A Luxury Cabina in the Caribbean!

House - Entire home/apt · Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Limon, Costa Rica
Karinga
Your host, Karinga
13 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: a few days or more

The Space

We are a distinctive resort with affordable luxury Puerto Viejo cabinas, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Come enjoy our intimate ambiance with only five private accommodations set around a beautiful free form swimming pool, amid lush tropical gardens. For the cooler nights and sore muscles, relax in the pool side Jacuzzi. El Nido cabinas are beautifully constructed; detail rich craftsmanship cabinas built using the finest local, exotic woods.

El Nido cabinas have everything you need for complete comfort, including a King sized bed with luxurious, 300+ thread count sheets, a kitchen with eating bar, a TV and DVD player, and a sofa that can be converted to an extra bed. Each Puerto Viejo cabinas has a large private patio with hammock and reclining chairs, surrounded by local flora and fauna, and majestic jungle trees.

El Nido cabinas are located in Playa Chiquita, approximately 6 kilometers from the lively Caribbean town of Puerto Viejo. The beach at Playa Chiquita is beautiful, with gorgeous white sand and coral reefs. The extra chill, Playa Chiquita beach has several hip restaurants, small grocery stores and a massage studio.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 5
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Súper bien, la verdad es q Pablo es un excelente anfitrión, al igual q el chef.
    El lugar es muy bonito y tiene una muy buena ubicación.
    Recomendadisimo

    April 2014
  • Schöne, moderne, große Cabina. Der Gärten ist sehr schön angelegt und es gibt die unterschiedlichsten Pflanzen. Der Pool ist zwar klein aber immer schön kühl. Ein absoluter Hit bei unserem Aufenthalt. Die Vermieter sind super nett und sehr hilfsbereit. Sollten wir wieder nach Costa Rica kommen, dann sicher in diese Cabina. Lasst euch nicht von der fehlenden Klimaanlage abschrecken, es war trotz hoher Temperaturen immer schön kühl.

    April 2014
  • We had a lovely time staying at El Nido while we were in Puerto Viejo. Paolo and Vittoria were great hosts, and made us feel very comfortable for our stay in the area. They are genuinely nice people, and so it's weird to see comments like the negative reviewer's. We loved the three dogs (and the cat) that roamed the grounds - they were very friendly and low-key. Breakfast was simple and great every morning with a fresh fruit plate, fresh juice, eggs, toast and coffee. Location is perfect as you're right across from the grocery store as others have mentioned. Make sure you go inside to ask for bike rentals!

    We had some issues catching our bus out of the area on our last day in PV and Paolo helped us navigate other options so we could get back in San Jose for our flight the next day. He was very accommodating and made it so much easier for us.

    I'd highly recommend El Nido to anybody looking to travel in the PV area! It really is a luxury cabina for a great value, in a great location.

    February 2014
  • A great place to stay! Our cabina was a quiet oasis in a beautifully manicured jungle setting just a short bike ride away from the more touristy town of Puerto Viejo. Playa Chiquita beach is a few minutes walk down a path just down the road. It's a small, lightly populated beach perfect for a romantic getaway. In short, the cabina was super clean, the breakfasts were delicious, the hosts were friendly, the dogs were cute (and NOT stinky), the pool was wonderful, and the store across the street was fully stocked with everything we could ever want food and alcohol-wise (note that it is not open on Sunday however). I'd recommend it to anyone interested in staying on the Caribbean coast!

    February 2014
  • Beautiful surroundings and great hospitality made a relaxing holiday. Although there are kitchen facilities, the availability of good restaurants and the breakfast served, it's not a necessary task.

    February 2014
  • There are many great places in puerto Viejo. this is not one of them. The grounds are very nice, and the cabinas secure, clean, cool and comfortable. The pool was nice but the jacuzzi didn't work and was cold. The service was very disappointing. The description indicates nothing about additional charges, but last minute before we arrived the host insisted we pay an additional $15 per person. The host was rude, and greeted us with dogs that smelled terribly. My friends and I got separated at night, and the host insisted they only had one set of keys. We were locked out, and the host told us to wait until the morning to be let in. Not impressive when paying $150+ for supposedly luxury accommodations. Several times during our stay I called and knocked on the door during posted hours and the host ignored us. Breakfast was poor. Fruit not even fresh, had to ask repeatedly for coffee. The redeeming factors are the sweet housekeeper and groundskeeper.

    January 2014
    Karinga
    Response from Karinga:

    nothing went the way Julia pictures it.
    we had agreed with her on the extra charge before arrival, she applied for 2 pax, then 4 and then 5 showed up. Anyway we never charged any extra in the end. At arrival they were told there is only one set of keys avaliable but still Julia called us in the middle of the night waking up other guests demanding other sets of keys. SHE wAS NOT LOCKED OUT, she as on her way out again. Our breakfast consists in fresh tropical fruit juice, a plate of FRESH tropical fruit cut up in the morning, coffee or tea, eggs (fried, scrambled, omelette, hard boiled...) toast from a local baker who delivers every morning, french toast if you want.

    January 2014
  • Paolo and Vittoria are very good hosts, very helpful. The cabina's are in the jungle not far from the sea, very quiet and relaxing. The pool was nice and the breakfeast delicious. We really loved our week with them.

    January 2014
  • Beautiful cabinas in a great location in the jungle. Don't expect much sleep between the howling monkeys, the dogs and the guests babies in our 'family friendly place' though.
    There are only open windows with fly screens so being in the tropics means things can remain slightly damp throughout your stay.
    Paolo and Vittoria are lovely and can help you with any problems, they cook a mean breakfast and dinner too, I highly recommend the homemade pasta and fresh fish. There are a few restaurants and tours surrounding the area but the town with cheap meals is a $15 taxi fare away or 40 minute walk. Make sure you have enough money for your stay because getting cash out at the banks can be a pain and most places don't accept cards.
    Worth the 5 hour drive from the airport (kinda)...

    December 2013
  • Beautiful resort, wildlife everywhere. Rooms were clean, hosts were very helpful and informative. Will return next time we are in the area.

    December 2013
  • Staying at El Nido cabinas was such a pleasure. The cabinas were beautiful and spacious with a full kitchen to use, and the garden was so nicely taken care of, it felt as if you were living in the jungle. Paulo and Victoria were wonderful hosts, helping us book tours, taxis, a shuttle to the airport, and providing a delicious breakfast every morning. We extended our stay an extra night because we were having such a wonderful time. Playa Chiquita is a convenient area to stay in, it is in the middle of the 5 main cities along the coast- just a quick bike ride to each! I would highly recommend staying here!

    September 2013
Per Month
From
$140
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 149 times
About
We look forward to making your stay wonderful and unforgettable. Please let us know of any special requests you would like us to fulfill, we are here to delight.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
5 months ago
Similar Listings