Entire home/apt

7 guests

2 bedrooms

5 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
7 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

In the heart of paradise at Volcano & Lake Arenal near La Fortuna and many activities within a short distance of ' The Nest' this quiet and peaceful setting sits above the village of El Castillo with panoramic views.

The space

A romantic hideaway with incredible panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Relax in our tropical garden paradise in a private 2 bedroom/2 bath house, large kitchen on 2nd floor w/ wrap around veranda, hot tub and lush tropical gardens. Situated in the community of El Castillo, you will find yourself surrounded by monkeys, butterflies, exotic birds and a plethora of other rainforest wildlife.

The Hummingbird Nest offers a luxurious hot tub spa and all the comforts of home that will provide you with an unforgettable stay. Gated parking, wireless internet and spa services upon request are just a few of the many amenities available to our guests.

Our spacious and comfortably appointed rooms offer guests a quiet place to relax and rejuvenate during their travels. You will always find yourself in a quiet and peaceful setting.

Room options include either a queen bed with single bed (3 person max) or queen bed with two single beds (4 person max). Each room has a private veranda with spectacular views and a private bath with hot water. Ceiling fans and uniquely artistic decoration create for a comfortable atmosphere.

Costa Rica’s famous Butterfly Orchid Gardens, hot springs, Arenal Rain Forest Reserve, Sky Trek and many other attractions are just minutes away. A host of activities are available to suit a variety of tastes from horseback riding and white water rafting to fishing, hiking, cultural tours and much more. Considered one of the most bio-diverse regions in the world, Costa Rica is Central America's special jewel and we are happy to make arrangements for adventure tours and activities.

Guest access

You will have the entire area of first level w/ the 2 bedrooms, verandas & hot tub. On second level a separate large kitchen with plenty of tables and chairs on the wrap around veranda w/ the panoramic views of lake and volcano.

Interaction with guests

There will always be someone available to help if needed.

Other things to note

This home sits above the village of El Castillo yet is totally private and quiet w/ a 50 meter sendero uphill that enables the views yet privacy from the village.
There is another entry way at the top should bringing luggage up the winding walkway to the top be an issue. The gate is next to the rooms which connects to the property of Hotel El Castillo del Arenal & Fusion Rest.

The space
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 5
Check In: 1PM - 6PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 35
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 single bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed, 2 single beds
Common spaces
1 floor mattress

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 1PM - 6PM

Smoking is permitted only outside away from guest rooms.
No children are allowed unattended in the hot tub.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Kitchen is on second level via a stairway
Pet(s) live on property - One cat named Buggy



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.

Safety features
First aid kit

2 nights minimum stay

39 Reviews

Check In
Brooke User Profile
May 2017
The accommodations were beautiful and spacious. The view was great. Speaking Spanish was very helpful to communicate with caretakers. Unfortunately, breakfast and laundry services were unexpectedly expensive. We did not have access to do our own laundry. I had read that breakfast preparation would be "at cost," but it was actually at cost in addition to a fee, making it about $50 per day. The walk up to the house is VERY STEEP. The option advertised to use the side entrance was not available, so I do not advise if you are not ready to hike. There was an old smell in the kitchen and living room that faded by opening the windows We enjoyed the stay and beauty of the area, but these misrepresent qualities were a shock to us. It would have been better with more honest communication.
Ellen User Profile
Response from Ellen:
Brooke, I am so sorry that you had these issues w/ my caretakers. Yeimy is no longer working for me after this incident and others. You should not have been charged $50/day for breakfast as she was to purchase the food at Pulperia and her hours/time I pay for. She had lied to me saying you paid $25/day which would be reasonable for a family of 6 at $5/each for breakfast. Since I was temporarily out of the country, there were property managers who would normally oversee these issues as they managed all the (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) guests. You can check the good reviews w/ my page on there. Also, that gate was to be open at all times when guests are here, but I have heard that Yeimy & Miguel locked it at times. Again, I apologize for that inconvenience. Yeimy was new at cleaning house for me and I was very disappointed when arriving home myself, so I completely understand your disappointment. I wish there were some way I could make this up to you. In fact, I have no problem with refunding you the $100 for breakfast. I can send that to you via (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN). Please let me know. regards, Ellen
May 2017

Antonio User Profile
April 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The only thing I didn't like was the steep walk up to the house, mainly because my mother isn't used to it. The house was big and the view is amazing. If you are looking for peace and quiet, you have found it. The drive to the main road is a little far, but it's not bad.

Juan User Profile
February 2017
Keep in mind when reading this review that we have been to Costa Rica before and we are well aware of the "standards" of Costa Rica Airbnb's. The photos of this house are quite outdated, while the views are great they are now mostly obstructed by the vegetation. The house is in dire need to TLC, maintenance and substantial repairs; for example some windows were broken and put together with packing tape, on-demand shower hot water heaters have exposed cables, shower curtains where dirty and covered in mold, there are too many other things like this to list. The housekeeper was excellent and she went above and beyond, but she is not the owner and there is only so much she can do. For the state of the house I feel we over paid for our stay. One thing that the description does not adequately describe is the "50 meter walkway up to the house" this walkway, while paved, is quite steep and will be challenging to anyone with any walking issues whatsoever. Having said all this, we love the little town of El Castillo and this place is as central to the little town as you can get. If you do decide to stay here make sure to be clear with the owner about what you are reserving, and what is included. When we first made our reservation we thought we where renting the entire house based on the rates listed in Airbnb, but then discovered that we needed to pay more if we wanted the entire house, which we did. We also later found out that breakfasts where not included and that we would have to pay for the groceries if we wanted breakfasts. I should have made sure about these things ahead of time.
Ellen User Profile
Response from Ellen:
Hi Juan, Thank you for the review and feedback. I appreciate knowing about these issues and would like to explain some of the reasons plus differentiate between renting rooms as a B&B vs. the entire home as a 'vacation home rental'. The photos may be outdated w/ Airbnb as they take their own w/ a professional photographer, but there are current ones of last fall taken and posted on (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN). The vegetation obstructing partial views of the volcano are trees that belong to the school property next door. We would have to get permission to cut those down which I asked my caretaker to address so am not sure if it will be possible. As to other vegetation in my gardens, the consensus of other guests is to leave alone as they enjoy the lush vegetation and privacy it provides. Any maintenance issues must be of recent, as we spent the months of Oct. & Nov. taking care of maintenance, repairs, etc. Keep in mind the weather was unseasonably bad in Jan & Feb. We will do maintenance again during low season in May & June. Naturally, my property would have the proper TLC were I there to alleviate issues as such. But, with a home rental, the owner is not present. Which is another factor when you rent the entire house vs a B&B, there are no meals provided since guests bring their own food with use of the kitchen. Most home rentals do offer a local chef or cook who could come in to cook at the added expense to the guest. My caretakers happen to live on my property, thus Yeimy was willing to accommodate you in buying, preparing and serving breakfast all 6 mornings. You only paid for the food, not her time nor service. There is only one broken window (to the glass sliding door in kitchen) that was reported to me. The managers for my (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) listing have told me the tape which covers the painting of a branch & flowers is not bad enough visually to replace the glass until I return in May. At the time of your booking there was some confusion as to the rate which I tried to explain. We had transitioned over from renting as a B&B to a 'Home Vacation Rental' which is more economical for a family of 6 vs. renting 3 rooms separately. In other words, at the rate of $170/night for the house, renting separate rooms would have cost a total of $225 w/out breakfast and $255 with (thus saving approx. $500). This home rental rate is competitive with other homes in El Castillo. In fact, if you were to rent my property on (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) it is a higher rate plus $200 security deposit and higher cleaning fee as it's managed for me separate of Airbnb. Hopefully, this clarifies some of the issues addressed. I do apologize for any inconvenience to you and your family. regards, Ellen
February 2017

Tracy User Profile
January 2017
Our stay at the Hummingbird was a good way to experience a local Costa Rican way of life. Situated in the quaint small town of El Castillo, the location sits up on a hill with a few minute trek, on a paved walkway, up a decent incline through lovely flowers and local vegetation. You park at the bottom of the hill where you are greeted by Yeimy and Miguel. Yeimy doesn't speak English, but Miguel does a little. We used a bit of our own sign language to communicate. They were very helpful and accommodating with getting our luggage up the hill and showing us around the house. Once we arrived at our location, we discovered a very uniquely laid out space. A two story building with multiple rooms that share outside balconies or lower walk ways instead of inside hallways. There is a central kitchen that is its own shared space. We had the whole location to ourselves so it was very private. Our room was clean and quaint with a bed and small living room space with a full bath(shower, sink & toilet) a half bathroom(toilet & sink) since the shower wasn't connected any longer. The showers are traditional Costa Rican style. They do not get very warm, but we were able to experience the Costa Rican life here, which was exactly what we were looking for. Ellen the host, was quick with her responses and to make sure that we were taken care of for our stay. She was very good about all our last minute booking needs and was willing to accommodate us to the best of her abilities. We appreciated her hosting us during our stay in Costa Rica.

Raman User Profile
January 2017
The host canceled this reservation 14 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Ellen User Profile
Response from Ellen:
Unfortunately, this was a double booking that crossed dates with another booking site and I did not change the calendar in time for this booking. Raman was informed within 24 hrs. of the need to cancel and find another accommodation which Airbnb are very good at under these circumstances. There was no fee to Raman.
January 2017

Inna User Profile
December 2016
The place is in a small village with a great feel of community

Stephanie User Profile
August 2016
We really enjoyed the quaint feel to this place and all of the scenery. Ellen was extremely responsive and the greeter (Miguel) and cook (Gina) were extremely friendly! I would highly recommend this place for people who like to be away from the city and don't mind a bit of a drive to get there...the views and serenity are worth it!

La Fortuna, Costa RicaJoined in November 2012
Ellen User Profile

B&B owner in El Castillo/Volcano Arenal from BOSTON and been here 12 yrs.
Like the mountains, lake/volcano, outdoor activities, yoga, animals of which I have a parrot and cat. Speak Spanish and enjoy living among the locals.
Have traveled the world in my past life as a flight attendant for Pan Am. Also, a wine enthusiast having been DM for Geyser Peak Winery in the SF Bay Area. Last 17yrs of my resume in U.S. was with Wyeth Pharmaceuticals as a Psychiatry Specialty Manager. Now I live peacefully in paradise!

Languages: Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings