A Walk to the French Quarter 1

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Mandeville St, New Orleans, LA 70117, United States

The Space

5- day min over Mardi Gras!
7-day min during Jazzfest!

Nestled between two local independent coffee shops near Royal Street in the avant-garde neighborhood of the Faubourg Marigny, you'll drift past the delightful scent of night-blooming jasmine across the façade of this colorful historic camelback shotgun double, and head through the gate to the unusually large backyard. Enter this funky one bedroom duplex set back from the street to be surrounded by a garden of tropical plants. This sunny, airy, delightfully-furnished one bedroom apartment is budget priced, yet boasts a full kitchen, bathroom, and comfortable queen size bed with a private balcony overlooking a bamboo garden. You will have a short stroll to all the major cultural, musical, visual, culinary, and aesthetic venues around Frenchman Street (3 1/2 blocks), the French Market (4 blocks), and the French Quarter (5 1/2 blocks). Municipal bus service is offered a half a block away to cheaply and ecologically reach the Garden District, Uptown, Lakefront, and other parts of the city. Or catch the streetcar which begins at the French Market and follows the riverfront. For those traveling by car, off-street parking is available. Wireless internet service and digital flat screen cable TV included. Special rates offered for extended stays. Due to our large garden our accommodations are not for those who are highly allergic or seeking a sanitized experience. For the rest of you we hope you consider us for your travel needs and have a great time in New Orleans!

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $20 / night after 3 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $100
Cleaning Fee: $40
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Great place, fun neighborhood and easy to walk to everything.

    Krekelville was the perfect place for our Wrestlemania weekend.

    April 2014
  • Perfectly adequate for our stay. We are two adults, two young kids. The loft bed in the bedroom was perfect for the kids to share. The kitchen was sparse, fortunately we didn't use it at all with all the po boys we ate on this trip. The building is old, nothing new and shiny about it, no frills, but that was just fine for a close-in affordable place to stay. Great coffee nearby at Orange Couch.

    April 2014
  • Our stay here was enjoyable. The space was perfect for our needs. Watch out for those stairs whether sober or not! That being said Krekel was a very accommodating host. He was calling me at my designated time of arrival to coordinate with me.. Walkability was amazing! Great parks, cafes and music are just a stones throw away. Krekel was very kind and understanding, We recommend staying here.

    March 2014
  • This house has all you need for a stay in NOLA and is walking distance to all the fun!

    March 2014
  • Stayed in a unit at the back of the building. A little trouble getting in but Krekel was available by phone to help us get in. A nice walk to Frenchman Street and the French Quarter. Fun and quirky New Orleans neighborhood. Great little coffee house at the corner.

    March 2014
  • While the location was great as far as walking proximity to major attractions, the apartment needed some improvements. Also, if you have some mobility problems, climbing up steep stairs to the bedroom might present a challenge. The bathroom is on the ground level and getting up at night to use it might present a challenge.

    March 2014
  • The rating is solely for the location(fantastic) and the professionalism of Krekel. We stayed in the unit in back. Although I was not expecting to stay in a 5 star hotel, I was expecting the cleanliness to be better than mediocre. The ceiling fans and walls were covered with visible, thick dust. The bathroom had hair all over and the bathroom rug was soiled. The toilet fastener was broken so the toilet seat would not stay on the toilet. I had(female) to use the hover method. I am very surprised by the other comments because I couldn't be the only one who had this experience. It simply wasn't a great first experience with renting, as I want to be comfortable in a clean environment.

    March 2014
    Krekel
    Response from Krekel:

    Kyle W. Sorry you did not like the apartment. We have make a strong effort to keep our place clean and we know it is no 5 star place. There was no evidence of hair or soiled bath rug or dust on the fans. I was unaware of the toilet seat being broken until you called me. We had the seat fixed while you were there.

  • Krekel's place was nice and cozy. The neighborhood is a great place stay in New Orleans. Check in was smooth and he had great communication. The kitchen as well supplied and we were happy with our stay! Would recommend!

    March 2014
  • The house was great and in a great neighborhood. It was a quick walk to the French Quarter, and we had a blast!

    February 2014
  • Krekel's apartment comes highly recommended. Big backyard, hangout space and a patio off of the upstairs bedroom. Location was perfect for us, I'm tired of staying in the Quarter, but still want it to be close. Marigny and the Bywater are where it's at if you want a more local scene. Live music until 4am every night is only two blocks away on Frenchmen Street. Never met Krekel, but he kept in constant contact via text and was kind enough to turn on the heater before we arrived. Great location, great price, perfect for 2-3 people.

    February 2014
Per Month
From
$99
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 678 times
About
I am born and raised in this magical city, so I have a wealth of experience to share with visitors. I am very active working and doing sports, plus my kids keep me going constantly (not to worry - they all live off the premises). I also enjoy traveling when I get time, as I continue my career in local law enforcement for the past 15 years.
View full profile
Response Rate
92%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
yesterday

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings