SFO,Silicon Valley,Interview Bunk15

Apartment - Private room · Hastings Shore Lane, Redwood City, CA 94065, United States

The Space

Hostel Style .....
`Twin beds Bunk Bed style
Please try to check in before 10 P.M.
My apartment is a 15 minute walk to Downtown San Carlos and the many shops and restaurants there. Additionally, bus (2 minute walk) and train (15 minute walk) service to the entire Peninsula from San Francisco to San Jose are conveniently close. The many tech companies in the area are a 10 to 25 minute drive while San Francisco and San Jose (Silicone Valley) are a 25 minute drive.
Express bus service from the airport to El Camino Real & San Carlos Ave (5 blocks away) is available on SamTrans Route KX. Caltrain Commuter Rail Train to SF and SJ takes 35-45 mins. Parking is available right out front of the apartment. If you desire a covered parking space we can arrange something at an additional cost.
Females in separate room. If you'd like to stay in the girl's room, please check with me on availability before booking. If you don't mind co-ed living, then just make your booking.

Older apartment, but well cared for.
2 bedrooms - 2 shared rooms
2 full bathrooms

All inclusive, but most of us try to conserve.
Full privileges with everything you need: coffee available.
We often chip in for groceries and cook a family meal.
No previews of the property. Prior to booking, complete your Airbnb profile and verify your account with ID and social networks.
It's a apartment full of people & different schedules, use ear plugs if necessary. If you're a light sleeper or can't sleep on a twin mattress, this may not be the right place for you. We are a very communal/respectful group and strive to provide space for everyone to hack to their fullest potential.
The Airbnb cleaning fee is to make sure you have a clean bed upon arrival and not to clean up after you. All spaces are shared, so please be mindful of picking up after yourself.
More than one suitcase? Consult with me prior to booking.
Located in the suburbs of Redwood Shores with convenient access to the CalTrain and bus transportation, close to restaurants, easy access to transportation, parks and bike trails, banks, and grocery store (Nob Hill Foods).

`Clean / safe
`Best area in town
`Lots of stores and eateries nearby
`Hot/Cold Water Available
`Free WiFi
`Fridge available
`Shared Bathrooms w/ locks
-No Pets Allowed
-Shower Before 11 PM
-No Smoking/Alcohol Inside
-Inside Voices Please
-Keep The Area Clean
-Shared Rooms: No Noise after 11
-No inviting guests overnight

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Airbed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 1
Weekly Price: $140 /week
Monthly Price: $600 /month
Cleaning Fee: $20
Check In: 5:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • You get what you pay for. The place was dormitory style and a bit cramped but fulfilled my needs for a simple place to crash for the night. I was not aware I would be sleeping on an inflatable mattress.

    March 2014
  • Erik was very friendly and accommodating, and the master bedroom + bathroom was nice. As other reviewers noted, there are several people on air mattresses in the living room, and Erik occasionally accessed our bedroom while we were or weren't present to get items out of the closet. Neither of these caveats bothered us, but it is something to be aware of before booking your stay.

    July 2013
    Response from Erik:

    Thank you Adam! I hope your new place is working out and your foot has healed. Let me know if you need anything, my door is always open for you.

  • While it is in a nice part of Redwood, the photos from this rental are misleading. We reserved this room for a week with the understanding that it was a two bedroom apartment, and there was no mention of other guests. When we arrived, we learned 9 people were already staying in the living room and dining room - mostly students from out of town on air mattresses. We did not stay.

    May 2013
  • I did not stay with Erik. However, I did make a 10-week reservation with him which I unexpectedly had to cancel last minute due to issues I had with Erik. About 10 days before I was scheduled to check in at Erik's place, I learned from other people's reviews that there can be upwards of 10 people staying in his living room. I then asked Erik if I could get a lock on the door in order to protect my possessions while I was not in the room. Erik said that was fine with him as long as he had a copy of the key since he needed access to his wardrobe which would be in a second closet of the room I had reserved. I was very upset by this. I had reserved a room for 10 weeks and paid a little over $1300 for the first month's rent. Given that, I did not see how he could maintain his wardrobe in a second closet of the room I had rented. I was extremely upset by this and so I asked him how often he would need access to the wardrobe in this closet. His response was "not daily access." Given such a vague answer, I really took issue with this lack and respect for my privacy. If someone rents a room for 10 weeks, that person should not have to worry about the host needing regular access to that room - especially to get to his clothes! I immediately cancelled my reservation and filed a complaint with airbnb as I no longer trusted Erik. Airbnb tried to negotiate with Erik for me but Erik refused to give me any kind of a refund. Instead, airbnb itself kindly gave me a 50% refund.

    My experience with Erik was terrible. He omitted to tell me that his living room is a hostel and that he would keep his clothes in the room I had reserved. Beware before reserving with Erik. (I had originally thought Erik was great because he seemed so accommodating and was very fast with his responses. My original impression of Erik was wrong and I was very disappointed and upset with my experience with him and the more than $650 I lost).

    May 2013
    Response from Erik:

    She wanted a refund after changing her mind about a 10 week reservation. I'm not flexible about the reservation refund policy I have chosen because I can only fit twelve 30 day reservations in this room a year. Additionally, Lydia requested a personal refrigerator and an air conditioning unit be put in her room. After exchanging OVER 80 emails with her and agreeing to ALL of her requests Lydia then cancelled the reservation. Airbnb read through all the correspondence and agreed she was a 'difficult' guest and up held the cancellation policy. This to seemed to upset Lydia.

  • Erik is a very friendly host. He prepares a lot of useful stuff for visitors and always checks if we are lacking in something. The bedroom is really nice with an independent bathroom. With the price, it is a great deal.

    BTW, the living room is a hostel. You may see several people in the living room. Talking with all different people is a lot of fun.

    May 2013
  • My stay wasn't what I expected. I had no idea that it was basically a hostel being run at this location. There were 3 people sharing the living room when I arrived. The master bedroom was nice and clean but the door didn't lock and I didn't feel safe with strangers just outside the door. Unfortunately, I don't think I would stay here again.

    April 2013
  • Our experience with the stay is just incredible !! We could not ask for a better host than Erik. We would definitely recommend his place to everyone. This is our first time with Airbnb, Erik and the other roommates are all super nice and easygoing, we are so happy to stay there. The place is perfect, the room is clean and spacious, parking is very easy, grocery store is just steps away...

    April 2013
  • Erik is a lovely person, and he even gave us a ride first thing in the morning to the Caltrain station to keep us out of the rain. He wants his guests to be happy and is very cordial. It is very well located, and the room is exactly as it appears--tidy with a full bathroom. What I did not know when I booked the reservation is that Erik has people living on air mattresses--4 men-- in his living room. They were actually very interesting people but we didn't feel comfortable with that many people around (it was my daughter and I), especially since the living room was right outside the door of my bedroom. I explained this to Erik, but he was fine with the situation as it was. So we only ended up staying one night even though we had paid for four. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, and it didn't work for us.

    April 2013
  • Erik is a great host! He is very friendly and helps you by anything you need. You can get nice sightseeing tip's from him!
    The place is very nice and clean. Everything you need for cooking is there in the kitchen. Especially I have to note the huge amount of different spices!
    I met there so many nice people from different countries because I spent a entire month in the master bedroom. I can fully recommend Eriks home. You would have a nice time, if you choose it!

    April 2013
  • Erik was a great host. I stayed in a really comfortable room with a TV, private bathroom & balcony. Erik also has another bedroom available & an airbed in the lounge. There was always coffee available, and plenty of helpful advice about local places to shop & eat.

    The apartment is really close to the HQs of Oracle & EA, and is about a 10 minute walk from the Soiftel San Francisco Bay. A taxi from SFO to here is ~$60. You can also walk to the San Carlos CalTrain station in ~30 minutes & get into San Francisco or anywhere else fairly quickly.

    February 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 93 times
San Diego High School, Alliant International University, CSPP
I'll try nearly anything once; I am a 43 y/o adventurous spirit. I've gone bungee jumping, bridge walking, and rock climbing. I enjoy swimming, tennis, basketball and jui jitsu. I bring warmth to those around me and extend myself when others need a hand. I believe attracting positive things to my life is a result of sharing my positive energy with others. I've been dedicated to my career in public health - psychology. My early affinity for helping others, as my mom says, developed when I was very young. The large family that I hail from weren't much help in deterring me away from a career in helping others either. Since eligible to work at the age of 16, I've held some type of job in public health that I fostered into a career with the help of a BA, then MA in Psychology. My more recent venture is a return to school for a Ph.D. Between work, school, volunteering and trying to maintain some semblance of a social life, I have a rich schedule that keeps me on my toes. I've done a bit of traveling in my life. At an early age, family vacations took me to Canada and Mexico and in more recent years personal and business brought me to Paris, Holland, Bulgaria, London, Tijuana, and Italy. Domestically, I've been to all of the West Coast States, Arizona, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, NY, Florida to spout off a few. :-) I look forward to meeting many folks through this service, perhaps one of those people will be you. Cheers & safe travels, ~Erik
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
6 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings