Great Room, Pvt Bath, by Metro

House - Private room · Warner Street Northwest, Washington, DC 20001, United States
Erin
Your host, Erin
41 Reviews
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Charming 1900-era Victorian rowhouse centrally-located in the Shaw neighborhood, right in the middle of DC. Please make yourself at home here - a really convenient location for exploring the city, and a desirable neighborhood in the city.

On the opposite end of the house from my room is your private room (with private bath), located on the quiet back side of the house, and overlooking the back yard. It features a very comfortable queen-sized bed with soft cotton sheets, down duvet, ceiling fan, ceiling lights on dimmers, and bedside lighting. This attractive and relaxing room has a large window allowing in natural light (North), as well as a huge closet to accommodate all your belongings and keepsakes from traveling. There is a twin-sized trundle bed that can be pulled out from under the bed at night, and rolled back under during the day, if there is a third guest. Your private, skylighted bath is a single step from your door, and features a shower/tub combo with great water pressure, as well as towels, a hair dryer, and various toiletries for your use.

The house is comfortable, homey, and well-appointed, with hardwood floors throughout, lots of natural light, and comfortable furnishings. Guests have full access to the common areas of the house - living room with TV, dining room, kitchen with all appliances and wares, washer/dryer, and backyard. This should feel like your home away from home!

***There is a resident cat and dog, both rather amiable rescues. I’m convinced the cat is part dog, and the dog is all snuggles once she gets to know you. You must be a dog-lover to stay here!***

The kitchen is fully-equipped with gas stove, microwave, dishwasher, French press pot, electric kettle, toaster oven, large fridge -- as well as ample pantry supplies for making yourself coffee, tea, and simple breakfasts (I tend to always have oatmeal and good bread on hand for quick breakfasts, as well as fruit of some kind). Whole Foods and other food outlets (including the Bloomingdale Farmers Market on Sundays) are not far, if you care to shop and cook other meals while in town.

Other house facilities include wireless internet, a washer and dryer (I have detergent for your use), tv and dvd player for movies (no cable), and a backyard with patio and seating.

I'm happy to interact as little or as much as my guests would like! I share the house with guests, so I (and my pets) are present, but I also work a full-time job outside the home, and keep a schedule busy with friends and activities, so am not over-present in your space in the house.

I'm a former Airbnb employee, and ask that you fill out a profile prior to booking with me, and tell me a little about your planned stay; I can best determine if my place is a good fit for you, as well as provide more custom travel information with this bit of detail. If you're unsure of airbnb in general, I'm a great host for first-timers who'd like to learn more about the business, and feel comfortable as first-time guests!

Be sure to check out the online Guidebook associated with my listing by clicking on the Guidebook Badge at the top of the listing page. It'll get you familiar with some of the nearby amenities before you even arrive.

The Neighborhood

Shaw is an awesome neighborhood, and so convenient to exploring the city! You can walk to many things - whether the downtown Mall where the museums and Capitol are, or to great local restaurants - and what's not walkable (or when you need a break) can be reached by taxi or public transit easily.

Getting around

The house is close to many public transit options: - Metro (a 5 minute walk to the Shaw/Howard stop that is fine to do at night; yellow/green lines; this is an easy way to arrive to/from Reagan National airport);
- bus (numerous options on several close by main streets);
- Capital Bikeshare (1 block away, with stations all across the city);
- taxi (head to a main street to hail, or I can call one for you).

If you are driving into town, I can offer use of a permit for street parking at a rate of $15/day (Sundays and holidays are exempted from charge).

If you like walking, the house is a 15 walk to the Convention Center and Logan Circle; a hop to the Bloomingdale/LeDroit Park neighborhoods and the Big Bear Coffeeshop featuring food, drinks, and events; a 10-15 minute walk to the U Street corridor's food and music clubs (including the 9:30 Club); H Street and 14th Street and the nightlife in those spots is just a bit further afield. The house is about 1 mile / 25 min walk to the National Mall, Capitol, Monuments and Smithsonian Museums, or a quick 8 minute metro ride.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Extra people: $25 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $775 /week
Security Deposit: $100
Check In: 5:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Erin was a delightful and thoughtful host. Her home was lovely and well kept, the room was spacious, light and airy, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was conveniently located and Erin provided all the soaps and shampoos that you could want. The kitchen was very modern and well-equipped and Erin provided coffee and oatmeal for breakfast. We also enjoyed interacting with her dog and cat, Beija and Gravy. Erin was a very helpful with recommending restaurants and helping get us get oriented in D.C. Great location and very easy access to buses and subway. We would definitely stay there again or would recommend it to our friends.

    July 2014
  • We really liked Erin's place. It is exactly what was shown in the listing. Erin was very helpful and kind. I recommend this place

    June 2014
  • I stayed at Erin's place for my first time visiting DC, and it was delightful. Erin keeps a very neat, clean and organized home. Everything looks just as she has posted in the photos. Her home looks like what you would find in an ikea catalog! -- it's truly lovely. The bed sheets and linens in the room were clean, soft and comfy! I had plenty of privacy but Erin was also very kind when there. Her dog Beija is so delightful I wish I could have taken her home with me! True to her description, her place is just a 4 block walk or so to the Shaw/Howard stop on the metro, so that made her place a great launching point for the standard DC sites (museums, monuments, national mall). Her neighborhood felt safe enough to me, but like any city you just have to be alert at night. Her street is rather quiet and not a main drag, so if you're a woman traveling alone at night and you're uncomfortable, just take a cab. I highly recommend Erin's home.
    This was my third time using Airbnb and this is my third fabulous experience. I may never need to use a hotel again where there's a perfectly great host like Erin nearby.

    June 2014
  • From the moment Erin welcomed us we felt like we had come home. Her house was cute and very comfortable with the added bonus of a friendly dog and cat. It was an easy walk to the National Mall or to the Metro Station and there were lots of interesting places to eat nearby . Erin was a very helpful hostess and we would recommend her highly to future guests.

    June 2014
  • We stayed with Erin for four days, and it was our first experience with Airbnb. The comments that were made by previous guests are trustworthy; a nice place to stay in DC with a metro stop nearby and a host who is very kind and gives you the freedom you want. Erin had some great tips for us to make our stay even more enjoyable!

    June 2014
  • Staying at Erin's was everything we expected based on previous comments: she's a very gracious, warm host who acts as if she's the one staying at your place. The room is very cozy and comfortable, and the house is beautiful.
    She fills the guests' bathroom with everything you could possibly need, including women's specific needs items, and all different kinds of coffee, tea, sweeteners, cereal,etc in the guest's cupboard at the kitchen. She even left us shortbread cookies she made herself (which were to die for!), and her dog and cat are very sweet and friendly. We would recommend Erin's place highly. We'd stayed there again in a heartbeat if we go to Washington DC again. And one of the best Thai restaurants ever at walking distance, as a bonus? (a block and a half) Cool!

    May 2014
  • Erin's home was very comfortable and the amenities were as she described. A short walk distance to the DC Metro, and local restaurants which we found to be great! Erin allowed us to have our "space" and was available to us if needed. We recommend her home to anyone visiting the DC area!

    May 2014
  • Erin was a friendly and pleasant host, with nice pets. The room was as described, and I had breakfast which had stuff that I wanted too. The shower was good, with a curtain which doesn't stick to your leg (because of clever magnets). I would be happy to recommend this place to a friend.

    May 2014
  • I'm a country girl unfamiliar with public transit who'd never visited DC before and I had no trouble finding my way to Erin's place. Her home is as beautiful as it is comfortable and she was incredibly accommodating about my unorthodox travel and work needs.

    I felt safe walking through the neighborhood even after dark and was able to meet friends for dinner only a few blocks away.

    This was by far the most comfortable I've ever been away from home. :)

    May 2014
  • Erin was a great host and her place is great. Lots of privacy, nicely decorated and great location. I was with my daughter and there is a trundle bed, so we didn't have to sleep in same bed. Close to Howard University and less than 10 min walk to the Metro. I would definitely stay again.

    May 2014
Per Month
From
$119
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 142 times
School
Northwest Culinary Academy of Vancouver, The College of William and Mary, The Ohio State University, University of California, Santa Cruz
Work
Eat & Smile Catering
About
Hi! I would describe myself as a food savorer, laugher, traveler, trier of new things. I love extending hospitality to strangers, hearing stories and perspectives of people from other places, and making new friends. I'm originally from Virginia, but have lived most of my adult life elsewhere, from the West Coast of the US, to the Deep South, to Canada, to Italy, and many years spent in the MidWest (Kentucky, Ohio). I had a very nomadic 20s, and have really enjoyed the chance to experience so many different places. I've traveled a good amount as well, and stayed in many types of places - all of which has helped determine the way I host, and how I've set up the guest room for your use (no clutter, doilies, scratchy bed linens...). I travel using airbnb, used to work for airbnb, and love hosting - more often than not, it helps maintain my faith in humanity, and surely helps me cross paths with a really interesting cross-section of folks that I wouldn't otherwise. I currently work as Operations Manager for a great local catering company who specializes in sourcing local food products and from-scratch cooking. I wear many hats and sometimes work long hours - and really love my job.
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
a week ago
Similar Listings