Quiet Little Brown Line Studio

Apartment - Entire home/apt · North Damen Avenue, Chicago, IL 60625, United States

This cozy little studio is a perfect home away from home. Full kitchen for your use. Centrally located only steps from the Damen Brown line. Surrounded by shops and restaurants, there's something for everyone in this Chicago haven.

The Space

Let this bright and cozy studio introduce you to Chicago's quiet side. Large windows let in sunshine through the trees outside, and though the space is small, it's got everything you need to be at home. The table doubles as a desk to plan your Chicago adventures, or can be pulled out to seat four if you'd rather stay in. Curl up on the loveseat with a book, or enjoy a bath in the cheery and serene bathtub.

Just a 5 minute stroll from the Lincoln Square shops or a 20 minute walk from the Andersonville strip, this place is your ticket to the Windy City's hidden gems. Plus, you're just one block from taking the Brown Line (Damen stop) downtown to the nightlife Chicago is known for. But, with so many great restaurants and bars steps outside your Damen doorstep, you might find yourself staying very close to home.

Amenities:
-private, QUIET apartment.
-wireless internet
-ready to use kitchen
-full size bed
-complimentary coffee and tea
-check in time is flexible- check with us to see if we can work with your early or late arrival.
-plenty of safe, free street parking.

Guest Access

Laundry room across the hall

Full kitchen and all it's contents

Linens and towels

Interaction with Guests

We try to check each guest in personally. We won't be present during your stay, but will be just a couple of blocks away and available if you need anything at all!

The Neighborhood

Lincoln Square is located in the safest ward of all Chicago. Restaurants and shops abound- there's something for everyone! Smack dab between two great parks, and close to public transit, it's the perfect home base from which to explore this great city.

Getting around

You can see the Damen Brown line stop from the front door! And the Damen bus stops right outside.

Other Things to Note

Please don't let anyone into the building you don't know, and don't try to follow anyone in- just use your key.

If you could pick up any mail and packages addressed for me, that'd be great.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $450 /week
Monthly Price: $1500 /month
Cleaning Fee: $10
Check In: 8:00 AM
Check Out: 6:00 PM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Thank you, it is perfect for my stay. Close to the Brown line and bus. Enjoyed specially the location which is a walking distance to the Lincoln Square, the Library and post office! Thank you Ellenkate for being very helpful in calling the cab for me. Thank you again! Easter blessings to you! Lynn

    April 2014
  • I really enjoyed staying at Ellenkate's cozy studio. It is in a really nice neighborhood very close to the brown line. I was in Chicago for a conference and the trains made getting in and out of the city a breeze. Ellenkate was a great host who made sure my stay was pleasant and was super responsive to my questions.

    April 2014
  • This is a sweet little studio in a perfect location. Great internet access. Cute little kitchen (although I didn't use it - it would be great if I were staying longer). Lots of light. Communicating with Ellenkate by text is super easy. We went around a bit on check in time - but we figured it out and in the end I was late and she buzzed us in quite late! Super great to have the laundry facility right across the hall. It's an older building but everything has fresh paint and is clean. There was even a hairdryer under the bathroom sink so I didn't have to borrow my daughter's. Will definitely book again when visiting Chicago.

    March 2014
  • We loved staying at this adorable little studio. Being next to the brown line was so convenient and it is just a quick walk from Lincoln Square. The apartment was clean and cozy with great lighting. Ellenkate was super helpful and responded quickly to any questions both before and during our stay. I would definitely recommend this place and stay there next time I'm in the city.

    March 2014
  • Great hosts, great location. Quiet, clean, comfortable apartment. Would definitely stay again!

    March 2014
  • We had a wonderful time at Ellenkates an Tims apartment! Lovely neighborhood! Highly recommend it!

    March 2014
  • What a great little place! My girlfriend and I stayed here and visited downtown Chicago! Ellenkate was great, she gave us some fantastic recommendations for local places to eat or get a drink, and her place is also minutes walking to the grocery store and subway/CTA.

    If we go back, I'll definitely stay here again. At first, it seemed like it was 'way outside of the city', but after venturing there and back, it is a very short commute on the CTA and even the area that this place is in is lovely to just go for a stroll and see shops and stores.

    I would definitely recommend this as a perfect quiet place for two to stay!

    March 2014
  • Ellenkate and Tim are great hosts. From the time I requested a reservation until I checked out, communication was super quick and friendly. Their place is cozy, clean, comfortable and the location really can't be beat. I'll definitely stay again!

    March 2014
  • Thanks to Ellenkate and Tim for their immense hospitality and a wonderful stay! The studio was lovely and warm, and we had a great time. The hosts could not have been more thoughtful and welcoming.

    February 2014
  • The most dirty place in whole Chicago. They wouldn't let us in to the apartment because they were cleaning. We were waiting outside 2 hours in a bad weather. they didn't answer the phone. Everything was dirty and messy over there. Bathroom had a lot of hair everywhere, spiders in the bathtub. Shower and bathroom door was broken too. Towels were dirty. We had to clean the bathroom before we used it.
    Host was very rude, she sent us an email, where she wrote ,,I'm sorry to bring this up, but there are some black splotches on the bath mat and there were some black stains in the shower. I'm wondering if it's possibly hair dye? We're trying to get it out, without much luck, and I thought it might help if I knew what it was.
    Thanks,"
    Seriously? We took a pictures of that place, we can show to everybody what she rented to us.
    I had always good experience with Airbnb, til lovely Ellenkates place. I would never recommend that website to anybody.

    February 2014
    Ellenkate And Tim
    Response from Ellenkate And Tim:

    Agneizka's review leaves us feeling very confused. We always try to accommodate our guests' travel schedules, reserving time in our schedule to meet with them and check them in. Agneiska told us she was going to arrive at 10am, and we were all set to check her in at that time. Unfortunately, she had several travel delays. We were unable to find out when she was going to be arriving, as she frequently did not respond for several hours. She finally said she was going to be arriving at 6:30pm, but did not make it clear whether that was arriving at the airport, or at the apartment. I told her that I would be in class until 6:30 but asked her to let me know when she landed. At 6:15pm, she told me she was outside at the apartment. Unfortunately, I was in class, as I had mentioned. In order to get her in as soon as possible, I called Tim and had him rush over to the apartment to let her in.

    At no time during her stay did she communicate that anything was less than perfect in the apartment.

    Regarding the cleanliness of the apartment, I can only register confusion, as guests often comment on the cleanliness of our place when they leave reviews. Our towels are always freshly laundered, and our shower and bathroom door are in working condition. I'm if my message about the bathmat came across as rude, that certainly would never be my intention. I completely understand that traveling and encountering many delays is frustrating, and I wish that we could have provided her with the stay she was looking for.

Per Month
From
$80
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 428 times
About
We're a young couple, and we live on the go. We love grabbing brunch with friends or a late-night beer down the street, and Chicago's the perfect place for us. We love to introduce visitors to this wonderful city! We don't need a whole lot, just fresh mew music, gluten-free food, a place for our bikes, and The West Wing on Netflix. When we're not staying at our studio, We're usually just a few blocks away. So, we're often in the neighborhood and happy to help with the odd question or request.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings