SUPREME POSITION AMAZING OCEAN VIEW

House - Entire home/apt · Polwarth Road, Lorne, VIC 3232, Australia

The Space

3BEDROOM, 2 BATHROOM, SLEEPS 2 TO 8 PERSONS.

Set on an elevated position, this amazing home offers commanding views across Loutit Bay, from the Pier to Aireys Inlet Lighthouse.
The residence provides huge living/entertaining areas, both inside and out, all capturing the spectacular coastline outlook. Light-filled, airy with vaulter ceilings, polished timber floors and masses of glass looking to the ocean.
Just a 5 minute walk to the shopping strip, restaurants/cafes and main beach, yet provideing a quiet secluded retreat amongst the trees and prolific birdlife. Best view in Lorne, voted each year.

Massive ocean views from a 60 sqm deck, 7 metres off the ground, surrounded by glass. Perfect sunrise over the bay, you will go to sleep listening to the sound of the waves. Watch the pier light up like a Christmas tree, witness a thick star-lit sky. Outdoor entertaining area plus gas BBQ. Don't miss this amazing opportunity to stay at Polwarth Heights.

Experience all the delights of the Great Ocean Road and the twelve apostles.

We have a minimum cleaning charge and request that you please leave our home as you find it, clean and tidy.
With overseas/interstate guests, if you are unable to provide linen/towels, this can be organised at a nominal rate, - thanks for your understanding Our confirmation letter, upon booking, will confirm simply details further.

Quoted rates do not include peak season, long weekends, school holidays, kindly email us prior to booking.

Easter period is a four night minimum, we may make an exception for 3 nites.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 8
Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 4
Extra people: $48 / night after 6 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $337
Cleaning Fee: $39
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The reservation was canceled 157 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    April 2014
  • The people I booked into this property were extremely happy with it. They said it was a beautiful house and the location was spot on.

    February 2014
  • I could actually fill pages here writing the report on this airbnb experience. For me this was the first bad one. It started right from the beginning when communication got very complicated and demanding in between the both of us and ended with my family finding a very unclean apartment:
    Both bathrooms were completely dirty (toilets, sink, shower and floors had not been cleaned), the fridge was filthy with a bad smell of fish.
    The most outrageous part is the owner's reaction to that. As communication was going through me being in Europe, even though my parents stayed at the apartment, I was only able to inform about the matter on the second day. The condition of the apartment as my parents found it was denied. However, she offered us to leave the apartment uncleaned (as we were actually supposed to leave the apartment cleaned after our stay - despite having payed for cleaning.

    My parents decided to clean themselves to enjoy the apartment. They bought cleaning stuff, scrubbed the fridge and cleaned one of the bathrooms to feel comfortable using it.

    The apartment as such is very nice indeed with a great terrace and an unbelievable view!

    After asking her to meet my parents at the house to see herself (as she was clearly questioning their perception) I have never heard anything from her again.

    I am very upset with this deal as we were assured of a prime apartment for which we actually paid a corresponding price. Under these circumstances we cannot recommend this apartment even though the apartment is great.

    For any further questions feel free to contact me.

    February 2014
    Lorraine
    Response from Lorraine:

    Kirsten's communication thread was dis-jointed/difficult as she couldn't decide on dates, duration of stay and was unable to confirm how many people in her group. She neglected to provide necessary contact details for her family in Melb, who were part of the booking. We were at the premises immediately prior to her stay with our cleaner, after Antonella & family, who were a delight to host! (Kindly read her review below).
    Kirstin's group checked in without informing us of any issues (they had both our mobile contacts) nor did they alert airbnb to any problems. If in fact, the place was not to their standards, we would have sent our cleaner to handle their concerns. Kirsten wanted us to come to the apartment upon check-out, but we live 180kms away from Lorne. She was advised to leave the apartment the way they found it, something we suggest to other guests. We also waived the linen charge, as a consequence.

    The residence is outstanding with breath taking views, walking distance to Mountjoy Parade and generous living areas that take advantage of the commanding outlook. Should any future guests have any concerns please do not hesitate to get in touch, not forgetting to read all reviews in context.
    with respect, Lorraine

  • A great location with great views. Easy walking distance down to the beach and shops. A little harder walking back but worth the effort. The place was very spacious with 6 of us staying there. I brought my relatives visiting from Italy and they too were very impressed with the house, the views and Lorne with it's beautiful beaches. My first time with airbnb and Lorraine made the whole experience a pleasure. A host I'd like doing business with again. Thanks Lorraine

    February 2014
    Lorraine
    Response from Lorraine:

    Antonella, It was a delight to have you plus your overseas visitors on board. Happy to read you were able to showcase the Surfcoast Shire together with amazing Great Ocean Road in grand style. Thanks for your attention to detail, your quiet, professional manner and leaving our place in spotless order. I look forward to welcoming you back to Lorne -you realise we have smaller units, should it be just your family. Best wishes for a knock-out 2014...... Lorraine.

  • The pity about this is the house is beautiful however I would never rent a property off of Loraine again.

    She has accused me of many things after my stay at this house.

    -Stealing wood from her wood shed!
    -Leaving the floor and bench tops sticky (meaning it needed to be mopped)
    -Smell of seafood in the fridge and freezer(which was empty)
    -Use of her downstairs flat(there is 8 beds upstairs and we had four people why would I use her downstairs flat)
    -Dishwasher had not been emptied(We packed the dishwasher and then left does she want me to wait around 2 hrs whilst the dishwasher cycles????)
    -This is a direct quote "Wood chips and bark left on the ground in the back area, which necessitated the entire area to be completely swept in 40 degree heat." Like it is my fault it is a 40 degree day.

    Now alot of this would have been fair enough had I not paid the AirBnB $40 cleaning fee plus she insisted I had to pay a further $80 direct to her back account (against AirBnb's T's and C's) for cleaning as well so all in all I paid $120 in cleaning this should suffice.

    Not only that but when I booked the accommodation she tried to get me to pay an additional 20% direct to her bank account due to the fact it was a public holiday weekend, suggesting that the price advertised and accepted by her was a mistake, so I did some research her normal rate is $336 a night considering I stayed 3 nights my bill should have come to $1008, however the bill came to $1572 meaning that she had in fact updated the payment schedule in airbnb and she was trying to fleece me an extra 20% direct to her bank account avoiding any fees from AirBNB on that money.

    All in all I am extremely disappointed, she is also threatening to take me to VCAT. I hope AirBNB can help me in this matter.

    January 2014
    Lorraine
    Response from Lorraine:

    Thomas,
    Guests should be aware of your conduct and behaviour. There is no excuse for the manner of which you treated and left our holiday residence. As your bond had been released back to you, before we could get to Lorne from Melbourne (2 hours away), you leave us no alternative to lodge at VCAT to seek repairs compensation, and re-instatement.
    You were fully aware our tariff, all detailed in the message thread, the only surcharge agreed to and paid by yourself ($80) related to the surcharge for the peak, Aust Day long weekend.
    The cleaning charge included in your tariff was $40, an hourly for Lorne cleaners. Our cleaner was there for 7 hours over and above the one hour. Neighbours have attested to the noise/abuse that permeated and swept the quiet hours of the evening and night.
    The figures that you have mentioned above is incorrect, Airbnb paid us $1285. Remembering that you would have been charged airbnb's fee . What you are implying above, is sheer fabrication and considered slanderous.
    I asked you to consider the precious airbnb forum...... As until now, I have been on the receiving end of fabulous hosts and return guests, kindly take a look at all our reviews. I request that you be respectful, Thomas. Best, Lorraine.

  • We had a great time in Lorne at Lorraine & Peter's place, the view is AMAZING. The deck is sensational, like another living area.
    Good walking distance to shops and beach and great exercise coming up the stairs, hills back to house.
    House was perfect for us, 2 adults and 2 teenagers, plenty of room and space.
    Thank you Lorraine & Peter

    January 2014
    Lorraine
    Response from Lorraine:

    We are thrilled you had a fabo summer holiday, not to mention getting fit at the same time!! We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Lorne in the future. Happy New Year Kim - a pleasure having you on board....

    Best, Lorraine

  • This was a great house with an amazing deck + superb ocean views. A short (~10 min) walk into town as well so very convenient.

    BYO linen + anything outside of kitchen utensils, so come prepared!

    November 2013
    Lorraine
    Response from Lorraine:

    As this is our private holiday residence, guests travelling from Melbourne with vehicles are aware they required to bring their linen & towels (doonas/pillows, etc) provided plus any food & beverage items they wish to consume. There is a linen service available for overseas/interstaters. Everything else is provided, as you would have noticed. This not being a bed and breakfast, it is a large full-furnished home, with stunning views and walking distance to Mountjoy parade - we are glad you enjoyed it over the weekend with your friends. Cheers, Lorraine.

  • We stayed 2 nights at this fabulous place. We had 2 families in our party. Communication with Peter and Lorraine were easy, they were very responsive and gracious. We didn't get to meet them, but Peter prep the place and made it very welcoming, complete with towels/linens, toilet paper, detergent and even water heater switched on. The house is within walking distance to various conveniences like the supermarket and shops. The view is fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone who wishes to stay along the Great Ocean road.

    November 2013
  • The house was clean and tidy and the view very nice. It would of been good to have scrabble or some cared or something to entertain but other than that good.

    November 2013
  • This was our first time to use Air BNB it was easily to use and i felt confident along the way that given though booking from overseas that things would be OK. Lorraine answered our questions very thoroughly which was great.

    The house worked well for our group 2 couples and three children.

    Peter also was wonderful and answered our questions and helped us once we had arrived when we needed assistance.

    Thank you for sharing your home with us its a wonderful spot.

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$313
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 105 times
School
St Johns, Auburn NSW
Work
Property/real estate
About
Having moved into this well-located, hidden gem on Richmond Hill some 15 months ago and after a knock-out stay in Honolulu (airbnb) earlier, I've decided to give hosting a shot. I am well-travelled with a thirst for people/places/the unknown. Retired from the corporate world within the sales and marketing/advertising arena, I now prefer managing a handful of investment properties, but mostly spend my time between the beach (Lorne, Victoria - properties listed on airbnb) and frequent overseas holidays. Enjoy the arts, retro furniture/jewellery/couture/architecture. Avid enthusiast of all things vintage. My indulgence is searching interesting haunts, hoping to stumble across the unique/the unusual. When in town, often seen bidding at weekly in-house auctions - not forgetting "street theatre" with Melbourne Real Estate, the auction capital of the world!! Delight in making people feel comfortable, at home with everything at their fingertips. Love to eat, cook and entertain ...... WOULD'NT BE DEAD FOR QUIDS!
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
3 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings