Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

This is certainly a great place to stay when you visit our lovely city. This romantic room on the top floor of a family house has a sunny terrace and lots of privacy and it’s the perfect place to stay during your visit to Amsterdam.

The space

The house is in a quiet neighborhood on the north side of Amsterdam, just 20 minutes away from the city center and close by the more rural areas surrounding Amsterdam making it easy for you to choose different kinds of day programs.

Will you choose to discover all of what the city has to offer or will you prefer to explore the rich waters of Waterland during an adventurous canoe tour? Whatever you choose to do, I will make sure to help you get around so you don’t miss anything and will look back to an unforgettable stay in Amsterdam.
This is more than a just a B&B. You are actually staying at a local’s house and you will notice it feels like staying with a friend.

The Room Upstairs is on the second floor of the house. In the room there’s a comfortable double bed with a new mattress and a surprise hidden bed in the closet for 1 small person or a child. There’s a washing table in the room and a shared bathroom in the house. The room is big enough for 2-3 persons but if you are a group of large people and have large suitcases you might find the room too small for you.

You can make tea or coffee in the room and there is a possibility for a mini bar with drinks and snacks (upon request).

The room has a large private terrace where you can sit and have drinks.

The bathroom is shared and there is also a second toilet on the ground floor.

You can make your own breakfast until 12 pm and everything you need will be available for you to help yourself. I’ll make sure you get what you need to start your day in Amsterdam feeling comfortable and happy.

Available in the room
•Cable TV with international channels
•Free Wi-Fi connection
•Water cooker with a selection of tea's and coffee
•Hair dryer (in the bathroom)
•Private terrace
•Mini bar with drinks and snacks (on request)

Extra services we can arrange for you:
•Renting a bike or a canoe (2 bikes available here)
•Lunch pack (for you to take while exploring around)
•Baby-sitting (to your children or pets)
•Fun programs for the kids (with or without you)
•Airport transfers (or any other transfer)

Free parking (don’t forget that in the city you will pay € 5,00 per hour)

Children and pets are welcome. Please let me know in advance.
Children until 4 years are free, but please note that only 1 child will be free per 2 paying adults.

If you bring your own pet, please ask for special rules before making a reservation.

I speak Dutch, English, Portuguese, little bit of Italian/French/Spanish.

I hope to welcome you very soon :-)

Guest access

Guests are welcome to use the kitchen and the dining/living room during breakfast time (7am-12pm). If you want to sit in the living room/kitchen to have a meal after 12 pm, please ask before doing so. The living room is part of my private area when not used for breakfast.

You are welcome to sit in the garden anytime you like. Smoking is allowed in the garden and on the private terrace if you are staying at the room Upstairs.

Interaction with guests

At check-in I will give you as much information as I can to help you around and let you prepare for a good time in Amsterdam. Mostly I am around to help you with anything during your stay. At breakfast is a good time to drop your questions and tell about your experiences.

Other things to note

What people like about my house is the fact that it feels like home. There is an easy going atmosphere and you feel welcome as soon as you arrive.
There are 2 cats and a small dog in the house! People that love pets will be delighted but if you are not a pet friend you might want to choose another listing :-) My pets are very sweet and won't bother you at all.
If you bring your own pet, please ask for special rules before making a reservation.

The fact that the house is not on walking distance to the city center is for some people a point to dislike the location although it's really easy and a short bus ride to get into the heart of the city.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 8AM - 11PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: $29
Security Deposit: $173
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No parties or events
Check in time is 8AM - 11PM

Smoking only allowed in the garden/balcony.
Check in before 2 pm = ONLY bag drop off and key collect. Please note you cannot stay here or take a shower when arriving before 2pm.

Check in after 22:00 (10pm)? Please ask before booking.
Check-out at 11am (including breakfast). If you need more time please let me know. You can store the bags here if you want.

Kitchen is only available for preparing breakfast from 7am to 12pm (except on check out day). All you need for breakfast is provided.
No cooking or eating meals in the room. If you want to sit in the living room/kitchen to have a meal after 12 pm, please ask before doing so. The living room is part of my private area when not used for breakfast.
You are welcome to sit in the garden anytime you like.
Be respectful and enjoy my home as much as I do.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

275 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sarah User Profile
June 2017
Marta's room upstairs feels like your own home! The neighbourhood is quiet and very scenic. Our host did all preparations ahead of time and we definitely appreciate even if she wasn't able to meet us when we arrived. Oh, and will miss her lovely cat as well! Bruxa!

Willi User Profile
June 2017
The house is in a great environment away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is close (4 km) to the NDSM shipyard, a cool location and on the free ferry to Central Station. The room Upstairs is very nicely furnished and has a wonderful roof terrace with a view of the neighborhood. Marta, the hostess is very helpful. Martas's pets (one dog and two cats) have also been very nice to us :-). The breakfast is delicious and offers everything you need for a good day of exploration. The house is very clean. Thanks to Marta it was for us (2 + 1 child) a very nice and real life experience with very good discussions. We will surely come back :-)

Henning User Profile
May 2017
Martha was great. Sehr was very nice and had all Info we needed right at Hand. We enjoyed our stay very much and Van recommend it to the fullest

Kate User Profile
May 2017
The room upstairs is exactly how the pictures describes. The rooftop is beautiful and although we didn't have much time to spend out there it would have been a great place to relax at the end of the day. Would highly recommend staying here.

Karol User Profile
May 2017
Very safe. Nice area and easy to get around the city from this house.

Erin User Profile
May 2017
Our stay at Marta's house was great! She had everything we could have needed and even had breakfast for the mornings. She also offered great site seeing ideas and instructions for the easiest ways to get around the city. Our only complaint was that we didn't have more time to spend here. Thanks Marta!

Martin User Profile
May 2017
The room was the one that I expected. Marta is a nice host. The only thing that I've got to say is that she doesn't allowe you to make an early check in... even if it's a rainy day and you been traveling for about 17 hours, you have to leave and return at the time that she says.
Marta User Profile
Response from Marta:
When traveling we are not always in control of our flight times. If you want an early check in it's beter to communicate with your host and see if that is a possibility to avoid disapointment on arrival. I understand your issue with the early check in. The 'problem' is that check out is at 11am and the room needs to be cleaned. If you arrive at 12pm the room is just not ready yet as guests are not always checking out on time (like you). I do provide the possibility to come here and leave the luggage but the room is only ready after 2pm (like in most hotels/guesthouses).
May 2017

This host has 383 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Amsterdam, Netherlands · Joined in January 2013
Marta User Profile

Friendly and curious about people in general

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.