The entrance to the pool and beach. The apartment on the 1st floor.
Sunset Beach Apartment.
Hosted by Becky
Becky is the host.
6 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
6 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

A 2 Bedroom apartment on the most sought after development on Sal.
Seconds walk to a private beach & communal pool.
Quiet location.
5 minutes walk into Santa Maria town with a selection of shops, bars & restaurants.

The space

****SUMMER SPECIALS RATE CURRENTLY AVAILABLE*****

ABOUT OUR SPECIAL HOME:

Welcome to my newly painted and decorated 2 bedroom apartment. In December 2015 we also refurbished the kitchen, extending it, adding new tiles, works surface and gas hob. The apartment is located in the stunning beach front development of Porto Antigo 1, Santa Maria, the islands most sort after development.

The apartment consists of 2 bedrooms, one twin bedroom and one mezzanine style double bedroom as well as a double sofa bed in the living area. There is a shower room and kitchenette as well as a nice large balcony.
The apartment is furnished to high standard with a fan in each bedroom, a mosquito screen on the window in the downstairs bedroom and air-conditioning in the living area. The apartment is bright and colourful creating a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere during your stay. There are double doors leading from the living area to the balcony which when opened provide a lovely cool breeze throughout the building.

ABOUT THE DEVELOPMENT:

Porto Antigo 1 is a quiet and relaxed development on the edge of Santa Maria town opposite a large open square. The apartment is just a few seconds walk from the pool which overlooks a small secluded beach enclosed by the old port walls. This makes it ideal for children to swim and play in safety. The beach is also totally private and therefore can be rather quiet as it's only used by people staying in Porto Antigo 1. There are 2 restaurants onsite, one at the entrance to the development the other on the waters edge, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner it is the ideal place to grab a refreshing drink or bite to eat after a long day sunbathing.
Porto Antigo 1 is situated on the edge of the town and is less than 5 minutes walk to the town square in the heart of Santa Maria with its wide range of shops, bars and restaurants. Some developments situated in the centre of Santa Maria town can suffer from noise pollution from near by bars, this is not the case with Porto Antigo 1.
You are only 3 minutes walk from the excellent Tam Tams bar/restaurant with 5 stars on trip advisor and very popular with the local expats.
You are 2 minutes to the local bakery which is wonderful for fresh bread in the morning.
Just opposite the main entrance is a small local shop selling all your daily essential plus wireless internet credit.

SHORT STAYS
We are willing to do stays of 3 - 5 nights when it slots in-between existing bookings. There also my be a small surcharge on this depending on the circumstances.

LONG TERM RENTAL RATES AVAILABLE ON REQUEST
DISCOUNTS GIVEN IF YOU STAY 3 WEEKS OR MORE.

VISAS:

Some people have been advised that they need to get a visa in advance, this is not the case. As your holiday will be classed as 'flight only', not a 'package holiday' it is advised that you get a visa at the airport on arrival. This is very simple process that we have been through many times. It is actually better than having a prearranged visa as you get to bypass the long immigration que.
This is the case for most european countries however some countries can be different to others so it is best to check.

AIRPORT TRANSFERS:

Airport transfers can be arranged upon request to and from the airport. We have a reliable, trusted, very friendly and helpful driver who we always use. He can speak excellent English, Portuguese and a little German. He will meet you with the key, show you around the apartment, answer any questions you have regarding things to do and places to see, he will also be the contact on island in case of an emergency.

CLEANING AND LAUNDRY

Bedding and bathroom towels included at 'check in'.
Please note the only cleaning and laundry included is at the end of your stay upon 'check out'.
If you require any extra cleaning, new towels or bedding 'during your stay' then this can be provided for an extra charge.

CHECK OUT

We are willing to be flexible on 'Check out' time so long as there are no other guests arriving that day.
If there are new incoming guests the check out time will be 10.00am (depending on guests arrival time I may be able to make it later)

THE APARTMENT:

Living Area:
Sofa Bed, Sideboard with storage area, coffee table, TV with satellite, Multi region DVD player that will also play CDs, mini speaker system that should work with all smart phones and tablets, Air conditioning unit.

Kitchen:
Dining table and chairs, kettle, toaster, mini oven, hob, fridge/freezer, cafetiere, cutlery and crockery, pots and pans.

Downstairs Twin Bedroom:
Twin beds, double wardrobe with drawers, bedside table and lamp, fan, fly screen.

Mezzanine Level - Double Bedroom:
Double bed, 2 bedside tables and lamps, double wardrobe with drawers, desk and chair, fan.

Shower room:
Toilet, sink, bidet and shower.

Balcony:
Large plastic dining table and 6 x chairs, wooden side table, 2 x wicker chairs with cushions.

Guest access

The private beach and communal pool.

Interaction with guests

We currently live in the UK so the interaction will just be by phone or email. We have someone on Island that you can contact if you have any questions or if there is an emergency. We are also always available to help.

Other things to note

Please always ensure you lock the balcony doors when you leave as well as double lock the front door. Many thanks.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Internet

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Smoking is only allowed only on the terrace.
No animals in the apartment or encouraged onto the terrace.
Please bring your own towels for the beach. The towels we supply are only to be used in the apartment.


Cancellations

40 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Phil User Profile
April 2017
This is the second time we stayed at Becky's so it very much met expectations.

Nadieh User Profile
April 2017
Nice apartment, central location of Santa Maria. Perfect, gentle hospitality from Becky and her team !

David User Profile
March 2017
The apartment is on the first floor overlooking the main entrance to Porto Antigo and faces East so we had the advantage of sunny breakfasts on the balcony before venturing out into the town or the beach for the day. The apartment is exactly as described in Becky's write up and was perfect for us as a couple who like to spread out with room for our clothes and instruments (We took our guitar and fiddle). The apartment is part of the Porto Antigo Hotel complex, so you are allowed access to all the facilities of the hotel: Private pool, private beach and club restaurant. The beach is situated within the walls of a 17 century harbour so you are protected from the high waves on windy days. A perfect location for a family holiday which we are planning for next year. Thanks Becky for making this a memorable holiday.

Alessandro User Profile
February 2017
Little and smart apartament near village center and close to the sea. Becky was easily contactable.

Beverly User Profile
February 2017
Our arrival in Sal was straight forward and we were met at the airport by Ildo which was pre-arranged by Becky. He showed us into the apartment and explained the heating, air con and mobile. Perfect location, close to the town but not right in the centre so quiet. Very close to a small secluded and sheltered beach. However we felt the apartment was very small and quite claustrophobic. The mezzanine is up a very steep staircase so not the easiest access to the bedroom. Balcony not the most inviting, not private, very overlooked and exceptionally dirty due to the constant wind. Although a brush and pan was provided there was no means of wiping the table and chairs which needed to be done every day. So subsequently we never used it. The bathroom was extremely tired and dirty. There is no towel or linen change and no means to clean these yourself. Kitchen was well equipped however a cafetière and a corkscrew would be handy. Also some means of wiping down as only a small sponge is supplied. On request Becky did managed to get a hairdryer to me quickly. Baggage allowances are always being squeezed so to be supplied with beach towels and the likes of an iron and hairdryer would I feel be beneficial.
Becky User Profile
Response from Becky:
Thank you for your very thorough review. I would like to take this opportunity to go through the points mentioned, some of which I feel are inaccurate and unfair. 1 - Size of apartment. - It is a 2 bedroom apartment of 60sq meters that sleeps 6. I am surprised that this was not big enough for just the 2 of you. 2 - Stairway, sorry you found this too steep, an interesting observation!! I've never had anyone mention this before. 3. Balcony - Sorry you didn't find this 'inviting'. I admit there is another apartments balcony opposite which is sometimes occupied. I guess this is down to personal opinion as I also know a lot of people dislike ground floor apartments with people walking past continuously. I feel the photos are an accurate representation of the balcony. Regarding it being dirty, Sal in the winter can be very windy and yes its is a sandy island, most people like this. This causes ALL balconies and outside ares EVERYWHERE on the island to get very dusty at this time of the year. This is much worse on front line properties. Cleaning cloths are available on the shop opposite for a couple of euros. The balcony is always thoroughly cleaned prior to arrival but its impossible to get someone in every day to do this for you. 4 - Bathroom - The bathroom is as shown in the photos. Please accept my apologies that you found it dirty this is not acceptable. I will be speaking with the cleaning company to find out why the apartment was not checked for cleanliness prior to arrival. 5 - Towel and linen change - I make it very clear in the description of the property that there is NO towel or linen change. I also make it clear that this can be arrange for you at an extra charge either by contacting myself or by using the complimentary phone and contacting the details on the back of the door. The apartment is not a 5* hotel it is a self catering apartment and there for this is not an all inclusive service. As you will have seen washing machine is NOT on the list of facilities. 6 - Kitchen - There is a Cafetiere and corkscrew provided. I have checked and they are in the kitchen. 7 - Hairdryer - Again this is NOT on the list of facilities either, I did however go to great lengths to get one of this for you 8 - Baggage - I also clearly state that Beach towels are NOT included on the website therefore you know this when you booked. I also made you aware of this in our correspondence. 9 - I DO supply an Iron in the apartment, sorry you didn't see this. I am sorry to hear that you were not 100% happy with the apartment. I always to my absolute best to make our guests stay special, hence phoning around many friends to find you a hairdryer. I was even prepared to buy one for you. I do feel a little aggrieved that you did not mention many of these issues during you stay.
February 2017

Ray User Profile
January 2017
We had a great stay, especially because you live outdoors the whole day! The weather was great and the sea nice to swim in. It's ashame the locals donnot take care of the island. Like many other islands/countries, lots of plastic waste.

Sian User Profile
November 2016
Beckys apartment is fantastic for a short break in Santa Maria. It is really close to the beach, bars and restaurants and you are in the heart of the local town with lots of small shops and markets. Becky was really easy to contract and happy to answer and questions we had, she also left a really helpful information booklet in the apartment. The pool was beautiful and never over crowded, even on the sunniest days you didn't struggle to find sun loungers. There was a mobile phone and wifi device in the apartment that you could top up if you wanted however most local bars had wifi which was more than enough for us. Overall we had a really enjoyable stay and would stay here again if ever in Santa Maria.

This host has 27 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Banbury, United KingdomJoined in July 2012
Becky User Profile
Hi I'm a bubbly and friendly person, I love travelling, l lived in Australia for a year. I would love to travel to Central and South America as well as South East Asia particularly Laos and Vietnam. I like meeting new and Interesting people and are very respectful of others …
Languages: Deutsch, English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings