2 guests

1 room

2 beds

1 shared bath


2 guests

1 room

2 beds

1 shared bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

This is certainly a great place to stay when you visit our lovely city. This romantic room on the top floor of a family house has a sunny terrace and lots of privacy and it’s the perfect place to stay during your visit to Amsterdam.


Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: $28
Security Deposit: $168
Weekend Price: $79 / night

Description

The space

This is certainly a great place to stay when you visit our lovely city. This romantic room on the top floor of a family house has a sunny terrace and lots of privacy and it’s the perfect place to stay during your visit to Amsterdam.

The house is in a quiet neighborhood on the north side of Amsterdam, just 20 minutes away from the city center and close by the more rural areas surrounding Amsterdam making it easy for you to choose different kinds of day programs.

Will you choose to discover all of what the city has to offer or will you prefer to explore the rich waters of Waterland during an adventurous canoe tour? Whatever you choose to do, I will make sure to help you get around so you don’t miss anything and will look back to an unforgettable stay in Amsterdam. This is more than a just a B&B. You are actually staying at a local’s house and you will notice it feels like staying with a friend.

The Room Upstairs is on the second floor of the house. In the room there’s a comfortable double bed with a new mattress and a surprise hidden bed in the closet for 1 small person. There’s a washing table in the room and a shared bathroom in the house. The room is big enough for 2-3 persons but if you are a group of large people and have large suitcases you might find the room too small for you.

The room has a large private terrace where you can sit and have drinks.
The bathroom is shared and there is also a second toilet on the ground floor.

You can make tea or coffee in the room and there is a possibility for a mini bar with drinks and snacks (upon request).

You can make your own breakfast until 12 pm and everything you need will be available for you to help yourself. I’ll make sure you get what you need to start your day in Amsterdam feeling comfortable and happy.

Available in the room
•Cable TV with international channels
•Free Wi-Fi connection
•Water cooker with a selection of tea's and coffee
•Hair dryer (in the bathroom)
•Private terrace
•Mini bar with drinks and snacks (on request)

Extra services we can arrange for you:
•Renting a bike or a canoe (2 bikes available here)
•Lunch pack (for you to take while exploring around)
•Baby-sitting (to your children or pets)
•Fun programs for the kids (with or without you)
•Airport transfers (or any other transfer)

Free parking (don’t forget that in the city you will pay € 5,00 per hour)
Children and pets are welcome. Please let me know in advance.
I speak Dutch, English, Portuguese, little bit of Italian, French and Spanish.
I hope to welcome you very soon :-)

ATTENTION - If your 3th person is a child, please let me know.
- Children until 4 years are free, but please note that only 1 child will be free per 2 paying adults.
- Children until 10 years 25% off, please ask for your discount when you make the reservation.

DATES WITH SPECIAL PRICES: Please note that this fee's apply to every person above 2 persons.
26 & 27 April = Kings Day - extra persons € 35,00 p.p.p.n.
24, 25, 26 December - Christmas = Extra persons € 35,00 p.p.p.n.
31 December and 1st of January - New Year’s = Extra persons € 35,00 p.p.p.n.

Guest access

Guests are welcome to use the living room during breakfast and to use the garden anytime they like. Smoking is allowed in the garden and on the private terrace if you are staying at the room Upstairs.

Interaction with guests

At check-in I will give you as much information as I can to help you around and let you prepare for a good time in Amsterdam. Mostly I am around to help you with anything during your stay. At breakfast is a good time to drop your questions and tell about your experiences. If you prefer to have breakfast quietly in your room that is also possible :-)

The neighborhood

The nicest part about my house is the fact that is so quiet after a busy day in the city center. You will enjoy arriving here and feel like you are away from it all. Sit by the waterside and enjoy my garden as you drink a refreshing glass of wine or a hot cup of tea while talking about all the things you've done all day.
My house is not near the city center but you can take a bus that will bring you right to the heart of the city in less than 20 minutes.

My house is on the North side of Amsterdam, just 10 minutes from the trendy NDSM Warf where you will find amazing spots to eat and chill-out and about 20 minutes with the bus to the city center.
The bus is only 5 minutes’ walk from my house.

Getting around

There is a small shopping center 10 minutes’ walk through the park and a supermarket even more close by where you can get some snacks or drinks.

Parking is free in my neighborhood. You can park your car just around the corner.

Other things to note

What people like about my house is the fact that it feels like home. There is an easy going atmosphere and you feel welcome as soon as you arrive.
There are 2 cats and a small dog in the house! People that love pets will be delighted but if you are not a pet friend you might want to choose another listing :-) My pets are very sweet and won't bother you at all.
If you bring your own pet, please ask for special rules before making a reservation.

The fact that the house is not on walking distance to the city center is for some people a point to dislike the location although it's really easy and a short bus ride to get into the heart of the city.


House Rules
No parties or events
Check in time is 8AM - 11PM
Check out by 11AM

Smoking only allowed on the balcony or garden.
Check in is flexible. That means that we will appoint prior to your arrival the time that is best for both of us. The room will be ready after 2pm but it is possible to come earlier and drop the bags.
There can be an extra charge for check-in after 22:00 (10pm).

Most important is that you enjoy your stay and that you make sure we know what your expectations are and what we can do to make you feel comfortable.
Be respectful and enjoy my house as much as I do.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) lives in the house

Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Safety card
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Apr 26 - 27, 2017 the minimum stay is 3 nights.

261 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kathleen User Profile
April 2017
We loved the hospitality, the coffee, the breakfast setup, the comfortable bed, and cheerful advice. Wi-fi may be problematic in Upstairs Room, and if you have problems with stairs, steep spiral stairs could be a challenge. Overall a very pleasant stay.

David User Profile
April 2017
Due to unfortunate circumstances Marta could not be there but her friend Paula greeted us and was extremely helpful. The Room Upstairs is very nice although the third bed is a little short and not suitable for a tall person. The balcony door was broken during our stay so we did not get the benefit of sitting outside although we could use the lovely garden. Lidl just a few minutes walk away and a Albert Hein a little further. The NDSM area is only 5-10 minutes drive. If you're prepared for a 10 minute walk then free parking can be found and then hop on the free ferry to Central Station and you're in the heart of Amsterdam.
Marta User Profile
Response from Marta:
The door is not broken! You just need to slide it to the left. Sometimes you need to pull a bit harder.
April 2017

Wayne User Profile
April 2017
Marta's place is quite far away from the central station, but we can take the bus for around 30 minutes to get to her place. There are two cats in Marta's place, so if you don't like cats or allergic to cats, then you might reconsider. Living room, kitchen and bathroom is big and lovely. The room upstairs is really small for three people, especially if you have big luggage.

Angus User Profile
March 2017
Lovely home. With great amenities. About a 20 minute bus ride out of the city

Judy User Profile
March 2017
We were welcomed into Marta's home. Her place is comfortable, clean, and a good value. Thanks for your hospitality Marta.

Alex User Profile
March 2017
Marta's place is a great place! By bus is only 15-20 minutes to the centre of Amsterdam. The house is big and comfort with high privacy. The price is reasonable and I would definite consider to book her place again if I would visit Amsterdam in the future.

Margaret User Profile
March 2017
Marta was great! She and her pets gave us a warm welcome and made us feel right at home. If you're looking for a place to stay that's outside the chaos of the city, Marta's place is the one!

This host has 363 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Amsterdam, Netherlands · Joined in January 2013
Marta User Profile

Friendly and curious about people in general

Response rate: 94%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.