About This Listing
This studio apartment is located in the north of the main island Mahe and benefits from a separate bedroom area which leads out onto a fantastic large balcony that faces the sea.
The apartment has got a fully equipped kitchen, a bathroom with shower and bathtub, a double bedroom with an extra double sofa bed and has plenty of built in cupboards for storage.
The balcony overlooks the garden of our ground floor apartment and has a view of the ocean and the tropical trees along on the coast. There are a couple of armchairs on the balcony perfect for reading a good book and you can also dine on the balcony where there is a little dining table and some chairs.
There a ceiling fan as well as air - condition in the bedroom and the sofa bed can accommodate 1 or 2 extra people.
This apartment is a very convenient place to be based for your holiday as we are 7 minutes drive to the popular Beau Vallon area and 15 minutes from Victoria town. There are a couple of bus stops conveniently located within a couple of minutes walk away that have a good service from 6 am until 8.30pm everyday.
If you enjoy being near the ocean, this little apartment offers you a comfortable place to stay only a couple of minutes walk away from a beautiful spot where you can appreciate the beauty of the Indian Ocean waters.
Please look after the place well and treat it with respect.
Close windows when you use the air-condition and please switch off the air-condition when you are out of the apartment for the day.
Enjoy yourselves and make yourselves at home.
We had an amazing stay in this gorgeous studio. Thank you Gene, for the positive from the first till the last day of our holidays! We will certainly visit this beautiful place once again as soon as we will have opportunity. Let me recommend this place from any point of view. If you want to have unforgettable time you should stay in Gene's apartments.
We had a wonderful time at Machabee.
Gene & Philip were the best hosts and helped us with everything! Both are warmhearted openminded people and it was a pleasure getting to know them.
The Studio itself was even better than advertised in the pictures!
We look forward to hopefully coming back again soon.
Thank you Gene and Philip for a great holiday!
Excellent. The apartment is exactly as advertised - fairly basic but provides everything you need. There is a very powerful ceiling fan in the bedroom (and a smaller one in the kitchen) as well as air conditioning in the bedroom which was much appreciated as we were travelling with a small child and it was quite hot at times. The bathroom is big and clean and the shower has a good instant hot water system with good pressure. The (cold water) washing machine is also very useful if you are staying for more than a few days. The balcony is spacious and comfortable although there were few mosquitos in the evening (possibly more than usual due to the fact visited in the middle of the rainy season).
Gene was extremely helpful with arranging a rental car both in Mahe and on Praslin and reorganising everything when we missed our flight, and providing very useful information on beaches, restaurants and day trips in advance of our arrival.
As others have said, I would definitely recommend hiring a car as there is so much to explore on the island. You could get around by bus, but if you plan to do that you might want to consider staying somewhere that is closer to a good swimming beach
It was our first ever trip to the Seychelles and excellent communication with Gene prior to arrival made us feel most welcome. We appreciated the information about the island and things to do, the internet and car hire options Gene shared with us. We booked our stay for 7 nights and availed of the complimentary airport pick-up that turned into a pleasant drive to get to know the area and an early morning quest to purchase a local sim card (tip: turn off cellular data immediately if you're not using it!). It rained a lot so we were very happy that we followed Gene's advice and rented a car for the entire stay as getting to the studio, supermarket, to another beach or restaurant was a breeze compared to waiting for the bus. Internet-wise we felt that we did not get our money's worth - not only the €30 we paid didn't get us the 3Gb of data promised (we tracked it) but the data we got did run out on day 3. We understood "that the interned is expensive in the Seychelles" but we didn't understand where the data went so fast since we were there to use it only at breakfast/before bedtime. As a result we could not do the online check-in before the flight and got bad seats all the way back to Dublin. Thankfully that was the only disappointment we had - everything else has very well well exceeded our expectations. The apartment is much much nicer than it looks in the pictures. There was a basic food basket waiting for us on the kitchen table and two coconuts in the fridge. The kitchen is very well stocked so bring a bag of your favourite ground coffee/tea to enjoy a cup on the balcony with a view - there's a lovely siting area and a cosy dining area overlooking the ocean. We cooked our own breakfast every morning and shared our thoughts at the end of the day over wine and cheese. The bed was heavenly - king size, firm mattress, four pillows and a mosquito net above - and so was falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves across the road. The bathroom is very clean and roomy (bring your own toiletries), and the access to a washing machine makes freshening up your clothes/towels easy. The overall stay in the apartment felt great and we would definitely visit again!
Thank you for leaving us a lovely review and we're so happy you enjoyed your stay. We wanted to address the internet situation since there seems to be a little confusion and we are the kind of hosts that are happy when the guests are happy.
You initially asked us for 1GB for 15 euros which we organised for your arrival. When this finished you asked us for another 1Gb on a separate occasion and this was another 15 euros for us to go set up in town in a second transaction.
You mentioned that you tracked the internet usage and it is absolutely correct that you would not have gotten 3Gb since you did not opt for the 3G package at 30 euros but instead took two separate 1GB packages at 15 euros. The service providers have a digressive rate so the bigger the bundle purchased in one go means you get a better data usage but in your case because you requested it at separate occasions when the first bundle was finished, the second was done as a separate package since you can only activate one package at a time and we cannot increase an existing package once it has been activated, it has to finish and we set it up again.
I hope this clears up the issue you experienced with the internet here and the extra gigabyte which you though you had. If you had purchased 3GB in one go for 30 € you would have had the 3GB for that bundle instead of the lower data package because of the 2 individual smaller bundles of 1GB each which you chose, therefore unfortunately it means you did not benefit from the bigger bundle for the better price.
Sorry for any disappointment you met with this issue and we will do our best to further ensure that guests are very clear on the bundles offered for internet and how it works so that their experience is smooth and they make an informed decision on how much internet usage they need during their stay.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a thorough review, it's very nice to receive such compliments on our places and we hope everyone else will enjoy it as much.
We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again.
Such a warm welcome. I had a truly lovely time staying here and finding my way around the island. The apartment was perfect to relax with a glass of wine on the balcony, comfy bed, spacious bathroom and good kitchen and amenities to cook with.
Очень милая квартирка и гостеприимные хозяева. До океана метров 50 сразу через дорогу. Действительно много морской фауны, один раз видел даже черепаху. Но вход в воду только с камней и довольно сильная волна, так что с маленькими детьми море в этом месте практически недоступно. Ближайший песочный пляж минутах в 15 ходьбы направо (если встать лицом к морю). Пляж пустынный но сейчас с обеих сторон строят отели так что видимо это ненадолго. Хотя почти целый день на пляже дежурит полицейский, но стоило ему отойти у нас украли сумку (жена купалась в море, а я в магазин ушел). Так что будьте внимательны.
До пляжа Бо Валлон ехать минут 15 на автобусе в другую сторону. Автобусы ходят плохо как в будни, так и в выходные, максимум ожидания один раз был 50 минут, в среднем ждать надо минут 30. Имейте это в виду решая брать или нет машину в прокат.
Gene and Philip were just wonderful hosts!
They had a free pick up from the Airport for us and Gene waited at the apartment to show us everything.
It is a very nice place - with everything you need for a beautiful stay at the beautiful Seychelles!
Even if we had some problems Gene and Philip were always there to help us and make sure we are fine.
Also the neighbors took great care of us and we really felt like home during our stay!
I can just recommend this place to everyone who wants to have their own place with great and lovely caring hosts!
Thank you Gene and Philip for a great holiday!!
This host has 94 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Gene
I'm an easy going mother of 4 with endless patience and the truth is I just love to make people happy as it makes me happy, I'm the eternal feel good type, seeking the positive out of adversity - I guess it takes from the survival mechanism to keep on going no matter what with a smile on my face. I define myself by the little things in life which offers me a sense of appreciation for being alive in this mind boggling journey of what it is to exist. I Love: kindness / I Hate: Being fooled . I'm an avid reader and any enjoy being transported to another world through the limitless potential of a good story which I find innocently allows me to live vicariously through others imagination. Now retired, I was a horticulturalist by trade and organic farmer at heart and can still find most solutions to my problems by getting my hands dirty in soil and taking great pleasure in nurturing my plants. My bad points: I do not eat to live but rather live to (email hidden)eese and I are a match made in heaven though my hips would disagree and I just love cooking. My motto: You never know what is around the corner, so enjoy it while you can and never leave happy till later, do it now!