afternoon light in living area/kitchenthe steps of Porta Trasimena. The house is on the right
Cozy home in the historical centre of Perugia
Cozy home in the historical centre of Perugia

Shared room

2 guests

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

I live in two first-floor flats in a small house by one of the most beautiful gates to the old town. I rent out one of them, giving exclusive use of a double bedroom and en-suite bathroom and shared use of the living room/kitchen. 5 mins to the very centre of town.

The space

I have 2 flats on the first floor of a small independent building in the old town of Perugia. I live in one and use and rent out the other. Guests have exclusive use of their own double bedroom and en-suite bathroom, and shared use of the living area.
Features: lots of light and small garden in a very characteristic corner of the town, right next to Porta Trasimena, one of the original gates to the city centre. It is 5 minutes walk to the very heart of the town, along via Priori, and 2 minutes to the mini metrò station. also 5 minutes walk from main university campus. Area still has a 'quartiere' feel about it, with local bakery, bar and fruit & veg shop. Ideal for a couple.
The apartment is well furnished and comfortable. Sleeps 2 comfortably in main bedroom. Lots of good music, books and films available in 3 languages.
great location - very well placed for walking all around old town - 5 minutes walk uphill to main square, yet in a quiet building. You will need no form of transport other than your feet. Neighbourhood is cool - one of the oldest roads in town, with convenient shops, one open until 10pm, local bakery and classic folkloristic greengrocer lady! - and several decent restaurants and trattorie. Also next to beautiful S. Francesco church with large lawn, in area v close to university, so fair number of students.
For transport out of town you can get the minimetrò in 3 minutes, walk to bus station in 10. For parking, free parking at end of minimetrò line, or pay for parking 3 minutes walk - PG is complicated for parking!
In the apartment you will find the Internet connection but no TV. There is a projector to watch films etc through the computer onto the wall. Good shower, washing machine (only one and it's in guests' bathroom so if you're staying a while I may ask to use it myself too!), cooker and fridge (warning - small fridge if you're from North America!). Warm welcome.
I say smoking is allowed because I am an occasional social smoker too, but if it isn't raining then better in the garden. The flat is clean and does not smell of smoke!
Place is 'unique' because it's a charming corner of the old town and unusual in that it is a single house. The area of town is still lived in by local families. Feel free to send enquiries if anything is not clear.
I hope to see you and host you soon.

Guest access

Exclusive use of a double bedroom and ensuite bathroom. Access to shared kitchen/living area. Use of fridge and cooker, use of wifi, music, books and video projector.

Interaction with guests

It varies. Sometimes a lot and we become friends, sometimes people like to be left in peace and I respect their wishes of course. But inevitably a certain amount, as the main living area is between the entrance and their bedroom.

Other things to note

Just to say that this is my one and only home. The advantage is that guests can get lots of information and insights from me and stay in a 'real' place; the drawback (for some) is that it is NOT a real BnB type experience in the sense that there is less privacy. Your room and bathroom are exclusively yours. However I continue to live my normal life here while guests are around, which involves both working and socialising. Please also note that I have a dog. He is a very friendly and funny young hound, but I understand that not everyone likes dogs!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12AM (midnight)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Shared room

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is flexible

Rules of basic decency and respect. I just expect guests to leave the place as they find it, and to communicate openly whenever they need to. So if you are unhappy with something just tell me and I'll try and fix it; and if you break something just tell me, I'm sure it won't be a big deal. Note: no cancellation charge or cleaning charge - I just hope my guests will treat my place well. You are welcome to use music, watch films available, cook, and read my books. I'm also happy to share an evening together, make a meal, give advice, but the flat can be independent for those who prefer to do their own thing. I have a dog (male, 2 years old, wire-haired pointer) and other pets are welcome too.


Cancellations

This host has a Flexible Cancellation Policy

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of the trip and the first night is non-refundable, with the exception of fees.


Safety features
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

44 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Lilly User Profile
July 2017
I stayed with Marcus for one month in July and had a fantastic time. The room and the house are beautiful and it is in the loveliest part of town. Marcus hosted great parties and I loved getting the chance to meet some of his friends. I would certainly recommend the experience! :)

Sarah User Profile
May 2017
Excellent location
Marcus User Profile
Response from Marcus:
I enjoyed having Sarah as a guest and am a bit surprised by this to be honest, for the following reasons: 1 - there are no carpets in my house 2 - Sarah did not stay in the main room or use the main bathroom. She stayed in my daughter's room which has a different bathroom, for a discount. 3 - I cleaned the space thoroughly before she arrived. Given that she stayed for a whole week I could not take responsibility for the room/bathroom getting dirty during that time, esp. given that she was paying 20 euros a night!
May 2017

Eloi User Profile
April 2017
Outstanding host! Marcus did it all, and was very nice of him getting everything we need to have a great stay at Perugia.

Rachel User Profile
April 2017
We had a great time with Marcus! We only stayed one night but had a great time, he made us dinner and we really enjoyed getting to know him, and seeing a little bit of Perugia. He is an interesting person and has a lot of knowledge about the region if you need any advice for your travels. The room was as described, bed comfortable with a really nice window. The location could not be better, very close to the center but far enough back to be a quiet retreat. We wouldn't hesitate to stay with Marcus again! He was very generous with his time and even gave us a lift to our car rental.

Antoine User Profile
March 2017
Marcus was a very nice and talkative host, it was a pleasure sharing moments with him. The room has a wide and comfy bed and is otherwise vey well situated. Overall we enjoyed our Perugia holiday a lot.

Yaxin User Profile
January 2017
We had good time in Perugia :)

Ania User Profile
December 2016
Marcus is really nice, funny, friendly and easy-going! and so are his children Tom and Molly that I had a chance to meet Marcus answered immediately to my request and the next day, when I arrived, met me at the door and helped me with my bags His dog Rusty is funny and bubbly The flat is cosy, plenty of books in all languages and films And in the kitchen there's all you might need When I was a bit cold in the flat (quite a common problem in Perugia because the heating is expensive) and asked Marcus to set a higher temperature, he did it immediately The only thing is that the bathroom was a little bit old and damp but still ok The location is wonderful, just under the arch - 'Porta Trasimena' - and, going up, you'll find yourself in the beautiful Via dei Priori I always enjoyed my way 'home'! If you're a student you may also like the fact that Mensa Pascoli is 5 minutes away as well as Cupa minimetro station. You'll also have a great chance to improve either your English or Italian! ;) Recommended! Thanks Marcus!

This host has 11 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Perugia, ItalyJoined in November 2011
Marcus User Profile

I like good company, fine food, music of all kinds and times, reading and learning, intelligent or funny films and moving around when time allows. I'm busy - I have 3 kids who I don't live with but see a lot of, and I teach, translate, write and occasionally marry people! I also have a dog - medium sized two year old hound called Rusty who is very friendly and a bit daft. He doesn't go into the guests' area, but his presence in the house is most certainly felt!
5 things I can't live without - love and friendship, my kids, a bottle of wine, my music, a good book on the go. As a host I'm sociable and welcoming. The set up in my house is decidedly informal, so if you like a lot of privacy then maybe it is not the place for you. Obviously, the guest's room and bathroom are totally private, but I need the rest of the house to be shared space. I'll give you lots of advice about where to go, and I'll spend time with you if that's what we want, but I may not always be around. I don't have fixed times for going to bed or getting up - usually rise between 7 and 8 and crash around midnight). I don't have a television - an evening in most likely involves cooking together, chatting over a drink with music in the background. My house is quite small - only a two bedroom flat, but it's bang in the middle of the old town in a pretty building with a small front garden, in a beautiful corner of the city. I like to keep it pretty clean, but not obsessively so. As a guest I think I hope to get what I give as a host. I have had mainly positive experiences with airbnb and have also hosted quite a few people on couch surfing and enjoyed it a lot. Travel - I've been to a few interesting places - Indonesia, Mexico, California many times (brothers' home), lots of parts of Europe, and all over Italy over the last 25 years. Would love to travel more - Africa, India, Australia, New York, New Orleans, South America, Caribbean, Hamburg, Brittany......... - it's a long list.
Motto - keep an open mind, keep asking questions, answers may come when they're ready. Keep a sense of fun, don't judge too quickly, but know your mind.

Languages: English, Français, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings