Progressive, Eco-friendly, Central
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2.5 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

The Glebe House is a lively open-minded family household located in the centre of Ottawa on unceded Algonquin territory. We love to welcome guests who have interesting tales to tell and hold politically progressive and eco-friendly values. We have a large rambling old house with all amenities and a large backyard where we try to grow organic vegetables, BBQ and hold music, poetry and fund-raising shows.

This room is on the third floor (quiet) and has a double size bed. It's next to the home-office space (you can use a desk) and the bed-room also has its own balcony. There is a bathroom on the third floor.

You can be private upstairs or you can join into the communal household ($12 extra per day per person for breakfast (incl. organic eggs, bottom-less cup of fair trade organic coffee/tea, lots of organic or local fresh fruit).

We are child friendly: there is a home-based daycare running on the ground floor Mon-Fri (8:00 - 5:30) and both my kids have their baby-sitting certificates. So in-house child-care can usually be pre-arranged. We can supply an extra mattress.

We are LGBT positive.

We are eco-friendly: we have a lot of organic and local food, we support use of renewable sources of energy (Bullfrog), we try to stay away from toxic cleaners & chemicals. We are currently unfortunately not pet friendly as a couple of us have allergies.

Our place would be ideal for people looking to build their network in Ottawa with various progressive communities. If you are coming to Ottawa to advocate or lobby for progressive change, you can also use the fully equipped home office space (3rd floor) and we are open to meetings and strategizing happening in the various common spaces of the house.

Neighbourhood & Location: We are located in the Glebe, which is a central, treed, urban, thriving neighbourhood. Two blocks from the house you can find coffee shops, restaurants, grocery, pharmacy, boutiques, post office, wine bar, whatever.

One block from bus routes 1 & 7. Five minutes bus ride or 20 minutes walk to Parliament. Best way to get around Ottawa is by bike -- loaner bike + lock is available.

We are 5 minutes walk away from the Greyhound Bus Terminal and 15-20 minutes drive from the airport. Pick-ups can be arranged.

Free parking can usually be arranged.

More info at (URL HIDDEN)



Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 17%
Weekend Price $66 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in time is 4PM - 11PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Pets: Unfortunately we cannot accept any pets.

Children: We are very child friendly and will make every effort to accommodate your children in a cost-effective way. Childcare can almost always be pre-arranged both on-site in the daytime, as well as in the evenings. A home-based daycare runs Mon-Fri (8:30am to 5:30pm) on the ground floor of the house. We have two very civilized teenagers in the house (16, 17) who may be available for babysitting.

We are LGBT positive.

Accessibility: Unfortunately the house is not wheelchair accessible. If you need accommodation for a disability or special need, please discuss and we will do our best to accommodate and figure out solutions.

Parking: Can usually be arranged in the day-time. 7pm to 7am free street parking is available except on snow-clearing days.

Negative List: No drugs. No guns.

Alcohol: Alcohol is often shared on the premises. Alcohol is enjoyed in moderation.

Smoking: No smoking inside the house. Smoking permitted on 3rd floor deck, backyard, front porch.

Food Preferences, Intolerances and Allergies: I am happy to take your preferences and constraints into account in preparing your breakfast. The House is not peanut free.

Chemicals, Toxins & Allergens: We generally use non-chemical cleaners and our food-basket is heavily weighted towards organic, local and wholesome foods. That said, the community household is diverse, busy, and fluid with very few absolute rules. While we clean with some regularity, there is also some dust. Sufferers of MCS or extremely high sensitivity to various allergens should undertake their own assessment and pre-cautions.

We are politically progressive, supportive of unions and labour organization (though not uncritically so), and allies of indigenous peoples.

Respect for People: We expect all guests to behave in a manner that respects the rights and diversity of views of other guests and household members. When there are children in the room, please refrain from using coarse language or inappropriate topics. Violent or abusive behaviour of any kind will not be tolerated.

Respect for Environment: We have a well-organized recycling set-up including a back-yard composter for organics. We try to minimize waste. We are a subscriber to Bullfrog Power which means that we draw on renewable sources of power. We buy significant amounts of organic and local food and usually cook from scratch.

Taxes: We believe in paying our fair share of taxes and benefiting from a well-functioning public service, universal health care and old age pension. We pay 13% harmonized sales tax on all income through airbnb (HST Numb(PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)), and income tax on all income generated by the house after eligible expenses.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Nov 01, 2017 - Apr 30, 2018 the minimum stay is 2 nights.

105 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Gillian User Profile
September 2017
Lovely spot! Angela graciously accommodated us on very short notice and was a fantastic host. The house is beautiful and breakfast was delicious. It's also very central - only a short walk from restaurants, bars, museums, etc. We would definitely return on our next visit to Ottawa!

Felix User Profile
September 2017
Angela was an excellent host. I highly recommend travelers from around the world to stay here. The room is affordable, she cooks breakfast for you in the morning (all organic breakfast might I say) and parliament hill is a 5-10min drive, 20-30min walk from the location. I was in a tough situation where I urgently needed an Airbnb and Angela accommodated me within the hour which was awesome! She's also very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Jenia User Profile
August 2017
Location, accuracy, clean, safe and quiet place for sleeping

Ricardo User Profile
July 2017
The place is very well located and the hosts are very well prepared to receive guests. A delicious organic breakfast is available and I highly recomend it. The house is extremely cozy and you feel at home. There are bikes available for a 12 minute ride downtown and all the safety equipment is provided by hosts. Highly recommended.

Alyssa User Profile
July 2017
Angela's place was a great spot. The location was perfect and plenty of space for a comfortable stay. Angela was a complete doll! We definitely would recommend this place and we hope to back:)

Michael User Profile
June 2017
2 flights of stairs!

Sasha User Profile
June 2017
Great family oriented place to stay! Angela is very helpful and accommodating.

This host has 168 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Ottawa, CanadaJoined in January 2013
Angela User ProfileAngela is a superhost.

I am politically progressive, environmentally conscious and feminist. I am connected with a number of communities and networks in Ottawa. I am especially happy to facilitate stays of people who are coming to Ottawa to advocate, lobby and network for change in the direction of greater socio-economic justice and environmental sustainability. I'm in mid-life and mother of two wonderful teenagers. We live in a big lively household and can usually find whatever is needed in a snap -- spare bicycle, babysitter, organic mint tea....

Languages: Deutsch, English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings