Ocean-Front One Bdrm Suite

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Montego Bay, St James Parish, Jamaica
Opal
Your host, Opal
13 Reviews
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

One bedroom suite at the Condominium is just down the way from the Half Moon in Rose Hall on the North Coast of Jamaica.

Just 15 minutes from Sangster International Airport in Rose Hall.

The high-rise condo is located on ocean-front property. The property is framed by the Caribbean Sea, then beautifully landscaped grounds with an outdoor pool. There is a fitness facility on beach level. Complimentary high-speed wifi Internet access is available in the lobby and wireless internet throughout our suite. Guest parking is below the condo and it's complimentary. There is a concierge desk (attended 8:00 a..m. - 6:00 p.m.) and the property is gated and the grounds are attended by 24 hour security -- Building Management can ALWAYS be reached. This is a smoke-free property. This property is SELF-CATERING.

The suite features a balcony with garden and partial ocean view. The living room has a flat-panel television with premium cable channels. The suite has complimentary wifi and in-room safes (accommodate laptops). The luxurious pillow-top bed has premium Egyptian cotton bedding. The bed room is equipped with a ceiling fan and there are two mobile fans located within the apartment. The living room has a sofa bed. The suite features a kitchen with stove-top, oven, microwave, refrigerator/freezer, toaster and coffee/tea maker. Bathroom offers separate extra large bathtub and shower. PLEASE NOTE: There is no hot water. The water is tepid once it gets running.
Additional amenities include washer/dryer, separate sitting areas in suite, and separate dining area -- on balcony or kitchen bar. The suite is accessible via exterior open-air corridor. Housekeeping is offered for an additional cost and arranged through the concierge and the Condo Management. This is a non-smoking property.

A $300 Refundable Security Deposit is handled as a credit card hold by Airbnb.

Guest Access

Fitness room equipped with treadmill, elliptical and free weights

Interaction with Guests

I live in NYC and I can be reached by phone or email at all times. Please do not hesitate to contact me. Nothing is too small -- call! :)

The Neighborhood

Guest can make arrangements for Spa service, tennis and golf at the Half Moon resort. Half Moon is a private hotel and it is resort hotel located next door. Tennis is also available at the Hilton. Separate charges apply and these services are not affiliated or connected to your stay at the my condo.

Getting around

I recommend that you rent a car - especially if you wish to see the island! Otherwise, you will need to rent taxis - which can be quite expensive. Be sure to take the telephone number of the driver that transports you from the airport -- that might be your best bet. Our concierge attendant may know of a driver but, it's not guaranteed. The Half Moon Resort Restaurant will pick you up and drop you off as a courtesy.

Other Things to Note

This is a very private property. Most of the owners of the condos live abroad (U.K., USA & Canada). The Jamaican residents are business people and many of them live in the capital city of Kingston and come down for the weekend. Therefore, the condo is very very quiet and very few people are on the property at any one time. However, the Life Guards are on Duty EVERYDAY!

The ice machine is located on the 2nd Floor. If there are no lights on that floor at night, ask the Concierge attendant in lobby to turn it on!

The workout room has been relocated to the pool level -- ask the Life Guards to direct you to its location. There are 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical and free weights.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $25 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Monthly Price: $2500 /month
Security Deposit: $300
Cleaning Fee: $50
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Opal was great! Her condo in Montego Bay is gorgeous. The building was basically empty and we had pretty much the most gorgeous beach entirely to ourselves! We were out and about all over the island for our short trip and didn't spend too much time there, but it was a great place to come home too. It's a tad warm with no AC, but then we'd just hang out outside, or just put the fans on us. When I go back to Jamaica, I'll very likely stay there again!

    June 2014
  • Opal's place is like an oasis. Very quiet and peaceful and on our arrival we did not encounter any other guests until the weekend. The staff are friendly and helpful if you need to ask any questions about Jamaica. I would definitely recommend you hire a car to get around. The beach is right there and we had it all to ourselves.
    Overall we were not sure what to expect but found that we were enjoyed our stay.

    June 2014
  • I'll start by saying that my fiancé and I enjoyed are time at the Palmyra. I would suggest this residents for someone looking to rent a car and do some sightseeing. There is no restaurant on site. Besides the staff, there was only one other person we saw the entire time, Mr. Henry, who is a full time resident and very nice gentleman. There is no hot water or AC. With that said, the grounds are very nice, and there are plenty of places to lay around on the beach and by the pool. 10 minute drive from airport and hip strip.

    June 2014
  • We stayed here while our friends stayed at the Half Moon Resort down the road. We saved loads of money on the rates and because we had kitchen and fridge we saved loads on that too. Savings aside this place is beautiful. Great views from the balcony, fantastic pool area and the private beach was great too. Because the resort is closed at the moment we had it all to ourselves, very surreal feeling. Loved it. No hot water but it definitely wasn't cold, perfect temperature if you ask me when it is hot outside. No aircon but we angled the fans towards the bed and slept really well. I would definitely come back. Thanks again Opal!

    May 2014
  • This place is great!!! The view from the balcony is actually better than the pictures, and Opal is a wonderful, gracious woman and host. The information she provided was the only thing I used during my stay in Jamaica - it was sooooo helpful! If anything Opal is too modest, the water was a perfect temperature - not too cold. The amenities are good quality and contains everything you need.
    The resort is PERFECT (and I'm very picky) for people who don't like ultra touristy scenery, but not too far away from the island 'hot spots', contains multiple amenities that we ended up enjoying without other guests! At the busiest there were 8 other people in the building, while some might not like (email hidden)r those who are seeking private and secluded-feeling island paradise without intrusions....this is the place!

    March 2014
  • This place is great!!! The view from the balcony is actually better than the pictures, and Opal is a wonderful, gracious woman and host. The information she provided was the only thing I used during my stay in Jamaica - it was sooooo helpful! If anything Opal is too modest, the water was a perfect temperature - not too cold. The amenities are good quality and contains everything you need.
    The resort is PERFECT (and I'm very picky) for people who don't like ultra touristy scenery, but not too far away from the island 'hot spots', contains multiple amenities that we ended up enjoying without other guests! At the busiest there were 8 other people in the building, while some might not like (email hidden)r those who are seeking private and secluded-feeling island paradise without intrusions....this is the place!

    March 2014
  • This was our second year in a row staying at Opal's condo in the Palmyra. The unit was exactly as she described and in pristine condition. Her condo is truly a luxurious unit finished to very high standards. The grounds and beach are very clean and well-maintained by the excellent staff. We look forward to staying there again. Thanks again Opal!!

    March 2014
  • I'm almost hesitant to share what an incredible experience it was to stay at Opal's place in Montego Bay because I don't want too many people to learn about this secret!

    First of all, the photos do not do the place justice. I took some more pictures for Opal (despite my desire to keep it a secret) just to show how incredible the grounds are, the pool, the white sand beach and the incredible clear, turquoise water, the perfect palm trees. The swimming area is protected by jetties and feels like a calm, warm bathtub. Incredible. The condo is also beautiful - modern kitchen, incredible bathroom with shower and tub, balcony, comfy king bed. The kitchen has all the amenities you need to cook, make coffee, etc. There were a couple posts about the lack of hot water, but this is no longer the case. There was ample hot water and no problems with electricity. The wifi is strong - I held several (website hidden) video meetings with my team and experienced no delays or interruptions.

    The property itself is quiet with just a few other people renting condos. We felt incredibly safe - the security and maintenance people were friendly and attentive, always making sure we had what we needed even though we were not expecting this from them. When you're in the mood for people, it's just a short drive to Montego Bay or the closer shopping area where you can do to dinner, the grocery store, or little shops. Also, I can't recommend Scotchie's strongly enough - but Opal will tell you all about that.

    Speaking of Opal, she could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We spoke on the phone before departing and she sent a long email with instructions, advice and recommendations. She also checked in via email as soon as we arrived. She was very concerned that we had everything we needed, made sure all of our questions were answered, and was even willing to help us make any necessary arrangements while in town.

    If I absolutely had to come up with something negative about our stay, it would be the 2-3 mosquitoes that hung out in our room at night. They left quite a few bites, so we bought repellant and we were fine after that.

    Other than the mosquitoes, our stay was beyond perfect. I can't wait to go back!

    February 2014
  • My boyfriend and I just stayed at Opals condo this weekend and have mixed reviews. We arrived to opals condo, which is located on a foreclosed resort, and we're immediately wowed by the beauty of the property. The condo itself is exactly as described but there is NO hot water and most of the lights in the building don't work. Finding out about the water situation was pretty upsetting but Opal offered us a discount for not telling us that before we arrived. We had to use our cell phones for lighting while walking through the building because, although our unit had lights, most of the hallways were pitch black. We were told that since the bank owns the resort, they conserve on electricity, hence the lack of lighting and hot water.
    Now, to the good stuff ! This property offers a private beach which was absolutely glorious! Since the resort is closed, we pretty much had the beach to ourselves, which was awesome ! During our second day, we met the lifeguard, and he made sure we had everything we needed and offered to take us kayaking the next day, which we did.
    We took opals suggestion, and bought food to cook in the condo. I'm really glad we did, because once we were on the resort, there really wasn't anywhere to go to get food or supplies near by. We did go to the Half Moon resort down the road for dinner and they picked us up and dropped us off.
    Once, we got over the initial disappointments, we really enjoyed our stay at the Palmyra. I don't think we would stay here again unless they got the water and lighting situated, but it's a great place if you're looking for a secluded, private beach condo. And you don't care about taking a hot shower

    February 2014
    Opal
    Response from Opal:

    You are incorrect in your categorization of our condo as a "foreclosed
    resort". Our condo is not a "foreclosed resort". The majority of our
    condominium owners' live abroad in U.S., U.K. and Europe. There are also
    many owners who live in the capital city of Kingston. Those native
    Jamaican owners use their condo as "country homes" and visit on the
    weekend. You didn't have the beach to yourself because the resort was
    closed, as you stated. You had the beach to yourself because many of the
    residents are simply not at the condo at any one time. That is one of the
    reasons that we purchased the condo - we value the privacy it offers. I
    also told you this before you rented our place. With many of its resident
    abroad, the condo does indeed "keep it green" and practice energy
    conservation. The common areas are in fact, well lit. The condo
    illuminates only those areas that are in use. If you were intrigued to
    visit a different floor and exited the elevator on a floor that was dark,
    it was simply because there were no residents staying on that floor at the
    time. Our buildings are so well serviced that we have 24 hour security at
    the front desk, on the beach and at the property's entrance. All of the
    security guards are always in touch with the building's administrators. If
    there is a problem at any hour, there is always someone there to address
    it. Our property is well maintained. I only wished that you contacted me
    about the lighting while you were there and the situation would have been
    easily remedied. At my condo, all one has to do is make a request! In
    addition, you were misinformed about the lack of hot water. The lack of
    hot water was not due to a conservation issue as you erroneously stated.
    The lack of hot water that you experienced was due to the fact that
    building is in the process of converting it's water system and my apartment
    has not yet been converted.

    I sincerely apologized for neglecting to tell you about the water
    situation. I stayed at our condo just a week prior to your arrival and I
    honestly overlooked that fact. The water was tepid and not very cold so it
    wasn't the most pressing thing on my mind. I was in the country attending
    a funeral and I was happy for the tranquility and the relaxation that my
    place afforded from a very traumatic family event and regrettably, I
    omitted this fact when I posted my listing. At present, the hot water is
    intermittent. The building's administration tells me that there will be
    guaranteed hot water by mid-summer. I will update my listing when that
    happens.

    February 2014
  • Absolutely one of my best vacations. This location is the type of place that you don't leave. It is a very well attended building. The staff are extremely friendly. The photos don't do justice to the experience of being here. Feels like having your private beach condo. Currently, its not packed with lots of people so its great for total relaxation. Opal is a gracious host and gave loads of helpful information prior to the trip. This may be a regular vacation spot for me.

    January 2013
Per Month
From
$98
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 133 times
Languages
English
About
I like to spend time with my family
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
3 days ago
Similar Listings