Kitchen area with all necessities - it's only the oven that doesn't work yet, but there's a microwave, gas cook top, kettle + Nespresso machine
User Profile Image

Hip Central CBD 1br Apt w/roof pool

AustraliaVictoriaMelbourne
Entire home/apt
3 Guests
1 Bedroom
2 Beds
Per Night
616 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A light filled minimalist one bedroom apmt. Located in the 'Paris' end of the CBD nestled on Lonsdale St backing on to China Town. Our rooftop pool is always heated and has gorgeous views across the city. Fits 3 guests. Minor renovations in progress.

Hip Central CBD 1br Apt w/roof pool

The Space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $15 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $12
Security Deposit: $308
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Strict

Description

The Space

Gorgeous little apartment on Lonsdale Street, currently being renovated by myself and my architect husband. We rent out to guests when we are travelling or working away or sometimes house sit for family for longer periods. This apartment is our home - it is very convenient, with all the comforts that you need. It's 48 sqm, with a small balcony, and roof top pool (heated so you can even use it in winter!) and a master bedroom.

The location doesn't get better - with the city centre at your doorstep, including convenient trains, buses, trams, Chinatown and endless shopping. The Skybus from the airport will deliver you straight to the doorstep via it's free shuttle bus.

If you're in town as an explorer, you can walk to all the central hotspots from our place, including neighbouring areas such as super hip Fitzroy (Brunswick and Gertrude Streets), or Federation Square and Southbank on the Yarra River for a real 'tourist' experience. RMIT and Melbourne Universities are walking distance as well (or a tram if you're not into walking!).

There is a real queen size double bed, plus a single mattress available for the lounge room which is ok for sleeping if you are travelling with an extra person. Be aware there is only one bathroom to be shared which can only be accessed through the main bedroom.

WiFi included
Air Conditioning & Heating
Laundry (Washer $4 & Dryer $3) - Communal
Size: 48sqm (517sq. feet)
Rooftop pool

Please be aware that we are doing minor renovations at the moment. The apartment is still very comfortable & liveable, but it's not fully 'polished' yet. The kitchen still functions - it's just a hassle to get the extraction going if you want to cook with smoke. The oven, microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge are all set up though. So please send us any questions you have about it's current state. We also can't guarantee the level of festivity in the city. Being in the heart of the CBD you will hear some street noise and of course this is heightened on weekends and during the festive periods (the best time to be in the city!). It is not a problem for us, but we have had guests mention street noise before so please keep that in mind.

Let us know if there is something we can help with. We can help you with travel questions regarding Melbourne as we've lived here for 8 years and love it to bits. I can even give tips for Tasmania if you're heading down there during your travels as it's where I grew up.

Any questions? Please just message me :)

We hope you enjoy your stay!

Guest Access

Guests have full privacy in this one bedroom apartment with a spacious bedroom, lounge area, small balcony, bathroom and basic kitchen area. The lounge room is minimal with a couch and city view - that means no TV but fast/free wifi compensates for that. Close to the apartment is a shared laundry and on the rooftop is a shared pool.

Interaction with Guests

I will meet guests upon check-in if I'm available, but typically will leave keys in a coded key-safe outside the building - some guests have described this as an urban treasure hunt! This means the guests can turn up without worrying about being late. I usually stay nearby so if any problems were to arise I'm not far away. I like to give my guests space and privacy - but also like them to know I'm always available by phone for any help needed.

Getting Around

Our front entrance is on Lonsdale st, and the back entrance is Little Bourke st (China Town). We are SO central, we are within the free tram zone in the city. We are also within the city loop of trains so you can walk to Melbourne Central or Parliament station. There are also buses on our doorstep.. and the Skybus free shuttle can drop you to the hotel next door for airport transfers. Couldn't get any more accessible.

Other Things to Note

We have boycotted the iron and ironing board! We provide a garment steamer which is so much faster and easier to use in our opinion.

+ More

House Rules
Check-in is after 2PM

Please respect our neighbours - no loud noise from 9pm preferrably, strictly no loud noise after 10pm. No smoking inside. No smokey cooking inside . There are sensitive smoke detectors in the hallway which attract a $3,000 from the Melbourne Fire Brigade as they are automatically alerted if the smoke alarms are set off (we have experienced this!).

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

Kitchen area with all necessities - it's only the oven that doesn't work yet, but there's a microwave, gas cook top, kettle + Nespresso machine

Kitchen area with all necessities - it's only the oven that doesn't work yet, but there's a microwave, gas cook top, kettle + Nespresso machine

Your Host


Miranda

Miranda

Melbourne, Australia · Member since August 2012

Hello!

I am Miranda, and live with my partner Chris. We live in the heart of Melbourne City in our own apartment which we have spent a lot of time renovating. We live with our placid little black Cavoodle dog Charlie .

We love living in Melbourne, especially enjoying its great parks and cafes. Chris is an architect/ industrial designer and I am a model, as well as a recently qualified primary school teacher.

We've been together 9 years, and in that time have travelled to a lot of places throughout Asia and Europe. When we travel it's always relaxed. We love discovering new things - not necessarily the typical tourist attractions. We look forward to exploring the Americas and more of Europe when time permits :)

We hope you like staying at our place!

+ More
Response rate: 100%(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections

Additional Hosts