Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

Stay at relaxed, low cost homestay in a private room right on the ocean. This is a homestay right on the beach at Balangan.

**Please read this description thoroughly before booking**

It is a family-run, laid back operation. The owners of this business are my Balinese family. They are the parents, aunts, uncles and cousins of the children I teach English classes to at Balangan beach. Many of my friends have enjoyed this place thoroughly. You'll wake up literally 10 meters from the ocean - even closer if it's high tide.

This property is rustic - think Robinson Crusoe.

The 16 rooms are basic, with bamboo-matt inside walls and mosquito nets.

There 4 share bathrooms for all guests:
The bathrooms have western toilets but without the usual electric flush system. In other words - you need to pour water into the toilet manually to flush it. This is very common practise in Bali's budget accommodation.


This homestay is located in a secluded, old school Bali location in a friendly beach bum atmosphere.

Enjoy breathtaking sunsets over the Indian ocean every evening.

There is a restaurant on the first floor with an ocean view which serves tasty western and Balinese food from morning to evening. Please note: Breakfast is not included in the rate. However you can buy a delicious western breakfast for US $3.50

You can hire scooters and surfboards on site.

I can arrange private car transfers at special rates with my preferred drivers to and from anywhere in Bali.

Located 45 - 60 minutes drive south of Bali's International airport.

Swimming, great surfing, amazing sunsets, grottos aplenty to explore with a quiet beach vibe.

This beach homestay has the Bali magic.

***Surfing and Swimming***

During the wetter months of December, January and February the surfing here is not good unless you get up really early before the wind picks up. Early in the morning there are fun waves small waves to enjoy. It is also during these months that rubbish can be found washing up on the beach do to the weather. However, if you can ride a scooter, you can rent one from the owners of this homestay and find other beaches nearby with better surfing conditions.

The best months (depending on swell) for experienced surfers on this beach are May, June, July, August, September, October and November. While March, and April can be good too.

MY PLACE:

This property is not my place - I manage it online to help this lovely Balinese family out. Most of the reviews you see on my Air BnB profile are for my place in Pandawa beach village. If you would like to stay there, please make a separate enquiry.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 3
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Security Deposit: 100
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

The place is all the way down the beach and taxis either cannot find it or refuse to take you all the way down. We're really busy so it's hard to coordinate a meeting at the top of the hill with your arrival. So please advise your flight or

pick up details on booking. I will organise a driver who knows where we are located to collect your from The Airport, Kuta or Seminyak areas for 200 000 and take you all the way to the beach. From Ubud it is 300 000.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Availability
7 nights minimum stay

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Moriz User Profile
August 2015
Very friendly host. Nice House but Hostel-like. You get everything, scooters, surfboards, food and trinks. Perfect for a surf trip.

Anouk User Profile
July 2015
We had An amazing time at absolute beachfront on balangan beach!! The stuff was so Nice en the room was comfortable,cosy and clean. This place is a no-brainer when you visit the south of Bali!! Thanx to the staff! Regards, Job&Anouk
Kel User Profile
Response from Kel:
Thank you ladies! We hope to host you again!
July 2015

Nadege User Profile
July 2015
The best part about this place is the location, right on the edge of a gorgeous beach. The rooms were very simple but pleasant, particularly ours which was facing the ocean. At high tide the surf is populated by many surfers. At low tide there's good paddling, snorkeling (if you have your own gear) and rock pool exploring. A string of warungs line the beach, we tried many and our favourite, balangan cafe, was also one of the few with all important WiFi. Warung opening times are pretty sporadic. The negatives, the beds were uncomfortable and some of the staff not particularly pleasant. It's really not great value for money compared to other places we've stayed. It's a pretty idilic spot though, we would stay again.

Liza User Profile
October 2014
If you're looking for a place with basic amenities and plenty of space for soul searching, this is it. Balangan is nice without the hustle and bustle and the property is located literally at the end of it all. So if you're looking for peace and some quiet, this is it. Raquel was very helpful and so were the staff.

Madara User Profile
September 2014
Everything was even better than expected! The staff was friendly and so nice. The atmosphere in here is perfect for everyone, I think- no matter how old or who you are-everyone can find this place awesome! Perfect place for meeting new friends from all around the world. Thanks for having me!
Kel User Profile
Response from Kel:
Glad you enjoyed yourself so much. It's reviews like this that make me realise how glad I am to be helping this family to share their magical space in Bali. Warm wishes of the rest of your trip, Mandara. :)
September 2014

Philip User Profile
September 2014
The rooms in which they put us reminded me of a broom closet. There was a really small hole in the wall where almost no light came through. It was very hot in the evening and quite cold in the morning. Really uncomfortable and easy to get sick. You have to share the bathroom, too. After the first night we woke up frustrated and found out, that the breakfast is not included, even so the booking told us otherwise. All that for an astonishing price of about 400.000 IDR. Those of you who know the regular price level in Bali might wonder know. When we found out that other guests are paying 150.000 IDR for the night, the frustration was complete. The first morning we met a couple who also booked with Raquel and they felt the same. Together we tried to get in contact with the manager and Raquel, without any results. We booked for six nights, but we left two days earlier. Being taken to the cleaners, we didn't feel comfortable there anymore. DON'T BOOK. The best thing is to go to the Balangan Beach look for accommodations by yourself. There is always something available and you will pay the right price.
Kel User Profile
Response from Kel:
Wow. Our only two bad reviews and they are from two disgruntled brothers, who, had they not discovered this profile on air bnb, would never have found this secluded, off the beaten track beachhouse. **** As mentioned to your brother. It's pretty simple why it's a higher rate to book online. If you were to find the place by chance or you were a repeat guest, and the beach house had a room available - you would have been able to stay for the rate they offer walk ins (offline guests). Furthermore, you would NOT have been able to be guaranteed a booking. But instead you discovered the property online, you wanted to make a booking to make sure you had a space - through Air BnB - so the rate you pay is higher. My services, our combined admin costs and Air BnB fees add up very quickly. As much as it would be nice, we cannot work for free.
September 2014

Torsten User Profile
July 2014
The airport pickup went flawless. The accomondation is simple but sufficient. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good for families with kids as well.

This host has 86 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Bali, IndonesiaJoined in November 2012
Kel User Profile

Writer, nature loving, people ponderer. I live on an amazing eco property in Bali's far south with my Balinese family. We're creating a tropical permaculture farm here. These days I spend most of my spare time planting seeds - both literally and metaphorically - with my Balinese partner Tommy, who grew up in nearby Uluwatu. I bought a motorcycle and named her Phylis. She gets a lot of attention around The Bukit. And rightly so - she's pretty hot.

I have listed three properties on Air BnB.

1. The place where I live - Beachside Permaculture farm & villa

2. My friend Pakir's family compound of 5 self contained studios in Ubud.

3. My Balinese family's beach shack - a guest house directly on the beach.

Languages: Bahasa Indonesia, English, Italiano
Response rate: 57%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings