Come inside your room and you'll find a cozy and bright space with a small closet on the left containing hangers, an extra pillow and blanket, and an iron and ironing board.32" private TV loaded with Roku channels, salt lamp and oil diffuser for atmosphere


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bed

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bed

Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
280 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Traveling usually feels best when you have a comfy, clean, and restful home base to come back to at the end of each day - and that's what I strive to provide for all my guests.

I list two rooms with AirBNB that share a bathroom (the other is listed as "Unwind in West Asheville").

~Full-sized Sealy Posturpedic (best for one traveler, two can *just* fit)
~Kettle, coffee/tea, mini-fridge & microwave
~Iron and board
~32" HD television, Roku w/ Amazon Prime, Pandora, & earbud remote


The space
The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 5PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s), Cat(s), and Other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Amenities

Prices
Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $15
Security Deposit: $95
Weekly Discount: 10%
Cancellation: Strict
Weekend Price: $47 / night

Description
Description

The space

I bought my first home two years ago, and learning to fix it up slowly-but-surely is a delight. I am sure you will love the details in your room.

Guests also have access to my favorite spaces:
~sitting room on the main level perfect for getting in a bit of work on your trip
~the guest bath in the hallway is shared with my guests in another room and folks that come through during the day, but don't fret - I have a shelf set aside just for you to assure you feel welcome, comfortable, and at your ease while you're staying with me
~When the weather is nice, the front and side porches are great spots for a cup of coffee or tea

PLEASE NOTE: I own a small Boston Terrier and a Boxer/Pug mix, and occasionally have visits from or dogsit my mother's Schnoodle. They are all are very friendly dogs, but this listing is only appropriate for those who can tolerate small loving fur balls in common spaces (they will, of course, not have access to your room). There are additionally cats on the property - you will not see them as they are not allowed in the primary living space, but if you have severe allergies this listing might not be appropriate for you.

Guest access

Guests have a mini-fridge, microwave, electric kettle, portable hot drink cups, a private 32" HD television in your room with Roku loaded with Pandora and Amazon Prime among others and remote control that works with earbuds and other little odds-and-ends in the bedroom.

Access to the guest bathroom is shared between two guest rooms, but our overnight guests have special space set aside for your belongings and comfort.

The sitting room and dining room are also available for your use.

The kitchen and lower level of the house are restricted to business/family use, and I appreciate your understanding.

Interaction with guests

I am friendly and pretty laid-back.. And have traveled to different parts of the world and know what it's like on the road.

If you wanna share a cup of tea or wine and swap stories, I'm usually down for it. And if you prefer to come and go on your own, be quiet as field mice and avoid human interactions, that's totally fine too. I'm an introvert, I get it.

Moral of the story: let me know the type of experience you are looking to find, and I'll do my best (within reason) to accommodate. Plus, by letting me know, we avoid awkward moments in the hallway making smalltalk where we're both trying to figure out if we wanna talk and chill and get to know each other or if we're just being polite because really you just wanna go crash out and not deal with a human being. It's cool, really, just lemme know so I don't bother you. :)

The neighborhood

I live in a quiet, safe, up-and-coming residential neighborhood. It's not all the prettiest, but I feel very safe here. There are not loud parties or issues in the evenings (and, of course, my guests and I show our neighbors that same courtesy in return).

My home is a brick rancher built in the 60s with nearly an acre of property - this neighborhood was built before they started really packing the houses one on top of the other.

Extremely easy access to Patton Ave (straight to downtown) or to i-40 (which will get you anywhere else around Asheville).

About 15-20 minutes from downtown depending on traffic. 25 minutes to the airport.

Getting around

Off-street parking is available for your one car at our home. The closest bus stop involves walking a busy road with no sidewalk, so we don't recommend it. You can drive a very short distance to another stop and then bus into downtown proper if your heart is set on public transit.

Uber has many affordable options in town.

Other local taxi services are also relatively reasonable.

Those with bikes could use them, please again be aware of your own safety needs and comfort levels with roads that lack shoulders or biking lanes.

I'm happy to recommend my best tips for finding easy parking downtown during Drum Circle, festivals, etc.

Other things to note

I'm frequently coming and going, so check-in and check-out are self-serve - I'll send you a bunch of info prior to your stay so you can make yourself comfy! If I'm home I'm delighted to help you get settled and give you the three-penny tour; and if I'm not home, I want you to feel absolutely at ease. Please let me know if you need anything at all - text is the best way to get me during the day.


House Rules
House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in is after 5PM

My primary rule for life is: "Don't be a dick". I follow it, you follow it, and everything's gonna be alright. A few details to help along the way:

~Absolutely no indoor smoking, vaping tobacco or disposing of butts indoors. There is a butt can on the front porch, smoke out there and leave the butts in the can please.

~Paid guests only whom I've verified with AirBNB, please do not bring other folks you meet back to my home. And, while I know they're adorable, I do not allow children or pets.

~For checkout: Please be sure all remotes are accounted for, and just drop any towels you used on the floor so I know what's clean and what's not. That's it! Checkout time is before 11am.

~I do not clean your room during your stay, but please feel free to ask for anything you might need to increase your comfort.

~Many of my guests need to awaken early, which means relative quiet hours between 11pm and 6am. You don't have to be asleep or stuck in your room afraid to make a single peep or anything else totally draconian, but please be try to be mindful if you can.

~One vehicle per room. You have one dedicated parking spot off-street adjacent to the front porch. There are no additional parking spaces near my house, on-street or off-street. If you have more than one vehicle on your trip you will need to put it in a parking garage or find another solution.

~The downstairs of the house is for business and personal use only - we love our AirBNB guests, but please do stay in the upper portion of the house during your visit.

~Bathroom: there is a corner shelving unit in the shower that is intended for your use. Feel free to leave your shower toiletries in there. We've also got some basics just in case you forgot anything - don't ask, just use what's in there, it's meant for you! In addition, there are two small shelves near the sink that are also meant for AirBNB guest toiletries. You're welcome to shlep everything back and forth to your room, but you don't have to unless you really wanna. Under the sink is a basket with a hairdryer, curling iron, and hair straightener - again, don't ask, just use them if they'll help you feel your best during your visit!

~If anything at all isn't to your comfort, if you have questions or needs, please talk to me right away. I am on the quiet side but friendly, and I really do want you to be comfortable and have your stay with me a pleasant part of your travel experience.


Safety features
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
Availability
2 nights minimum stay

Hosted by Christina

Asheville, North Carolina, United States · Member since March 2012
Christina

I relocated to Asheville from New York State in 2012, looking for a change of pace. Sure found it! I love this town and its quirky people. Bought my first house two years ago, and working hard in my downtime to fix it up - it's a passion-project, I love being crafty and learning how houses work! The guest rooms were first on the list, and you'll occasionally see a work-in-progress as you visit. Don't worry, I keep the dust to a minimum when guests are in the house!

I've been remodeling my life along with my house, and alternate between hosting guests, writing, being a student, working with animals, volunteering, energy work, and a variety of creative gigs. All these activities keep me on-the-go, so we may or may not meet when I'm hosting unless the stars align! When we do, I am super-happy to chat over a cuppa, make recommendations, and learn more about the awesome guests who come through my home. Always feel welcome to text, even if we don't connect face-to-face :)

I love travel, meeting new people, and discovering new experiences! I lived in Paris for a year in my early adulthood, have lived in many states and moved more than 30 times as an adult - as a former vagabond, I love people of the world.

When hosting, I want to be sure you're as comfortable (or even more so!) as you would have been at home. I keep the house as clean as possible for everyone's mutual comfort, and as long as everyone respects shared spaces it tends to work out brilliantly.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting you in my home!

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections