"Amber" apartment is located in a peculiar little cul-de-sac alley in the very centre of town, near Piazza della Repubblica, the Duomo, Piazza Signoria and Ponte Vecchio. Around the corner you will find plenty of shops, popular markets like "Porcellino", as well as trendy bars and typical restaurants. The flat is also easy to reach from Florence S.M.Novella main train station.
"Amber" should not be compared with my other apartments, as it lacks luminosity and view (it's a first floor overlooking a small clustered inner courtyard) as well as architectural refinement (humble building, narrow and steep steps). It should rather be considered an excellent opportunity to enjoy the centre of Florence at a very reasonable cost. It offers a cozy living/dining area with a traditional kitchen with 4 burner stove and conventional oven, large fridge, washing machine, large bedroom with king size bed and plenty of closet space, large bathroom with tub and standing shower fixture.
Free WiFi broadband internet.
Tout s'est passé comme prévu de la remise au rendu des clefs.
Good location in center. For real money. Just for spent night there. Because windows looking inside of buildng. And when you will open it smell from kitchen of restaurant are inside of room. Also not to much light from outside.
Roberto was a good host and was very accommodating even when we missed our train and called to say we would be an hour late. The apartment was in an excellent location in Florence and we were able to walk to all the major sites. The only problem was a bit of noise by neighbors for the first two nights, though this was likely due more to the festive season than a regular occurrence. Thank you, Roberto!
Roberto's assistant met us at the train station on time, and drove us to the apartment. He helped us carry a heavy suitcase up the steep stairs. The apartment was very well furnished, warm, clean and spacious and located within 10 minutes walk of most things we wanted to see. The kitchen was well stocked with a toaster, pots, pans, bowls, plates and utensils and had pasta, bread, butter, jam and madelines provided. We found that the toaster had a damaged power cord when we arrived, but we emailed Roberto about it and he promptly left a new toaster outside the apartment that night. The only complaint that we had was that the water in the shower would fluctuate in temperature from very cold to very hot. We didn't feel like it was a big enough problem to email Roberto about though. Overall, we were very satisfied. 5/5 stars.
Posizione eccellente, ottimo rapporto qualità prezzo, check in con Roberto positivo perché persona professionale e squisita, appartamento caldo e accogliente, funzionale e pulito ci torneremo. Grazie
Great place, clean and high ceiling apartment. Location is about 5-7 mins from SMN station. House is very abundant with paper towels and fresh fruits. Only grumble was the heater wasn't working and hot water broke down on last day. For winter will be challenging but summer will be a great place to stay! Owner speaks great English too!
Dear Jermas, thank you for your appreciative words. Also apologies for the heather/hot water mishap. I wish you had told me earlier, as I sent the plumber over as soon as you mentioned it to me and the problem got fixed right away. You are entitled to a complimentary bottle of wine any time you decide to be my guest again! My best regards R
:Good location. Major sights withn walking distance.
: Good size apartment. Very compact.
: Details are well taken care. Coffee/tea & even detergent are provided.
: Fast Wifi
: Apartment is showing signs of age. Some of the floor planks are loose
: The stairway leading to the apartment is pretty steep.
We tolerated it for the great location but would not stay here again, primarily because of the smell/ventilation issue (see below)
- The apartment is spacious
- The kitchen is well appointed.
- There are handy things such as an ironing board, washing machine and cloths drying rack.
- The location is fantastic.
- The owner is very friendly and helpful. When we arrived late he quickly organised his cleaner to meet us.
- Primary issue - no ventilation. The apartment's only two windows are immediately above the exhaust fan from the restaurant down stairs - do not open them! Even with them closed, the smell finds its way into the apartment, even more so if you run the air-conditioning or the bathroom exhaust fan. The smell got to us. The only option was to leave the front door open.
- Drunks from the pub opposite urinate in the laneway near the entrance door.
- Its a bit run-down and dirty. It needs a good hard clean and some maintenance work.
- Small steep stairs to the apartment. Fine if you are fit.
- The aircon (a portable one) doesnt work well.
- Little natural light.
Bon rapport qualité/prix surtout grâce à sa situation en plein cœur du centre historique. Appartement par contre non conseillé aux claustrophobes car aucune vue et fenêtres donnant sur des odeurs de restaurant.
Equipement satisfaisant à part le système de production d'eau chaude qui laisse à désirer.
Cher Virginie, merci pour votre avis. Même si je suis heureux que vous avez apprécié l'emplacement de mon appartement, je suis désolé d'entendre que vous n'étiez pas satisfait de la production d'eau chaude. Depuis cela n'a jamais été un problème, vous auriez dû me dire pour que je puisse l'avoir résolu.
Oui, l'appartement n'a pas de vue, car les fenêtres donnent sur une petite cour inneer, comme je le mentionne dans la description dans ma liste. Je m'excuse pour votre disappointement.
Mes meilleures salutations
Unbeatable location, right in the middle of the old town. Our expectations were exceeded by this apartment, as the "no frills" tag wasn't quite true. Certainly the apartment building wouldn't win a beauty contest, and the bathroom is well past its prime. But once inside, Roberto has done an exceptional job of making everyone's stay comfortable. The king size bed is in a huge bedroom which also has two chairs. The kitchen had pretty much all the utensils required to cook a decent meal. The laundry is tiny, but had washing machine & detergent, huge clothes airer, ironing board & iron.
It is quite noisy staying amongst the city's hustle & bustle, so light sleepers should bring ear plugs.
We would stay here again without hesitation.