1 bedroom in Loft - Wall of Windows

Apartment - Private room · Moore St, Brooklyn, NY 11206, United States

The Space

1 bedroom available in a large 4 bedroom artists loft.

The apt:
The loft is huge* and sunny. The bedroom is large with a loft on the top that is great for either storage, as a hangout nook or we can arrange an air-mattress as a second bed. This room has a wall of windows, plants, a set of shelves, a rack to hang clothing, and a very comfortable organic luxurious mattress that comfortably fits 2 people

* (please do note it is considered a very large space for New York standards which could be relative depending on where you are from.)

The area:
The neighborhood is great - creative and lively. We are a block from the Morgan stop on the L train and 15 minutes to union square. It takes about 5 minutes on the train to Bedford ave and 20-30 minutes to walk. We are next door to the pizza place Roberta's, Momo - a great sushi place, 2 healthy grocery stores and a bunch of fun bars. It has been filmed a lot in the TV show Girls and has recently been written up as the up and coming New York neighborhood. But please do note it is an up and coming area and not as fully developed as other areas of NYC - meaning a balance of very industrial mixed in with many amazing restaurants, art galleries, and shops. We LOVE it but if you do have further questions please (website hidden) Robertas Pizza and Bushwick New York to get a feel for the area.

The roommates-
October- May
2 girls in their 20's - one actress, ( one working in advertising (plus one cat - Truffle)
There are 4 rooms total and the other room is rented out as well on airbnb. I cannot guarantee who will be there but we do vet our guests carefully and so far have had good luck. We do not take more than two guests per room.

The roommates June - September
3 girls in their 20's - one actress, one fashion startup founder, one working in advertising (plus two cats - Truffle and Simba and a small dog Peanut)

Animals of yours are welcome as well.

Extras-
Large roof with beautiful view - on nice nights you can find small parties and other neighbors hanging out up there.
Backyard - large backyard shared by the building, (Please note this is a "New York" yard - meaning it does not have grass but is a cement courtyard.
Washer and dryer in basement of the building.

Things to note in advance:
- there is one bathroom for the apartment - that has not posed any problems so far but do be aware
- as stated above if you are here October-May there are 2 roommates living here and another 1-2 airbnb guest(s)

Please check out the second bedroom available for $60 a night as well -
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/1100557

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • This place was perfect for my friend and me. The neighborhood is awesome with a bunch of great places to eat and drink and was super close to the L train that takes you anywhere you might want to go. The bed was super comfortable and Janice was extremely sweet and helpful the entirety of our stay. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone who wants a legitimate feel of Brooklyn. I have no complaints and hopefully will come back reallll soon and stay here again :) thanks for everything girls!

    January 2014
  • This is an awesome apartment! We never met Liz but her housemate Janice was very helpful. The bed was warm, towels were provided and we made friends with Truffles the cat. Such a great location near the Morgan Avenue station, with Roberta's just across the road, and super close to several 'L- Train' vintage stores. Would definitely recommend.

    November 2013
  • My boyfriend and I had a wonderful experience at Liz's beautiful apartment and in NYC overall. We were warmly welcomed in the evening, on arrival by Liz and her lovely cat Truffle. She was able to help us and answer any questions we had.

    The area was great; trendy, urban and perfectly situated. We were a one minute walk from the metro station which took us into Manhattan within 10 minutes for $2 or $2.50 one way (Can't remember the specific price!) Get a metrocard for $1... you can share this with your traveling partner.

    The bed was comfortable, and apartment was warm, clean and lived-in. We both felt comfortable there, and at ease with her flatmates.

    Go to the pizza bar/ restaurant opposite!

    Taxi from La Guardia Airport was $30 inc tip, though it only took 10mins! Maske sure you haggle with the taxi driver!

    This was our first time with Air BnB and I would definitely recommend you stay with Liz. Such good value for money and great location.

    Thanks Liz X

    PS. (website hidden) - my blog... I'll pop up a post soon :)

    October 2013
  • The house is well located, really near Morgan station, but it' very dirty! The bathroom is disgusting and the kitchen is sticky, the room was really dirty and liz gave us wet towels too. Really i think i can't reccomand this room.

    October 2013
    Liz
    Response from Liz:

    I first want to start this by explaining we clean the apartment regularly - at times ourselves and at times professionally. It is an old converted factory loft in Bushwick Brooklyn (which tend to be fairly hip now and have a lot of character although a very specific character which people either want or dont) a part of that character is old tiles in the bathroom, old hardwood floors, etc which even when clean will never get the sheen of the modern condos popping up in Brooklyn lately and are quite popular in other areas such a Murray Hill and the Upper East side.

    The towels were washed and finished about 10 minutes prior to her arrival. The dryers did not get them 100% dry but they were completely cleaned and hanging up (as I explained to her about the dryer and towels)

    We have had a large number of guests and the majority love it, The ones who have been unhappy so far have been a set of grandparents and Mara who is at the stage of life where she is a mother and maybe not as comfortable in a primarily 20 something artist building similar to what you would see in the TV show "Girls". While we are fine to have anyone at any stage of life who loves to live in converted factory lofts, with colorful walls, old tiles, groups of artists and musicians and the kind of neighbors who invite you into their apartment to hear the latest song their band is working on, see their newest paintings or just hang out - this is certainly not for everyone. And I can understand maybe (although definitely not necessarily) if you are at the stage of having a family and above staying at a hostel this would not be for you at all.

  • Un très bon séjour passé dans le loft de Liz ! Super ambiance dans le quartier, arrêt de métro à 2 minutes et Williamsburg à 5 arrêts. Le lit était vraiment très confortable, un réel plaisir.
    Nous n'hésiterons pas à y revenir !

    June 2013
  • Liz was very helpful and so friendly, answered always if I had any questions..She was not there but we were welcomed by her roommate Janice. The place is very nice, spacious & cosy but the bathroom and kitchen were not very clean sometimes..
    But we had a great time over there! Excellent location, nice bars and resto's in the close neighborhood, a good supermarket and nice artistic atmosphere! Very close to L train station too.
    Thank you Liz for your kindness and I will recommend your place!
    x

    May 2013
    Liz
    Response from Liz:

    I would like to thank you Lien for drawing the problem to my attention that the apartment bathroom and kitchen were not as clean as they should have been. If anyone else ever has a problem like that (while I am not at the apartment myself) please email me and I will send our housekeeper immediately as I want all guests to be as comfortable when I am there as when I am not. I also do want all guests to know the roommate who has not been as clean is moving out at the end of May so this should no longer be a problem going forward.

  • The reservation was canceled 4 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    May 2013
    Liz
    Response from Liz:

    We were alerted this morning that there was a leak and flood in the above apartment which caused quite a bit of damage.

    Our landlord let us know that they actually have to repair our ceiling and some pipes in our ceiling due to this leak and above flood.

    We actually found out that we have to be out of the apartment during this above booked week while they take down parts of our ceiling, repair the pipes and repaint (all in the living room)

    I would never normally cancel on a guest as this was a complete fluke. In exchange for my cancellation I offered a free stay in the future in either this New York apartment or my la one.

  • I never met Liz, but she was very rapid in responding to any questions and gave us great suggestions. The loft building is ideally located steps from Morgan stop on the L train and the neighbourhood boasts Roberta's pizzeria and Swallow Café, two must-sees if you're in the area. The apartment is quiet and the room mates keep very much to themselves. Truffles the cat doesn't leave his room at all either, so if you if you're pet-sensitive this shouldn't dissuade you from considering this apartment. The king-sized bed was so comfortable and the loft has cool DIY décor. The roof access is so cool and has a great view of Manhattan, especially at night.

    May 2013
  • Unfortunately we have not met Liz who is very busy and live in two places.
    Liz but remained in contact with us during the stay.
    The loft is large, functional and nicely decorated and is located in a quiet three subway stations Bedford Avenue, the heart of trendy Williamsburg!!

    The housemates are very discrete and the apartment is very quiet: perfect for relaxing after those long days strolling through New York!

    It is a place to recommend without hesitation.

    May 2013
    Liz
    Response from Liz:

    I am happy you had a nice stay! I am sorry I never had the chance to meet the two of you.

  • Lovely place.
    Perfect location near the L in an exciting and interesting part of Brooklyn.
    Slick communication and organisation from liz (more towels than you'll know what to do with).

    April 2013
    Liz
    Response from Liz:

    Glad you enjoyed the towels:) Sorry we never got to meet in person!

Per Month
From
$70
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 173 times
About
Hi. Im Liz. I have a fashion tech startup and live part of the year in LA and part in NYC. I am laid back and love to meet new people.
View full profile
Calendar Updated
3 months ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings