the Albert Park Grand Prix track are also within walking distance. The National Gallery, Victorian Arts Centre, ACMI and the Malthouse Theatre are all around 20mins walk away.

The tennis courts in Fawkner Park hire out tennis rackets, should you wish to have a game. Plus there are pay-as-you-go BBQ areas in the Park and the famous Tan track around the Botanic Gardens is perfect for a walk or run.

There are many, many café’s, patisseries, and restaurants within walking distance. There is also a chemist, newsagent, grocer, and convenience store, 5mins walk from us.

For information on my other two, larger rooms: 'My Studio Room' & My Loft Room' please see my other listings by going to my Profile.

I look forward to welcoming you to one of 'My Rooms' and helping to make your stay in Melbourne as pleasant and memorable as possible!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules

No smoking or pets & please respect our other guests with noise & cleanliness of common areas.

Other than that we ask that you enjoy yourself and recommend us to your friends!


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
14 nights minimum stay

58 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Matthew User Profile
May 2017
This location and accommodation is fantastic. I used to live in South Yarra and when I came back to Melbourne for work for 3 months I wanted to live in South Yarra again for it's scenic beauty and safe and quiet suburban lifestyle. Milo's house delivered all of that and more. Highly recommended and when I return to Melbourne this will be the first place I come back to.

Sam User Profile
March 2017
Milo is a really great host, he is flexible, extremely responsive and is always there for you. The location is terrific and the house is beautiful. Would highly recommend.

Alexander User Profile
February 2017
The place is almost walking distance to CBD with lots of parks around. Everything was provided as described. Milo is a great host and I recommend his place to anyone visiting Melbourne

Yássica User Profile
November 2016
The house is beautiful and cozy, and really close to the Royal botanic garden and to Fawkner Park. It is also close to trans that you can take to go to Flinders Station/ CBD, it toke less than 15 minutes. Or you can walk around 15 minutes too and go to south yarra station to take a train. The surrounding area is beautiful and close to some facilities, like seven eleven, restaurants, pharmacy, fast food... The house has a small kitchen but is completely fine to cook and prepare meals there, it also has a washing machine and a dryer machine, all the facilities that you can imagine. Milo, the host, was very solicitous to help and always ask if everything is good.

Brittany User Profile
October 2016
Milo was a wonderful host! Everything went smoothly from the day we arrived to the day we checked out. He was very accommodating and always replied quickly to any questions we had. The room looks exactly like the pictures with a very spacious bathroom. We had a great stay at Milo's place and would highly recommend!

Mrunmoy User Profile
September 2016
Milo is a great host. He even helped us move our luggage up stairs to our room. The rooms were clean and exactly like the descriptions. We just loved the paintings on the wall. The other guests were great to interact with. The location is just perfect. You can navigate around the place and get to the tram on either Domain Rd. or Toorak Rd. within a few minutes of walk. There's Faulkner park on the opposite side of the road. Awesome place to walk/jog. There's also botanical gardens closeby. Great experience!

Ibrahim User Profile
July 2016
Fascinating place! I loved every part of staying here. The location is excellent, close to everything but most important for me is the botanic garden and Fawkner park. The room was very clean and organized with a big window for the sunshine, the en-suite bathroom was very clean and spacious. The room has it's own TV, and a very comfy and warm bed. The place has a reliable and fast internet connection. Milo is a very kind person, and very organized as well. He prepared the shared area downstairs which offers a well managed kitchen, laundry room and nice table in the middle for work/study or having a quick snack. Milo was there to answer any question I had, he was kind enough to extend my stay when I needed, and was very helpful with directions and tips for things to do around. Thanks Milo, this will be my place whenever I come to Melbourne!

This host has 128 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Melbourne, Australia · Joined in January 2013
Milo User ProfileMilo is a superhost.

I am a student & graphic artist, who also works in the food and hospitality industry, and have recently returned from study and work in Europe. I have just experienced living and working in a small hostel in Barcelona, which has inspired me to now welcome you to one of 'My Rooms'

I like to paint and draw and I'm lucky to live in a home that is filled with natural light.

I have lived in Melbourne my whole life and love living here. I ride my bike most places and find it a really easy city to get around.

I love travelling and meeting people from around the world. I look forward to welcoming you here to 'My Rooms' in South Yarra.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.