...from the hallway to the guest room.Looking up at the loft.
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
320 travelers saved this place

About this listing

This is our neat and rather fab Victorian house near Central Park in Old Louisville, shared among a few young professionals. We're out of town often, so this is a great place for light & independent travelers. It's comfortable to hang out in, or use as a base to explore from.

Note: this room is for rent for no less than 30 days at a time.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 1PM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Keypad

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $5 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 18%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The space

This is a room within our 130-year old house at the north end of Old Louisville, directly south of the downtown museum district, and few blocks north of Central Park (close to St James Court). The existing house is actually the remaining top two floors of the 3-story building, the 1st floor of which was converted to a bakery in 1922. The total living space is 2000 sqft.

Our place is always undergoing some renovation, but it's 'mostly done,' and quite comfortable. We have a large, fenced back yard, and rooftop deck (best room in the house Spring through Fall). The guest room is private, small but with a 10' ceiling and full-size loft bed; it can accommodate two 'fit' people.

The house is shared among several young professionals (in the art/design and culinary fields) with varying schedules; it is unlikely to see us all at the same time. We also have a feist (small dog, in our portraits) who is quite friendly.

Nota Bene: we do our best to keep things tidy and put together, but this is our home, and we do have lives within and without -- not all is perfect. We welcome you into our home; please remember that it is that and not a hotel.

Guest access

There is a desk & reading chair for private use, but if you want to spread out the living room you're welcome to.

The kitchen, bathroom and living room are shared. Kitchen is compact but modern. Bathroom has large shower with dual heads. Living room is large, with piano. Again, it's an old building -- some things are creaky, crooked or missing -- but it's an interesting place.

Interaction with guests

We co-locate in Chicago (have a second home there), and are away from Louisville as much as 2/3 of the time (pup is with us when we're away). We have a few nice housemates that keep things in order while we're away, but plan on being on your own for the most part.

The neighborhood

Old Louisville is the most densely populated and diverse neighborhood in Louisville. We have the most intact neighborhood of Victorian homes after New York City. Century-old trees and the park nearby make this a lovely place to walk around.

Getting around

There are plenty of bus lines nearby heading in every direction. Also our neighborhood is very walkable. If you plan on visiting several areas of town, a car or bicycle is advisable though.

Other things to note

We have a washing machine for extended stays, but no dryer. You can use the clothesline on the deck if you like.


House Rules
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

- We don't provide much in the way of food, though you're welcome to make some tea or coffee, as well as use the kitchen to prepare anything you bring home.
- Smoking is allowed outside on the deck (just off the kitchen). Libations are welcomed with moderation.
- We are animal lovers, and hope you are as well; our dog is very friendly in return. If you have any pet allergies, please keep this in mind.
- There is no TV in the house, but there is WIFI.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

119 Reviews


Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 27 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Your Host


Jeff

Jeff

Louisville, Kentucky, United States · Joined in April 2011

I'm a designer, photographer and restorer of old buildings; advocate of sustainability, the arts, and LGBTQ & social equality.

I love being in and working on well-designed spaces, meeting new people, traveling, and learning more about the world around us. If on two wheels, all the better. I try to put my efforts toward improving the communities we are in whenever possible.

Response rate: 100%(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections
You won’t be charged yet