Private room
4 Guests
2 Beds
$44
Per Night
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

PLEASE NOTE: Children sharing room downstairs free if bringing bedding for them, or $5.00 each if I am to provide. Extra (3rd or 4th) persons for 2nd room $25.00 each.
Yummy self-serve breakfast for extra $10.00 each, or BYO (can use my kitchen).

The other side of the queen bed room under the house.

The other side of the queen bed room under the house.


The Space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 1:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $18 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $7
Weekly discount: 14%
Cancellation: Flexible

Description

The Space

Hi there!

Staying with us is about experiencing what it is like to "live" in the Blue Mountains. By sharing with us in conversation, food and our living space, you will gain "local knowledge". We are not luxury accommodation, but we are very comfortable and friendly! We look after our guests - please read our all-positive feedback.

Blackheath, where we are, is a gorgeous village at the very top of the Blue Mountains. It has great markets - each weekend of the month hosting a different one, from Grower's markets to Craft markets. There is also a shopping village with butcher, baker, grocer, cafes and restaurants; as well as vintage emporiums, boutiques, galleries, etc ... and then there's the scenery and national parks in every direction! Our house is a cosy, homely cottage, 15 to 20 minutes walk to the train station and village; and literally around the corner from some spectacular bush walks. As we are so close to nature, from early spring to late Autumn, we also have resident Kangaroos that frequently hop down our street at dusk and sometimes hang around 'till dawn. It's an unpretentious but special place.

If you are traveling by train and have heavy luggage, I am happy to pick you up if I can - just ask. The train line takes you into Sydney and the airport comfortably and easily (the trains are air conditioned); or in the other direction into central NSW that offer wine regions, historic country towns and more.

I have a private queen bed room under the house with it's own entrance; and a smaller queen bed room inside the house, meaning I can accomodate up to 4 adults.

The room under the house is a room set up exclusively for guests and is accessed from outside and has it's own door key, so you can come and go without walking through the house. The bathroom, however, is inside the house, and to get inside you momentarily travel through an undercover outdoor area and up a small set of stairs. The undercover area is furnished with chairs, table and hammocks and is where you can smoke if you need to (sorry, not inside!) or just relax in some fresh air. Being under the kitchen area of the house, you will hear the goings on of our house during waking hours if we're home (if something gets dropped on the floor upstairs you will hear it, and the sink water travels through a corner of your room, so you will hear trickles of water occasionally). We (upstairs in the house) can't hear your activities at all, nor conversations in either direction, so it is very private in that way. And it is a super quiet room at night (very peaceful) as it is furthest away from our bedrooms and the street. It's a great room with an awesomely comfortable bed for which I only get compliments and happy customers! And guests usually have sights to see and things to do during the day anyway - that's what they're here for!! But if you wanted to sleep all day, I'd advise to bring ear plugs, as my son is 4 years old and likes to bang and play. That said, activity in the kitchen starts on average at about 7:30am, so you will not hear anything before then (and sometimes later or not at all).

The queen bed room inside the house offers more in the way of entertainment (TV and DVD player), and is a bit smaller than the room under the house. It is the room closest to the street so you will hear the school bus at 8am go past but otherwise it is a very quiet room that you can access from the front door of the house without disturbing anyone. If you wanted to sleep in, this is the room to choose as it is shielded more from the goings on of the house, if you keep your door closed.

I have fast Wifi throughout the house and a portable stereo with iPhone/iPod dock that you are welcome to use in your room. I also have 2 x portable sleepers for babies and toddlers too. All beds have 2 x electric blankets for individual temp control and both rooms have heating.

You are welcome to hang out on our balcony overlooking our vege patch or in our lounge/dining room in front of the fire. There is plenty of parking on the street if you are driving.

I offer a small fridge for your food if you bring your own and please feel free to use our kitchen (and laundry) facilities. Or we can offer you breakfast for an extra $10.00 per person (under 4yrs free) - eggs, muesli, cereal, porridge, toast, yummy condiments, fruit plus tea/coffee .. that you can help yourself to whenever you're ready.

Throughout the day or evening, I may or may not be around depending on my plans and commitments. But I am always up for a chat and like spending time with people, so if I'm home, don't be shy to hang out with us! That said, I also respect and understand if you'd prefer solitude. Rest assured I am a very good communicator and never leave anyone stranded and am happy to provide maps and information. My home is your home while you're here, so make yourself comfortable!

We (myself, and my son, Chance) are fun, social and interested in people and their stories. We have traveled too (most recently, 3 months in South America) and always found that staying with local people was by far the most interesting and authentic part of our travels. Chance's dad, Dave, stays with us for part of the week, so sometimes "we" are three. Dave is friendly too, and good for a chat with lots of local knowledge.

Come and stay with us a while!

+ More

House Rules

I just ask that you communicate your needs and plans so that I can accommodate your needs and anticipate your plans as best I can but also, to give me the opportunity to inform you if your needs or plans don't fit in with mine. Thanks!

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay
Out the window

Out the window

61 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

About the Host, Lara

shared.user_profile_image
New South Wales, Australia
Member since January 2013

Connections

Explore other options in and around Blackheath

More places to stay in Blackheath: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums