Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Cosy spare room offered to occasional guests in a beautiful corner of Hackney. The flat offers stunning views of London and is less than 5 mins walk from the underground (zone 2), 15 mins from Central London.

The space

I have a cosy room normally used as an office with a new futon (sleeping area 124cm x 200cm). I have now added memory foam mattress under the futon mattress for extra comfort. Will get some photos with the new bed soon. There is a small chest of drawers for your use and some hooks as well as some desk space.
The rest of a flat is spacious, brand new and has splendid views of the London skyline across a water reservoir. The area is quiet, away from traffic, just geese and ducks. Otherwise bathroom, kitchen, large living room to share with my daughter and myself, and two cats (just in case you're allergic). All mod cons (no microwave, no tv), wifi. There is also a large balcony where you may be able to enjoy the views over breakfast, weather permitting. Still in need of some decorating but if we get many happy customers that should hopefully improve.
The flat itself is about 5 mins walk away from Manor House tube station (zone 2) so some 15-20 mins to the Centre and many buses also run from here. There are a few convenience shops and a nice decently priced cafe that serves breakfast very nearby incl. a post office and a larger supermarket 10-15 mins walk away. We are within walking distance of two large parks, a climbing centre and the sailing club of course, as well as Green Lanes for Turkish restaurants or Stoke Newington which has a village feel and plenty of bars, restaurants etc...
Anything I may have forgotten, just ask.

Guest access

Guests have access to all communal areas, bathroom, kitchen and lounge and of course the balcony.
You are also welcome to use wifi (I can't guarantee access to a laptop though, as I am normally in need of it for work).

Interaction with guests

This is our home, we are around some of the time, and at other times, out and about going about the business of our busy lives. I normally work from home 3 days a week, so on such days, I can be available answer brief queries.

Other things to note

We welcome occasional guests in our spare room, but I do have a full-time job, we have hobbies, friends etc... My approach to airbnb is friendly and flexible, more like receiving a friend of a friend, not running a business. If you expect room service and 24 hours reception, you're probably looking in the wrong place.

Please make sure you have arranged a check-in time with me about a week before your arrival date. I can accommodate most arrival time in London by leaving a key in a safe and am happy for you to store your luggage before the room is ready or after check-out. Please understand that there may be someone in the room who needs to check out and I will not kick them out of bed at dawn because you land really early in the morning. So flexible check-in means, trying to find a solution that suits everyone, not whatever time suits you best.

Please let us know if possible if you are delayed. We may be waiting to go somewhere, and it's easier if we know whether a guest is 5 mins or 2 hours away.

It's a lot easier for me to keep track of guests' check-in times, other enquiries etc... if all communications are kept on this site. On my personal email account, it'll probably get drowned in a sea of newsletters and ads, even if I respond, I may never find your message again.

A few things to save everyone some time:

The room really is too small to fit another mattress on the floor. It can fit a maximum of 2 people, there is no need to enquire about trying to fit 3 or more people.

The room is only available on a short-term basis (2 weeks maximum). We have use of the room ourselves and also receive friends and family. We have no interest in letting the room longer term.

The calendar is kept up-to-date, if the calendar says the room isn't available, then it isn't available.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 8AM - 10PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Keypad

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 16 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 40 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 8AM - 10PM

Smoking is allowed but only on the balcony. Please use the ashtrays provided, it's not ok to flick cigarette butts onto the balcony below.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - Two cats live here, it's their home too.
Some spaces are shared - bathroom, kitchen and lounge
Amenity limitations - There is no TV.

Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

No reviews (yet)

This home doesn’t have any reviews. If you stay here, your review will appear here.

London, United KingdomJoined in November 2012
O & E User Profile

Another frog in the big smoke. I work in Academia, from home 3 days a week, so I should be at hand if you have any questions, need advice etc...

Languages: Deutsch, English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings