COZY FLAT IN HISTORIC MADRID WF·AC

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Plaza Cascorro, Madrid, Community of Madrid 28005, Spain
Gabriel

Charming apartment in the historical center of Madrid, just in the "Plaza del Rastro" where the legendary flea market is.
Only 300 meters from the Plaza Mayor and very close to Sol, Royal Palace, Atocha station, museums, La Latina, etc.

Your host, Gabriel
56 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

Charming apartment in the historical center of Madrid, just in the "Plaza del Rastro" where the legendary flea market is.
Only 300 meters from the Plaza Mayor and very close to Sol, Royal Palace, Atocha station, museums, La Latina, etc.

The Space

Lovely apartment located in Madrid´s downtown historical neighborhood. It is right on Cascorro Square, where the Rastro legendary flee market is set every Sunday and holidays. The apartment is only a block away from La Latina metro station and from a Parking lot. It is well connected, close to several buses and metro lines.

The Plaza Mayor (Main Square) is only three blocks away, and most of the main city highlights such as Sol, Royal Palace, El Mercado de San Miguel, Almudena Cathedral, Atocha Train Station, Prado and Reina Sofia Museums and Vistillas neighborhood are within a short walking distance.

Nearby you will find many supermarkets, fruit shops, bars and restaurants and the traditional Mercado de la Cebada and Mercado de San Miguel.

La Latina is a historical and dynamic neighborhood. It is known by its bohemian artistic life and its wide variety of “tapas” restaurants and “pintxos” bars. It has a great atmosphere and it is very safe.

The apartment is very bright and cozy and it´s on the 5th floor. There is no elevator, but if my guests are carrying heavy luggage, I usually help them out. It´s a quiet place with wooden ceiling beams in view and many other natural wood pieces of furniture. You can also get a relaxing bath in the bathtub.

It has led TV 32", Wi Fi Internet, air conditioning and heating, a double bed (sheets and towels included), bed linen, double sofa-cama, washing machine, induction stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, cutlery, breakfast bar with stools, desk and closet.

- A set of sheets for every two people and a set of towels for each person are included (daily sheets replacement is not included).
-If you are looking for a pick up service from the airport ask me for advise
-If you want breakfast, an extra set of bedding, baby crib, Housekeeper, etc., let me know.

I will be happy to assist you with any question or concern and I´ll give you my advice and tips on the best options to eat and walk around Madrid (that does not always appear in tourist guides)

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $14 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: $140
Cleaning Fee: $25
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Die Wohnung ist klein und gemütlich genau wie es die Fotos von Gabriel zeigten. Sie liegt im Hinterhaus im Dachgeschoss. Wer kochen und frühstücken will findet alles vor. Ich kann aber das Café im Nebenhaus empfehlen.
    Gabriel hatte mit Tipps für die Anreise geschickt und eine Freundin erwartete mich Schon. Alles lief reibungslos. Wenn man Fragen hat, hilft es mit Rat und Tat.
    Danke.
    Bis zum nächsten Mal

    July 2014
  • Apartamento y anfitrión 100% recomendable. Ideal para una persona sola o una pareja. Con todas las comodidades y muy bien situado.

    June 2014
  • Great location. Plenty of stairs, make sure you take the correct staircase! Bed wasn't comfortable at all. Otherwise great little apartment, low ceilings for those over 5ft7. Hot water only lasted about 8mins.

    June 2014
  • Gorgeous flat, perfect size for a couple and awesome location perfectly placed for vibrant local area, central landmarks and the Rastro Sunday street market. All within easy walking distance. Got a good work out walking up 5 flights of stairs (no lift), so good luck if you have suitcases with you.

    Gabriel sent us an extensive list of local restaurants, sights and tapas bars ahead of our arrival in Madrid. Very nice touch. Highly recommended.

    June 2014
  • Extremely disappointing. Area felt unsafe. Flat very cramped. Service dire - felt unable to stay and left immediately to find other accommodation.
    We arrived on time. Texted Gabriel from the airport as arranged. He did not reply so we hoped he had got our text but were not sure. He had said previously that he or his friend would meet us at the flat. We got to the square which was strewn with litter. The buildings were covered in graffiti. Overall it is a scruffy area. We were met in the square by a Spanish woman who spoke no English but made it very clear that she had no time to show us the apartment. She wanted to hand over the keys to us and simply point to the door. We insisted she came in with us. There was a young woman sitting on the doorstep of the building smoking weed. We carried our suitcases up the 5 storeys (nb 5 storeys but 10 flights of narrow stairs). The narrow staircase got progressively dirtier as we got higher. The flat is extremely small and cramped. It is not enough to say 'cozy' - some dimensions should be given. It appears to be one room that has been partitioned off - there is no door dividing the bedroom from the living area.
    The Spanish woman finally got through to Gabriel and we were able to speak to him. He said he was unable to get to the flat until between 7.00 and 8.00 (ie 4 -5 hours from then). Our conversation was very pressured because all the time the woman was wanting to leave and pointing to her watch.
    I made a decision to leave the flat and look for other accommodation, which we did.
    We had chosen this flat on the basis of the location, which is very poor and feels unsafe. I think it would be suitable for a young backpacker but not for women travelling alone. The standard of accommodation is cramped and very basic. The service we got was awful.
    Overall I and my daughter were extremely dissatisfied.
    Sent from my iPad

    May 2014
    Gabriel
    Response from Gabriel:

    Hi Susan,
    I´m sorry you got a bad impression at my place. The way you tell it, it seems like a nightmare. I think your negative opinion is at least debatable next to the more than fifty evaluations that think the opposite.
    I don´t know if it was yourself the one who booked my apartment, but what seems pretty sure is that you didn´t check the information stated on the listing (even that the guests need to go up the stairs to the fifth floor –which by the way always requires ten flights of stairs). You didn´t seem to know the characteristics of the apartment you were renting. Next time you should at least check the pictures and amenities so you make sure the place meets your expectations.
    Everything you can see and read in my listing is accurate. Everyone can see verified pictures (taken by an AIRBNB photographer) with the details of the apartment, its distribution, and images of the street as it is.
    Just a couple of comments on your statements:
    - I did not answer to your SMS because we had agreed in advance on the meeting time at the apartment. You knew I would be checking on-line the actual time of your landing.
    - The meaning of “cozy” depends on each person. For me and the guests that wrote their comments it is a cozy place.
    - I think it´s a prejudice to say that the area seems insecure when you never actually stayed in the neighborhood. I don´t think you have seem any dangerous people in the area. And according to my Spanish friend´s version, the neighbor you saw at the doorstep was not smoking weed. Please, don´t make people think it´s a drug addict area, which it isn´t at all. It is safe as all of Madrid´s downtown. It´s 400 meters away from Plaza Mayor. Had you asked me, I could have told you this, and may be you wouldn´t have been that worried.
    - I do want to apologize for Susana´s rush. When you sent me your flight departure time, I mistook it for your arrival time. We went to welcome you three hours ahead. Once I realized the mistake, Susana went again and, although she was running out of time, she waited the time we needed to talk through the situation on the phone. Remember as well that I offered you to change my schedule to be free to meet with you at 6.30.
    - The last thing I want to let you know is that I made my best to try to solve your disappointment. I have been honest, transparent and meant to be helpful, but none of your concerns had a solution.

    May 2014
  • This apartment is very close to all the major attractions in Madrid, and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

    Gabriel is a friendly and helpful host he made us feel very welcome. He raced over as soon as he knew we needed a light bulb changed!

    We stayed 5 nights and the only thing that bothered us slightly was the noisy neighbours, but were so tired from exploring Madrid it was hardly a concern.

    May 2014
  • Great stay in an beautiful & cosy apartmant in the top floor of an Madrilean Building. To recomment - especially because of the perfect location within the city. Thank You!

    May 2014
  • Gabriel is a great host and was very nice throughout our entire stay.
    We took the ride from the airport option and it was very comfortable.

    The apartment is cosy and comfortable, it is located very close to all central attractions in Madrid. The internet worked fine and the kitchen was fully equipped with all the necessary appliances.

    Only problem were that the hot water have ran out after 7 minutes so it is not possible for two people to take a shower.
    The bed wasn't that comfortable for us and please take in mind that climbing up 5 floors is not as easy after a long day walking around Madrid.

    March 2014
  • It is a good apartment near the center and near Metro-Station La Latina. Distance to Plaza Mayor is about half kilometer. It is good for two persons. All is clean and in good conditions. All agreements were hold. But there is no elavator ...

    March 2014
  • Gabriel was a good anditrion but i've never seen him in person.

    March 2014
Per Month
From
$39
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 774 times
Languages
English, Español, Italiano
Work
por ejemplo: Airbnb / Apple / Taco Stand
About
Soy actor y trabajo en teatro, publicidad y televisión. También escribo y dirijo algunos de mis espectáculos. Además bailo tango. Valoro mucho la verdadera amistad y el sentido del humor. Disfruto conociendo gente nueva y agasajando a mis amigos. En mi tiempo libre me gusta salir a conocer sitios y probar comidas nuevas. ¡Madrid tiene una inmensa variedad de puntos de interés y restaurantes!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings