The BedroomA view of the Main House and Guest Lodge from the road
Luxury Cliffside Retreat Ocean View

Entire home/apt

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The guest lodge is a lovely retreat to chill out in .ideal romantic week ends .

In it you will find small fridge toaster kettle to make and enjoy your breakfast but no kitchen . a microwave has now been added .

Lots of restaurants can be found in the village .
Oldest pub Patsy Dan 's has a fabulous pizzeria next door .

The space

Tucked into the cliffs of Donegal's most dramatic peninsula rests our tranquil cottage retreat. Whether you have come to Horn Head to enjoy its world-renowned walks; to find artistic inspiration from the powerful Atlantic colliding with the resilient land; or merely to take some time to recharge, you have found your ideal base from which to discover this very special corner of Ireland.

The Guest Lodge has recently been remodeled to the highest standard and is a touch of real luxury in a place of unsurpassed beauty. Your home away from home features a king sized bed with en suite bathroom and a private conservatory furnished with plush armchairs and a small dinette from which to enjoy the panoramic views of the cliffs and sea beyond.

Occasionally. B&B accommodation is also available in the main house. Please make an enquiry if you are interested.


Mini Refrigerator
Plates and Cutlery
Dualit Toaster
Luxury Linens, towels and bath amenities
Under floor heating in winter months only off from midd April . Electric radiators for summer months if needed .
WIFI throughout note that it can be a problem .

Golf Courses
Dunfanaghy town (4 km)
Horseback riding
Wine Tasting

Local Beaches:
Tra Mor
Dunfanaghy Beach
Marble Hill
Rosapenna Strand
Downings Beach

Additional activities:
- Horn Head and Atlantic scenic drives.
- Climb Errigal and Muckish, the two highest mountains in Donegal
- Fishing (sea water and freshwater angling).
- Ards Forest Park (Pairc Foraoise na hArdai)
- Marble Hill Strand, with water sports centre offering windsurfing, canoeing and sailing tuition at very reasonable prices.
- Tory Island (Oileán Thoraigh) is located some 9 miles off the coast.
- Glenveagh National Park
- Doe Castle (Caislean na dTuatha)
- Capuchin Friary (Ard Mhuire)
- Dunlewey Lakeside Centre (Ionad Cois Locha)

Although walking trails are right on your doorstep, a car is necessary for getting around.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 2PM - 11PM
Check Out: 11AM
Property type: Other
Room type: Entire home/apt

Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $59
Weekend Price $121 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
Check in time is 2PM - 11PM


1 night minimum stay

80 Reviews

Check In
Mike User Profile
September 2017
The views from this place was more than my wife and I could have ever hoped for. The pictures do not do it justice, it is a thousand times more beautiful in person. The amenities are awesome! Towel warmer, heated floors, comfy bed and a gorgeous sitting room. We arrived late and had a spot of trouble with the wifi, but Marie's directions got us there perfectly and she was more than accommodating with the wifi by opening up her house to us. We would absolutely stay here again and look forward to the next opportunity to do so!

Kelly User Profile
September 2017
Marie-Jose's place is indescribably beautiful! It is the last house before horn head, and it feels like you are at the end of the world. The views of the mountains & the sea from each room are spectacular & the furnishing & decor are so thoughtful, down to the very last detail. We could not have had a nicer stay & Marie-Jose was so generous & hospitable to us. This house is perfect. You won't regret a stay here! I only wish we could've been here longer.

Jessie User Profile
September 2017
Absolutely stunning. It was the highlight of our trip. A completely serene setting. Pictures don't do justice.

Vincent User Profile
August 2017
Unique location with magnificent views! The guest house is gorgeous, like a dream!

Robbie User Profile
August 2017
The accommodations were very nice and we would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great view and looking to spend some quality R&R time. We arrived later than expected but Marie stayed in contact with us the whole time and opened the gate for us upon arrival and helped us get checked in quickly. We weren't able to stay long as we were just passing through on our road trip of Ireland but we would definitely stay again. The guest house had high quality furnishings and is a great little secluded getaway spot. Thanks so much Marie-Jose!

Jeremy User ProfileJeremy is a superhost.
August 2017
Amazing location, unwelcoming host. We had high hopes for this stop on our tour but our experience was ruined by the way we were treated by our host--the main issue being the tone she took in her communications. As a SuperHost myself, I know how important good communication and a welcoming spirit are to at times stressed and weary travelers who have come thousands of miles and spent a lot of money to get there. Unfortunately, Marie-Jose did not extend this spirit to us. Directions to the location were not as specific as they should be (e.g. specifying distance to travel on roads before turning). As mentioned in some of the other reviews, it is not the easiest place to find especially if you are traveling in the dark. Due to faulty satnav, we arrived very late and instead of warmth and sympathy from our host, we were greeted with a blaming attitude for arriving late for fear we might disturb her other guests who seemed to be her priority. We also were challenged by her for merely asking if laundry facilities were available. Although we had told Marie-Jose that we were about an hour away, we were greeted by loud blaring lights and and a robotic voice repeatedly announcing: Warning! You are trespassing and being recorded on video! This was extremely upsetting and alarming to us and would not turn off while we were taking our bags out of the car. Bottom line: While the location is spectacular, unfortunately we could not wait to leave since we did not feel welcome.
Marie-José User Profile
Response from Marie-José:
I had expected Jeremy that kind of review from you . I'm not quite sure why you have targeted me . Perhaps because I refused to do your washing , or try to track you down close to midnight because you had not contacted me letting me know you would arrive after 12pm , I don't know . All I know is that you were boosting from your very first email but did not respect your host while travelling .your review as you can see really reflect others .
August 2017

Mark User Profile
August 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Marie-Jose's guest cottage. The view from the sitting area can not be beat, and we took advantage of it every morning as we ate breakfast. When my wife and I travel we can be kind of picky about beds and showers, and so we were pleasantly surprised to find that they were both perfect. Thanks Marie-Jose!

This host has 12 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
IrelandJoined in January 2013
Marie-José User Profile

Find it hard to describe myself , I guess creative is what am , need my space and love nature .

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings