BnB in Large Downtown Artist Loft

Loft - Entire home/apt · Long Beach Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90021, United States
Mayumi
Your host, Mayumi
84 Reviews
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

This building was converted to artist lofts from an industrial building in early 80's when there was a sensational art movement in downtown LA. Most of tenants are artists of all kinds and they are very creative and friendly.
My Loft is very spacious(1700 square foot ) with high ceiling and a bedroom area is sectioned by furniture with antique hard floor by the widows. Spacious kitchen area with fire place, large bathtub with hard wood floor. There are large tables and computers for fashion studio, It has a plenty of natural light through big windows.
Entire Loft on weekends for $100.00/day for a person, $125/day for a couple, coming with fruits, nuts,cereal, coffee/tea, milk and many more. An assigned parking space is inside gated area just next to the building for free.
Jacuzzi and heated swimming pool in the artistic center court yard with BBQ pits.
LA Live, Bunker Hill, Fashion District, Theater District, many more artsy places and nice restaurants are within 10 minute driving ( 1 to 2 miles away). Very close to Free way #10,#5, and #110, and Washington train station. Will offer a ride from Washington Train Station , Union Train Station, and any metro station located in downtown LA for check in and check out.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $25 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $100
Cleaning Fee: $35
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Its a great and spacious loft. Clean and comfortable. I couldn't meet my host personally but she sent me the keys, it was really helpful before I started my trip along California.
    The place has a beautiful pool too.

    July 2014
    Mayumi
    Response from Mayumi:

    I'm sorry to hear that. I have never received any complaints about my bed.
    Hard one will be better for you, I am a small person, I never felt that way.
    Thank you for your advice.

    July 2014
  • Great, convenient, friendly, hip and clean

    June 2014
  • Mayumi (email hidden) and the loft was huge and spacious with private secure parking also available. Mayumi also dropped me off at the convention center when I was running late and offered to drive me to the train station when I left (which I didn't need in the end).

    Look forward to staying again in the future!

    June 2014
  • Mayumi (email hidden). Upon arriving via train at Union Station she offered to pick me up. The apartment was spacious albeit a little cluttered (which is to be expected in an artist's live/work space).
    I didn't rent a car at first, but decided I needed one. The loft is in a kind of remote area and while downtown L.A. has definitely gotten plenty of things to do over the past decade they are still mostly 20 minutes or more by foot from Mayumi's place.

    June 2014
  • Very accommodating host. Picked me up from the local station.
    Property description accurate in listing.
    Great stay

    April 2014
  • We absolutely loved our stay at Mayumi's amazing loft. From the very beginning, Mayumi was very communicative, easy to work with and extremely generous, offering rides to the train station, helping us settle in and even offering us lunch! Her place is spacious, clean and a true, fun artist loft. The building is quiet, has a gorgeous pool and hot tub and amazing views of the city. She's a convenient walk to the Arts District and everywhere is pretty accessible by bike. We loved hopping on our bike and getting to enjoy a different part of Downtown every night.

    April 2014
  • A perfect stay here! The space is huge with tons of table space for getting work done or having a dinner party, bright, cozy, artsy. I used the space for a 3 day brainstorming session for my creative work and it provided the best atmosphere possible. Hung out by the pool/jacuzzi at night and made some friends with others who live in the building.

    Mayumi (email hidden), polite, friendly, and even left some snacks for me which got me through my mornings while working. It was very easy communicate with her and she will make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

    I'd definitely recommend this loft to anyone would like to try a real downtown LA experience!

    Thank you again Mayumi!

    March 2014
  • We had a wonderful stay! Mayumi was very sweet and went out of her way to accommodate us - she even helped us with our luggage. I noticed an earlier review implied that the host was not honest. I disagree with the earlier review - Mayumi was honest, very thoughtful (had fresh fruit, tea, and coffee for us), (email hidden)e space is a wonderful mix of a working studio and a spacious loft. The loft was so big that our baby slept wonderfully on one side of the loft (in a portable crib we brought) while we had dinner with a couple of friends in the kitchen area. The space is on the third floor, so you'll be going up/down stairs (or using the lift, which is industrial, so no call button), but the place is worth it! We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

    February 2014
  • Mayumi certainly makes you feel taken care of at her loft. For starters, my flight was delayed four hours and she waited for me in order to personally give me the keys and show me around. She was very accommodating and I was very comfortable there. It'(email hidden) and it was easy access to the Fashion District, Art District, Little Tokyo and downtown. She (email hidden)!

    February 2014
  • Beware of this rental if you like to be in a place that is reasonably clean and if you expect an honest, responsive host.

    Mayumi was working in the space when I arrived at the agreed time and the place was messy and very dirty. I had to leave for a few hours while she was supposed to clean up and clear out. When I returned, the dirty dishes were gone and the place was straightened up a bit but the floors had not been swept and the bathroom still looked like it hadn't been cleaned for months. There was mold inside the toilet and rivulets of dried urine on the outside. The sink counter was caked with scum and there was all kinds of hair. There were also several science projects in the fridg. When I tried to speak with Mayumi about this, she made claims that did not add up and changed the subject.

    Finally, if you cannot walk up stairs, you should know that the elevator is an option only if it happens to be stopped on your floor; there is no call button.

    February 2014
    Mayumi
    Response from Mayumi:

    This lady changed the check in time 4 hours earlier on the arrival day.
    I had my work schedule impossible to change at last minute so basically I was running late. She did not go out because of me she had a dinner event with someone and that was the reason why she decided to come early which was no problem, after her arrival I stayed there for another hour to get out.
    If my place was that dirty and I was dishonest I would have not received so many nice reviews. I enjoy my guests coming from all over the world exchanging interesting conversations. However, be ause everything was so rush I accept I might have left some spots to clean. I will take more time to check if the place is clean throughly before I leave.

    February 2014
Per Month
From
$100
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 452 times
Languages
日本語
Work
Fashion Services and Designing
About
Love traveling and cultural adventures. Warm, and very friendly. I can point you in the right direction for your adventures in LA!
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
3 days ago
Similar Listings