Beautiful Big Room In Leafy Suburb

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Lee St, Flemington, VIC 3031, Australia

The Space

Welcome To Flemington.....
I currently have a very large room available in my Victorian heritage house.The house consists of the guest room plus three other bedrooms (one occupied by a home-stay student), one (shared) bathroom and toilet separate from the bathroom. The large kitchen/dining/living area looks out onto a jungly back garden and there is a veranda at the back. There is also a washing machine available for guests to use.
Guests can expect a warm, friendly, relaxed environment and comfortable accommodation.

A breakfast basket is included with ingredients for you to prepare your own breakfast and contains organic muesli, Noisette bread, home-made jam and fresh fruit.

Free wi-fi and the use of a bike is available, along with a TV in your room.

Your accommodation is located in a quiet inner suburb only 5 kilometers from the CBD. The house is also close to public transport, cafes and shops and is a just a 12 minute train ride to the city.

We are close to the Melbourne Zoo, Royal Park, Melbourne University, Flemington Race Course and the Royal Melbourne Show-ground. Queen Victoria Market is a 15 minute tram ride away. Nearby North Melbourne and Kensington have trendy cafes and shops and Flemington has many good-value, popular Asian restaurants

I live with a friendly dog called Gypsy (who lives inside) and a shy cat called Jackson. NB- sadly my cat, Jackson has now gone to the great hunter in the sky.

Guest Access

Guests have access to the kitchen and dining area, bathroom, toilet and garden

Interaction with Guests

I like to chat with guests sometimes to hear about their home town/country and their travels.However I'm equally happy to just be in the back-ground in case guests need help with information etc.and to allow them to enjoy their visit to Melbourne independently.

The Neighborhood

My neighbourhood comprises quiet, tree-lined streets in an inner urban heritage area of Melbourne. Nearby and within walking distance are shops, cafes, a supermarket and many cheap restaurants - mainly Asian and Western.

Getting around

Within 5-8 minute's walk, depending which mode of travel you take, are 2 tram routes and a train into the CBD. Trains take about 8 - 10 minutes and trams about 15 minutes to the CBD.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Weekly Price: $336 /week
Monthly Price: $1346 /month
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We have had a great stay with Rosie and her lovely dog Gypsy. She has got a big nice house in a quiet area and a very big room with a comfi bed! We felt very welcomed at her house and would have loved to stay longer. She provided us breakfast with the best self-made jam we haver ever had! Easy access to city by tram or train. We were there for university and holiday. She even gave us a lift to uni one day! Also, her son just opened the first escaping room in Melbourne. Very nice to take a look at and try out. We highly recommend Rosie's place and will definately book again when back in Melbourne.

    April 2014
  • I loved the location of Rosies house. The room was very roomy and comfortable and Rosie is a very friendly host.

    February 2014
  • If you are looking at this trying to decide whether to book or not don't waste anymore time, just book it. I stayed with Rosie for a little over a week whilst sitting professional examinations and soon realised i had found myself a lovely bit of calm at a very busy and stressful time for me.

    The room is huge and well appointed, the bed comfortable and i had everything i needed. Breakfast, to my choice, was provided and ready for me every day including those when i made a very early start. Bathroom and toilet facilities are shared but this was never a problem during my stay here. Rosie kindly gave me access to her kitchen and i prepared a few meals on the occasions that i just wanted a quiet night in. The neighbourhood is very nice and quiet and the location was ideal for my needs. The nearest tram stop is less than 5 mins walk away and the tram system in Melbourne is fantastic, with frequent services throughout the city, and cheap in my opinion. Rosie was an excellent host. She was happy to chat with me, giving many helpful tips and recommendations, but was also happy to leave me to my own devices when i needed time to myself. As I said, i was in Melbourne to attend some exams and i am certain that having this as a base enabled me to relax far more than i would have done in a hotel or motel. The homely feel made this more like a week staying with friends than in a hotel and this was enhanced by the delightful company of Gypsy the dog and Jackson the cat, whose nature mirrors that of their owner in that they were a pleasure to spend time with.

    Over the years i have stayed in all sorts of hotels and B&Bs and have become increasingly disappointed by the experience, even when paying premium rates. Hence i chose Airbnb as an alternative to the usual hotel search engines. I will definitely be doing this again and when i visit Melbourne next i can assure you i will be booking in at Rosie's.

    December 2013
    Rosie
    Response from Rosie:

    Thanks Nick for your wonderful review. I'm glad you were happy and comfortable here and I really appreciate your very warm and complimentary comments. And I hope to see you again if and when you come to Melbourne!
    Hope your exam results were successful and you can carry out your plan to go to New Zealand.
    Cheers
    Rosie (and Gypsy and Jackson)

  • Rosie was a very gracious and helpful host. We very much enjoyed our stay with her. Our trip to Melbourne was very busy and having a place to come back to with tea, a hot shower, a beautiful backyard and the ever-friendly and excitable dog Gypsy was such a relief from the city. Rosie's egg and lettuce sandwiches and cakes were delicious, and she had a lot of knowledge to help us with getting around. It was more like staying with family than anything else. Thanks so much Rosie!

    October 2013
  • I had a lovely stay here during a recent trip to Melbourne. The location was a great contrast to previous stays in the CBD, in a quiet, leafy suburb with easy access to groceries, tram and train lines, and the Showgrounds.

    Rosie is a warm and gracious host, very relaxed and easy to talk to. A healthy breakfast was always ready each morning, her dog Gypsy is affectionate and docile (and adorable), and my room in the high-ceilinged heritage house was both spacious and cozy.
    I definitely recommend the host and the home, and will likely try to book again next time I travel to Melbourne!

    July 2013
    Rosie
    Response from Rosie:

    Thanks for the compliments,Robert.and I'm looking forward to welcoming you here next time.

  • I had a fantastic stay at Rosie's and would recommend it to anyone who prefers a more organic, real life feel to their (email hidden)e house is in a peaceful neighborhood within walking distance to the New Market train station, cafes, shops and restaurants.
    Rosie is great - very hospitable and provided amazing breakfasts complete with artisan bread, homemade preserves, and fresh squeezed orange juice. Definitely glad I chose to stay here!

    May 2013
  • I booked this stay for my Mum, who says: "Staying with Rosie was lovely. A very homey atmosphere, with a lovely garden, in a nice quiet street. Homemade marmalade, and real leaf tea! Rosie was very welcoming. My only regret is that I was too busy to enjoy the place more. I'd cheerfully stay there again. Did I mention the leaf tea?"

    April 2013
  • I stayed in Rosie's beautiful house for 1 week with my wife and 11 months old son, we all enjoyed this fantastic period as it really is a good place to stay in a unfamiliar city, or even country. Rosie and her son, Sam, are very kind, they are easygoing and pleasure to help and talk with us, this makes us feel like at home, I think this is the most important thing for travelers comparing to stay at hotels.
    The location is great, very close to the city but is very quiet except for the birds and wind, 1 train station and 2 tram stops are nearby, and the last one up to midnight.
    There're also delicious breakfirst, including fruits, jam, bread, and milk, I'm also allow to fell free to use the washing machine and any cook devices or flavoring. At last, Rosie prepared sandwiches for us when left there and give 2 lovely books to my son.
    Thanks, Rosie. By the way, this is also a good chance to practice my poor English as Rosie is very good at English teaching:)
    Rosie's house definitely is my first choice when I will come back Melbourne some day in future.

    April 2013
  • Rosie is welcoming, friendly and very helpful. We had such a quiet and cozy night's rest and a lovely breakfast with delicious jam! Rosie is a great host and her dog is sweet!

    March 2013
  • What can I add to the previous reviews? Definitely a must stay while in Melbourne! When I arrived she introduced me to the rest of the family like an old friend.I found very easy to chat with them and relaxing playing with Gipsy.The son introduced me to the lovely cat as well but unfortunately is too shy and it diseappaered quickly. Rosie allowed me to use the room till late evening and we talk a lot till my departure. If you are looking for a comfortable and very friendly place in Melbourne just book it. Be ready to miss Rosie and her huge heart! Thanks Rosie,we will keep in touch!

    March 2013
Per Month
From
$56
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 69 times
Languages
English
About
My name is Rosie. I'm from Melbourne, Australia. I'm a semi-retired English teacher and I'm interested in travel, meeting new people, animals, history and literature. I also enjoy cooking and trying recipes from other cultures.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
4 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings