Skip to content
The living room and the cosy fireplaceThe bungalow seen from the garden, overlooking the football field
Entire bungalow

Designer bungalow close to the city

Systur Og Makar User Profile
Systur Og Makar

Designer bungalow close to the city

6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
Sparkling clean9 recent guests have said that this home was sparkling clean.
Indoor fireplaceThis is one of few homes in this area that has this feature.

A lovely little house just about 35 minutes outside of Reykjavik in a beautiful and exclusive summerhouse area. It is snuggled in a circle of mountains making it a perfect spot to enjoy a hot drink by the fire and relax with your friends and family!


Free parking on premises
Indoor fireplace
Cable TV

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
1 queen bed
Common spaces
2 single beds

House Rules

Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)


65 Reviews

Jesse User Profile
July 2018
My wife and I stayed here for a week while we enjoyed the west side of iceland. The bnb is about 45 minutes from downtown Reykjavik in an amazingly beautiful little valley. The house is somewhat remote but that is what makes it so wonderful. The views from the house are some of …
Nadine User Profile
June 2018
Beautiful cozy cabin. The location is stunning. Perfectly remote and yet easy drive away from all the things. The inside is decorated beautifully and has everything one could need. The kitchen was well stocked with basics and the fireplace was a major bonus!! We loved our stay. C…
Matthew User Profile
June 2018
Fantastic cabin in an even better location. Private, calm and a portal to what I had hoped from for a true Icelanic experience. Remote but still accessible, this retreat can't be beat.
Shauna User Profile
June 2018
This bungalow is very attractively decorated with exceptional details to make visitors feel welcome. It is located in a beautiful scenic area as well. We loved coming “home” after a long day of tourist activities!
Pamela User Profile
April 2018
Lovely stay! The photos do not do it justice. The home is clean and comfortable and an incredible cozy place to return after a day exploring Iceland. The house is wonderfully stocked and we really loved the firewood supplied to enjoy curling up by the fire in the evenings. The ho…
Julien User Profile
February 2018
The cabin was as cozy and lovely as the pictures indicated. Thoughtfully organized and decorated; the cabin was great. And Icelanders were overall friendly and helpful. However our hosts were not so helpful, enough so that we left the cabin after just one night. It started with o…
Systur Og Makar User Profile
Response from Systur Og Makar:
That is one heavy review, let us just point a few things out in our defence.. So, we went to the house the day before and understandably, renting a cabin in the countryside of Iceland in February, you can never know exactly how the weather is going to turn out, thus the access. We cannot control the weather or the roads, if you want to be absolutely sure, rent a country side location in Iceland during summer where you shouldn‘t have any risks (well in Iceland you never really know though).. We have used the cabin 5-6 times this winter and had never any problems getting to the house except this time whereas the parking was full of snow, however, there is no problem parking on the road like we told you and we took 3 hours shovelling all the patio and a pathway and steps to the house for our guests, you, to have an easy access, the horrible hosts we are, shame on us! And yes, we painted the house last summer, leaving it fresh and modernised; this somehow is a bad thing? Shame on us for not updating the image, we will do that.. this has however always been complimented and we have been told that we obviously really take care of our listing, but yes, sure, difference in opinion, absolutely. And yes on top of that the house looked different indeed.. it was covered with snow, opposed to the summer images shown in the listing. We find it especially sad to hear you found us rude to you and annoyed on the phone, we asked you continuously to please let us know again if there was anything we could do for you, I kept my phone with me all the time so you could reach us whenever and we picked up after two rings tops. So this I blame on cultural difference and have never received bad reviews about bad communication or rudeness but quite the opposite (Does this not have anything to do with the fact that YOU were in fact annoyed with all the snow you might have not anticipated?) We however felt you were quite rude to us on the phone and basically blamed us for the bad weather, (which in fact it wasn’t, yes it was snowy but the weather was absolutely GORGEOUS in the valley with amazing views and fresh and crisp sights and perfect for aurora lights we were hoping you would get. Sad to hear you missed it because of your disappointment with us. We did, two young ladies, like we told you, go and open the shed the day before, a bit stiff but no problems. Maybe it had frozen a bit more during the night or maybe we are just very strong, stronger than 3 grown men, I can‘t say. Again, sorry for this, we probably should have hidden the keys somewhere else if we would have known, however in the end you got in.. Thank lord! Listing your very unfortunate mishap (where indeed fortunately no one got hurt), in the review of our cabin is the icing on the cake.. Somehow that combined with the weather (again, in the countryside in Iceland) is somehow our fault?! Honestly guys?! And finally you say that we did not help you and shut you off, that is simply not true. One of us spoke to a woman at this point, a lot more genuine and easier to speak to I might add, and I gave her instructions for a webpage that could give you information about road conditions. What would you have wanted us to do? You weren‘t renting a hotel in the city, you rented a cabin in the country side! Dont forget, YOU decided to rent a place to stay in high winter, February in Iceland, you know the house is located in an exclusive summerhouse area surrounded with mountains, (it says so on the listing you could read before booking). There we also describe the roads as gravel roads the last 7 km before you enter the house. We cannot guarantee anything about the weather, no one can, but you decided by yourselves to take the change. We told you to take a four wheeler in case and since we have a flexible cancelling policy and you could have watched the weather forecast before and decided to cancel the booking due to the weather. Flexible booking policy, like it says on our listing means: Cancel up to 24 hours before check in and get a full refund (minus service fees). This you did not do and still took a change to arrive to the cabin. You did not message us before, raising any concerns about anything and seeing all of your Airbnb reviews you seemed like very experienced travellers. Sad to hear that you had such horrible experience with our listing especially since we have never spent as much time getting it ready for any other guests, making sure you had enough firewood, shovelled the patio for hours and cleaned meticulously for your arrival. Hope you will have better luck next time, wherever you decide to go.
February 2018
Joanne User Profile
October 2017
The host canceled this reservation 3 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Hosted by Systur Og Makar

Reykjavík, IcelandJoined in October 2015
Systur Og Makar User Profile
67 Reviews
Systur & Makar, translated to Sisters & Partners, is a small designer company in Iceland. We produce and sell our own designs in the form of clothing, jewellery, accessories and home décor pieces in our own stores in Reykjavík as well as on-line. Being a family business of thr…
Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings