LUXURY MillionDollarView from $79!

Villa - Entire home/apt · Jalan Lod Tunduh, Ubud, Bali 80571, Indonesia

Villa Jiwa is but 4 minutes from downtown Ubud yet peaceful & quiet, with one of the best views in Bali. Perfect for two & with Harmony's gorgeous 15m pool right on the rice fields, it's tropical living at it finest-"Heaven at an Earthly Price!"

Your host, Michael
28 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

Villa Jiwa is but 4 minutes from downtown Ubud yet peaceful & quiet, with one of the best views in Bali. Perfect for two & with Harmony's gorgeous 15m pool right on the rice fields, it's tropical living at it finest-"Heaven at an Earthly Price!"

The Space


With one of the best views in Ubud, Luxury Villa Jiwa is a gorgeous one bedroom mini-villa hideaway for up to two people with en-suite garden bathroom and refreshment facilities (no full kitchen). The villa has a spacious bedroom with a canopied oversized queen bed and rich wooden decor leading to a lovely garden bathroom of terrazzo and granite featuring a rain shower. Located with a stunning view to the west and surrounded by gardens on both side it's steps away from the pool.

Villa Jiwa includes a private sitting/lounging area and deck. One of the favorites of our guests is to awaken before dawn and watch the early light lift the mist over the ocean of rice and experience a Bali Sunrise right from your private deck with coffee in hand. It's an experience like no other in Bali. Stay long enough and you'll experience the whole cycle of rice cultivation from planting to harvesting and the local religious festivals celebrating Bali's unique cultural heritage.

Villa Jiwa is your own private world yet steps away from Harmony's 15 meter infinity pool through Harmony's lush landscaping. The Harmony pool is situated on the very edge of the bluff overlooking the rice and has a shallow end seating area for relaxing after you've done your laps! It's central to all the Harmony villas yet large enough for privacy. We don't have pool hours so feel free to take a moonlight swim at 3 am!

Villa Jiwa is located on the edge of a huge rice paddy in the village of Lodtunduh, about 2 km from Ubud and not far from the Monkey Forest and all the world class shopping on Hanuman Street and the cultural activities and restaurants in Ubud. We are very centrally located for all of Bali's sights and activities. Sanur beach is close (about 12 miles) and Seminyak. Kuta and Legian are easy drives for a whole day out with a different vibe. Or you can go up the hill to Kintamani and the hot springs at Lake Batur in an hour or so. Temples abound everywhere - from Besakih, the "Mother Temple" to Tanah Lot on the ocean (two of the most famous and holy) and we can organize tours to anywhere on the island and to Lombok too....

It's slightly cooler in the Ubud area than the beach. A/C is not needed at Harmony due to our location right on the edge of the rice fields. We almost always get a breeze and Jiwa has a powerful overhead fan and a high ceiling to keep the air flowing. You'll find our design for indoor/outdoor living works for your comfort.

Your villa stay includes tea and coffee service, free wifi, a laptop sized safe, towels, TV for watching DVDs, parking, laundry (by arrangement), daily staff service, a yoga deck, sun loungers and the priceless ambiance of the Harmony lifestyle.

Please note that although we love children and welcome them Harmony is not designed to be a child safe property. If you do book with kids you'll need to be totally responsible for them at all times.

The Villa is available for daily rental (2 night minimum please) or longer. Please ask us for rates for longer term stays (over 10 days) We do not have a set check in or out time to meet your needs if you are coming from outside of Bali. We can arrange airport pickup and drop off for you for a reasonable charge. *** Please also note we must collect a 10% Indonesian government hotel tax payable upon check in.

We can also arrange the following services:

• Yoga classes
• Massage
• Private chef cooked breakfast and dinners (by prior arrangement)
• Car rental
• Car and driver
• Scooter rental
• Bike rental
• Laundry service (Extra charge)
• Tours can be arranged
• Airport pickup and delivery (Extra charge)

IMPORTANT.... If Jiwa is booked for your required dates ask us about the 4 other villas at Harmony on AIRBNB

For detailed descriptions, photos and calendar of availability EITHER click on the Airbnb link below each villa name below OR go to the photo near the top left of this page and click on my name (MICHAEL in big blue letters) under it, scroll down the next page to see all our Villa listings on the left.

Villa Budi - Luxury 2 bedroom sleeps 4

Villa Sungai - Luxury 2 bedroom sleeps 4

Villa Jantung - Luxury 1 bedroom sleeps 2

Villa Asmara - Luxury 1 bedroom sleeps 2

Villa Jiwa - Luxury 1 bedroom sleeps 2

Daily rates for all our villas start from $89 to $175 (US$) per night, with discounts depending on length of stay. Please note there is a high season surcharge of 15-25% for July/August, Christmas, Easter and Chinese New Year periods.

Guest Access

Guests can use all the facilities at Harmony. The infinity pool on the edge of the ricefields is very large and shared with the other villas but always feels private. All our villas are private and Jiwa has its very own lounging deck and private garden.

Interaction with Guests

I'm not always in Bali but our staff will look after you hand and foot. If I'm there I'm always available to give you tips and pointers on the best way to maximize your stay in Ubud and Bali.

The Neighborhood

Our village is still mostly agricultural and its a fascinating place to experience real Bali village life which can't be found in touristy areas such as Kuta or Seminyak. That's the lovely thing about our area of Lodtunduh village.

You'll likely encounter ceremonies, celebrations, weddings, a cremation perhaps (a big event in Bali) , the local temple festivals. but most of all you'll see (depending on when you visit) the fascinating cycle of rice farming from preparing the fields, planting seedlings, thinning out the new rice, watching the ducks do their amazing dances, to harvesting, threshing and drying. You'll see the village men parade their fowl and perhaps experience a cockfight – although you may not approve, it’s very much a part of village culture. If you want you can wager and maybe win!

Getting around

There's a taxi service right in our village to take you to and from the airport (about $30) and into town (about $5) a few minutes away and we can also rent you scooters (and helmets!) for about $6 per day. There's parking at the villa. Please note although the airport is only about 20 miles away it can take about an hour and a half. The roads are small and there's a lot of traffic in Bali!

Other Things to Note

A note on Internet. Bali is improving rapidly in this area and while we have hi speed internet and it is generally good, the service hasn't been 100% reliable in the Ubud area with occasional outages. As of May 2014 we will have a fiberoptic connection which will improve the service to western standards, we are told by Telkom, the government provider.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $560 /week
Monthly Price: $1530 /month
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • Michael was extremely responsive with all my requests, always replying within 24 hours.

    We stayed at Villa Jiwa as a couple. The villa itself is beautiful and very well-kept. For future visitors, Bali Villa harmony is a residence of 4 or 5 separate villas with one shared pool. I was initially a little surprised that the villas were so close together, however most of the guests who come here tend to keep to themselves and we had a lot of privacy to ourselves. And although the pool is shared, it felt like a private pool.

    We visited in June (which is winter for Bali), and really did not need air-conditioning. I actually found the weather slightly chilly at night, and needed a cardigan! We also did not have any trouble with mosquitos, although there were a lot of other small bugs around. (Again, not sure if this applies for Bali-summer).

    The staff are lovely and very helpful. Breakfast is not included but for 5 USD /person you can ask the staff to cook breakfast for you, which we did every day. It comes with a cooked meal + fresh fruits and coffee/tea. We highly recommend the banana pancakes and omelette!

    The surrounding area is extremely peaceful and we are glad we chose to be outside of Ubud centre, which we found a little hectic. At night, we would watch the stars by the pool while listening to the ducks in the rice field. Overall, I would recommend Bali Harmony Villas for couples who want a private, relaxing vacation.

    June 2014
  • Nice place, very quiet and private. Really luxury.

    June 2014
  • The villa was beautiful and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We also had lovely interactions with the other guests staying at Harmony.

    June 2014
    Response from Michael:

    Thank you so much Megan. We are so thrilled you had a wonderful time and experienced our beautiful Harmony retreat. We would warmly welcome you back at any time. Many thanks from all the Harmony staff!

    June 2014
  • Had a wonderful time in harmony vila, we are sooo relax staying here,the rice field view and swimming pool is fantastic, and it's even better than the photos,the team is very organized and when you arrived everything you need to know about ubud like where to eat,buy,spa etc are prepared ,,the staff are super friendly and helpful, they even help me arranging the forgotten stuff back to my country, thank you so much Michael Elaine and ibu Wayan we had a great time here!

    June 2014
  • Excellent villa if you seek for tranquility. The serenity of paddy field is speechless. I am most certainly going to visit this villa again.

    The only problem is food. There is no eatery at walking distance. Be prepared to drive or rent a motorbike.

    June 2014
  • [Posting on behalf of daughter Victoria and partner Stuart]: We had an unbelievably perfect time staying at Villa Jiwa with Harmony Villas.

    The atmosphere at Harmony is one of perfect, secluded, quiet luxury. You are surrounded by lush rice paddies, you can see small-holdings nearby, but there is no noise except for the cicadas and the frogs. Our villa was exquisite, and kept impeccably clean. We had an efficient fan, and never felt the need for air con. The infinity pool is delicious, and we have both decided that hanging off the edge of it, gazing over the rice paddies between the palm trees is our favourite spot on the planet.

    Trixie, the little dog who lives on site, is a sweetie. She checks you out from afar, comes to say hi, and can quickly tell if you are dog people or not. We saw her leave other guests alone, but she visited us most days to get a quick stroke :)

    The staff are exceptionally attentive, we had a good hot meal ready for us when we arrived and settled into our villa quite late in the evening, and a beautiful breakfast prepared the next day. As others have pointed out, Villa Jiwa does not (currently) have self catering facilities, so you need to make use of the drivers and get into Ubud for meals. However, there is a fridge, so we kept bits and pieces for breakfast and lunch bought from Coco supermarket in Ubud, which is very well stocked - I was even able to find decaff Earl Grey teabags :) Our driver, who called himself Putu ("first born") but is actually called Nyakan, was wonderful. Very reasonable rates, and a fantastic tour-guide with amazing English.

    We absolutely loved our time at Harmony and fully intend to come back; it's the perfect retreat, and we spent a perfect week there. Thank you!

    May 2014
    Response from Michael:

    Thank you so much Victoria and Stuart. We are so delighted you had such a great time and truely experienced all that Harmony has to offer - beauty, tranquility, serenity and of course, the best views in Ubud! It really was our pleasure to have you and share with you the spirit of Harmony. We would welcome you back at any time. Many thanks from all the Harmony staff!

    May 2014
  • Really enjoyed the stay at Villa Jiwa. The villa was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to assist. The pool overlooking the rice field is as described and was wonderful. The location was outside Ubud which was great because it was away from the hustle, but only a 15min walk or a 5 min trip into town should it be required. Taxi pickup was provided as requested and so too a hot meal on arrival late at night. Really appreciated.

    The house dog Trixie was a real sweetie and was great company. Communication with Michael and the villa staff was prompt, efficient and courteous.

    No kitchen was provided at Villa Jiwa, this wasn't specifically mentioned in the description. Food delivery from a chef in the local village is provided at a small cost, but she comes after 8:30am for breakfast which didn't suit us. Also, the Villa complex has no power converters and the TV didn't receive any channels.

    But those things are minor. We thought the Villas were beautiful, we're left with fond memories of our stay. We really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to come back again.

    April 2014
    Response from Michael:

    Peter, thanks for your review, much appreciated. As it happens we are planning to put a full kitchen in Villa Jiwa for self catering, not just the refreshment area mentioned in the listing. Hopefully will be done in time for your next trip.

    I assume by power converter you mean plugs for Indonesian sockets to take USA or Australia appliances. They are in each villa, perhaps it was in a plug socket not readily apparent. We have plenty for all the villas ... I will make sure staff point them out to guests. We actually don't have TV service, only a DVD player for the TV for watching movies and apologies for not making that clear.

    April 2014
  • Villa Jiwa is set in a beautiful rice paddy, with a nice common area and clean rooms.
    However, Harmony fell short in 3 critical areas for us:

    - Late hours no one was around who spoke English.
    - The owner was travelling and no one else was able to help us with some of our needs. This would not have been an issue at a hotel.

    Guest services:
    - The Car hire that Harmony arranged gave us a driver who charged double what we were told to expect and took us to a friend's business to start our journey under the guise of miscommunication.
    - One night we did not receive fresh towels (*though we were able to receive these when we requested.)
    - No air conditioning and breakfast not included.

    - I have tried to lay out the issues (all of which were minor) and recognize that this comes across as ticky tacky. At the end of the day, I would have enjoyed Harmony more if I hadn't felt it was such a poor value. Harmony competes with 3 and 4 star hotels in Ubud but the service didn't meet that level. Only the price. If my friends or family asked me to recommend I would tell them to look elsewhere.

    April 2014
    Response from Michael:

    Jon, thanks for your comments... I have to answer some specifics.
    Harmony is NOT a hotel, its a group of private villas and the experience is different than a hotel. We do not compete with hotels directly. We don't provide all the services of a hotel, but we provide something you cant get at a hotel - the priceless experience of being in your own private villa in stunning surroundings without the rules or formality of a hotel.

    We do provide towel service on request but we don't change daily unless asked - it's a guest preference issue.

    Villa Jiwa doesn't include breakfast - that's clearly stated in our listing

    The villas are not air-conditioned, that's also clearly stated in the listing.

    Our security staff (night time) have some English- enough for basic issues, like ordering food or dealing with a problem so we aren't sure what the issue is here. Plus the villa manager is always available by phone if needed, if not on site.

    The problem with the driver: As we explained we are required by our village to offer the Lodtunduh village taxi service although guests are free to choose their own. We haven't had previous complaints about any of the drivers so I had a meeting with the head of the village services. This was his reply - 1) You booked a tour from 9-6pm but requested the driver take you to Ubud for dinner and he was employed till 10 pm. We were told he had informed you of the extra time/distance charge.

    2) You asked about the price of another trip to Amed but were quoted more than another service you found yourself. I was told you had asked for an extended trip with extra driver time which was the reason for the higher quote.

    3) We could not get any information about the driver taking you to his friends business so we have no way to comment. This sounds like a communication issue and we have asked the taxi service to more clearly communicate with guests to avoid future misunderstandings.

    Again, the village service is provided as a convenience to all guests and to support our local community but they are free to make their own arrangements if not satisfied.

    I get the impression you would have been happier at a hotel rather than a private villa but we do appreciate the comments and your stay and hope you had a good time in Bali overall.

    April 2014
  • The perfect place to stay:)
    The most fantastic villa, view and service. The staff were very helpful with everything.

    April 2014
    Response from Michael:

    Lisa, Thanks so much for sending us such a great review! We are so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed beautiful Harmony. It was our pleasure to have you and we would welcome you back any time. Please feel free to post your review onto our (website hidden) page if you can.
    Many thanks,
    Elaine Reservations manager

    April 2014
  • My weekend at the Ubud Villa was top notch! Overlooking an incredible rice field, and only about 25 minutes walking from Ubud, the villa was the perfect weekend escape. The staff is tops, the view is even better, and the peace you'll achieve from stepping on site is unmatched. Would absolutely recommend to friends!

    April 2014
    Response from Michael:

    Thanks so much for sending us such a great review! We are so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed beautiful Harmony. It was our pleasure to have you and we would welcome you back any time. Please feel free to post your review onto our (website hidden) page if you can.
    Many thanks,
    Reservations manager

    April 2014
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 711 times
English, Français
Ubud/Los Angeles
I'm an educational filmmaker born in the UK, spent many years in Los Angeles, have an organic farm (still going) in Southern California and now travel a lot with bases in beautiful Bali.and equally beautiful Ojai, California. I've created Harmony Villas with my Balinese friend Wayan Nama in a modern tropical minimalist style to reflect our joint passions - connection with the land, no clutter, beauty and a wonderful environment. I'm equally passionate about providing a superlative experience for Harmony guests so they can have an authentic Bali vacation and truly relax.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
Similar Listings