Welcome to my cottageThis room has a double bed two windows with sea views.
Rent peace and quiet and hillwalk
Rent peace and quiet and hillwalk
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

I restored this cottage from 2003 with love and every ounce of my soul has been poured into bringing it to a cosy retreat perfect for two or a small family or 4 close friends. Take time to Hike, Bike, Read, Write, Draw, Think, Play, Live &make Love. There is a large extension which is another house which can be rented separately or together if you have a larger group. Thick stone walls means there is excellent sound proofing. You would not notice the guests next door unless you meet them.

The space

Hello there,

If you love amazing views of the sea in front and the peace and quiet of the countryside, then this place is for you.

Sleeps one or 2 couples comfortably.(there are 2 bedrooms with a double bed in each. there is also a single bed in the bigger bedroom. I have a fold out couch downstairs. 4 people can be accommodated but then again how close of friends are you?

My cottage really suits people who love the country cottage feel and relaxed atmosphere, if you love monotone hotels and convenience to towns/shops/arcades this is not for you. The entertainment on offer can be having a cuppa while watching the two baby bunnies playing in my wild garden and somehow avoiding my visiting fox who almost daily pops by.....also we two great local pubs with friendly people and good cheer....also one does really good food.

This is a cottage rental rather than a bed and breakfast. Some dried foods I leave you just in case you arrive and have forgotten to get shopping, even thou

Short and long term rentals are possible, small or large groups, just ask and I shall see if I can make it possible for your situation.

It's a quiet neighbourhood, occasional tractor factor, rabbits, foxes, migrating swallows....you get the picture....relaxation, views, perfect for relaxing get aways.

My cottage is about 100 plus years old. It is open plan down stairs with kitchen diner one side and sitting room with stove. It has two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. I restored it and lived in it since (URL HIDDEN) had been derelict with roof falling in no windows or doors so it has been a labour of love and now I happy to rent it to people who will enjoy it and have a great experience on the penninsula.

I built on and I live in the "West Wing" mostly although I often live with my boyfriend but sometimes I have a weekend of R and R in my cottage where I read books and invite friends over and have tea in front of the fire and play scrabble.... There is something magical about it....everybody loves the cosy feeling.

I prefer to only accept minimum of 3 nights bookings. It is a lovely penninsula and I'm sure you won't regret 3 nights staying here. I can offer a variety of accommodation as in if it's a larger group you can have the "West Wing" which has another 2 bedrooms and bathrooms and dance/yoga floor. I can put in a futon or pull out couch in the cottage just ask and see if I can sort out your situation.

I am in the middle of nowhere but there's nowhere else I'd rather be having been around the world I've come home to Ahakista. 1 hr 45 mins drive from Cork city/airport, 17 km from bantry town, no bus services to Ahakista . No trains down here etc. You need a car and a Sat Nav or a map and a good sense of adventure and an ability to ask for directions. It's beautiful and is perfect for folk who like hill walking and going off for picnics or lunches out and drives to ring of Kerry and the five penninsulas. Perfect base to go explore from.

Thanks for checking out my profile I'm now almost 3 years being a member of Airbnb and really excited by the concept of making the global community welcome in my home . I backpacked around the world for 2 years and wish this concept was available back then. I used to wander into villages and ask to be hosted for a fee, I do believe that it enriched my experiences greatly. I will guide you/give directions/ advice if you want or leave to discover by yourselves as you wish.
The original cottage is over 100 years old and I have retained as much of the original features. I've got underfloor heating (winter time) and a lovely stove which is not only good for atmosphere but it's cosy in the not so balmy evenings. Wooden floors, rustic feel, open plan kitchen diner/ sitting room.

If it's a wet weekend and you can't get out and about walking! You could paint, draw, read, write, cuddle up on the couch in front of the fire. I like to play board games and have a large selection and books/dvds/music. There is also the local bars which can be really lovely with open fires and live music or sitting out and having a BBQ watching the sun setting over the bay.

Food:

Restaurants/café/bars with food in the area, information pack/maps/guide books/walking maps etc. available in the house.

Hope to see you here.

Sheila

Guest access

The cottage is attached to my house, but a locked hallway adjoins them. You will have full use of the cottage. It has 2 bedrooms, one double and a double and a single. It Is a standard sized cottage ( small two up two down).

It has an electric shower in bathroom and a tiny instant water heater for kitchen. The kitchen is small, but has most basics, ask me next door if something is missing. The cooker is an electric fan oven, there is a grill and 4 gas rings (sparker to light). There is a small dishwasher (currently not working' plumber booked for Sept.) There is a washing machine.

Interaction with guests

I live 17km away in Schull, I try to meet all my guests on arrival after work therefor 6pm is check in time.

Other things to note

Sailing skipper €50 half day sail around Dunmanus Bay, Hiking up to 80km of mapped and signposted trails, Sightseeing, Having Fun in local eateries and pubs. Friday market in Bantry town.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Prices
Extra people $12 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $62
Security Deposit $616
Weekly Discount: 5%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in is anytime after 6PM
Check out by 10AM

No smoking, no muddy boots inside...there are slippers for your use. Easygoing, fun personalities welcome.

Reasonable mutual expectations of respect for space/company/peace and quiet sharing of communal space and use of kitchen is allowed as long as you clean up after yourself. Use appropriate bins, recycle as much as possible.

Enjoy your stay and tell your friends. Return if like it! Help me by giving constructive feedback, I am working on having a fab home to share with people from all walks of life. TV is with satellite dish, lots of channels and the tv has a dvd player as part of it. I have some but you can always bring your own if you have kids especially good way to keep them occupied. I also have cards and a variety of board games for all ages kids to adults and a large selection of books. I keep one shelf of info/ maps/brochures etc. I mostly use the internet in the evening to communicate and organize my life and airbnb etc. You may use both of these as long as I can use them when I need them.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

176 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ragen User Profile
September 2017
Sheila was a great host, very friendly and helpful. She met us at the property to show us around and gave us tips on places to visit and where to go to get groceries and logs etc. A very cosy cottage that had everything we needed for a great stay. If your after a home from home in a really peaceful location, this is the place for you.

Caroline User Profile
August 2017
We had a lovely stay in Sheila's cottage. An idyllic setting surrounded by vivid green farmland, mountains in back and a stunning view of the water from the front. We arrived in a veil of mist, but for the remainder of our stay, we had gorgeous weather. It was perfect for the 4 of us, including two children. I loved the skylights in the upstairs bedrooms and bathroom. It was truly peaceful after our busy drive down from Dublin, and good place to set out to see Bantry, the surrounding Cork countryside and even to Kerry. I recommend going to the adorable Heron Gallery and Cafe, down the road from the cottage in Ahakista.

Joseph User Profile
August 2017
The host canceled this reservation 13 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Mary User Profile
August 2017
The host canceled this reservation 11 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Ellen User Profile
August 2017
Wonderful peaceful house in a beatiful location. In the middle of nowhere but perfect Wifi so we stayed connected (very important for a 15 year old). Pubs at a walking distance and nothing but friendly people around!

Kerstin User Profile
July 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Sheila very much! The cottage is very cosy, rustic, full of history - if you don't mind a bit of dust you are in for a perfect stay. The surroundings are marvellous (Sheila recommended a loop walk to us - the view is breathtaking). Also, the location of the cottage on the peninsula makes it the perfect base for little trips to Sheep's Head, Killarney or Mizen Head. Thanks Sheila, we felt at home :)

Rik User Profile
July 2017
Fantastic Location for walks and peace of mind! You cans actually start several walks directly from Sheila's house. The 2Km "seefin Loop Walk" is highly recommended. Not the easiest one, but what a beauty!

This host has 111 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Cork, IrelandJoined in April 2011
Sheila User Profile

Hello! I'm a new mum and a teacher of Technical Drawing and Wood work. I've worked hard and put every penny I've earned towards the renovation of my cottage and the building of the Wild Atlantic Way View, It has taken ten years of every weekend and summer holiday of working/diy on my property, It has been a labour of love and I am very proud of it.

I like sea swimming, hill walking, dancing all sorts including Irish Set dancing, Salsa and Swing dancing.

I've had all kinds of house guests over the years: WWOOFers, Helpex-ers, Family and lots Friends. Now I'll add the airbnb guests to the long list of happy visitors. I lead guided hillwalks on the Sheeps Head Way.

When I was 22 I backpacked around the world, for about 2 years. Then I returned to Ireland a began my studies as a Woodwork and Technical drawing teacher.

I speak English, Irish, French,

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings