The room is just off of the living room. There is a sliding door that you can close for privacy, not shown in this photo.During the day, fold the bed up for space to hang and sit at the desk.


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

We encourage you to please message us BEFORE making a booking request! We love answering any questions you might have about the room and the neighborhood. This cozy room in our art-filled Pre-War home is perfect for the budget traveler. Our house is minutes from all of the popular sights and cool neighborhoods, and even our neighborhood has gotten pretty cool! Looking forward to having you stay with us.

The space

General info and location:
This cozy and bright room is located in Long Island City - Queens, an area across the river from midtown Manhattan.
We are close to the Queens MOMA PS1 museum, which also hosts outdoor dance parties on Saturdays in the summer. We are five minutes from a Jackson Ave, which has a bunch of restaurants for you to enjoy. There are also many places right around the house, if you just need to pop out for a quick meal. There is a 24-hour diner across the street where the food is decent, and uniquely New York!

The room:
The room is an annex to our living room. It is furnished with a "Murphy" bed, which folds into an armoire, putting it away during the daytime of you so choose.

There are two windows that face the street, so you will hear some noise from the subway station, which is nearby (but that also means your travel time to the city will be short!). There is an air conditioning unit available for the summer months.


Looking forward to having you stay with us!

Guest access

The house:
This is an historic townhouse from 1886 on a landmark block. You will share a big kitchen and the living room with us ( a couple in our 30s), our son (who was born in July 2016), and up to 2 other guests. You have your own bathroom that is located off the kitchen, which is dedicated to your use except for the occasional toilet use when the kitchen is being used. The shower and storage space in the bathroom are exclusively yours during your stay.

Laundry, groceries and parking:
Laundry is right in the basement of our house and the closest grocery store is about a 5 minute walk. For those of you with cars, you can usually find free, long-term parking with no problem in the evenings within a two/five-block radius. Finding parking in the daytime is more challenging. There are also meters and lots available for paid parking.

We provide clean bedding and towels for the guests, and there is free super-speedy wireless Internet, maintained by on-site IT guys.

Little bonuses: We can provide Yoga mats at no charge for you to practice during your stay (we only ask that you wash them after using them). We have great maps and local directories to make navigating the city easy. There is a hot-pink cheetah print hair dryer and most other amenities (not all hot pink cheetah print) available upon request if available.

Interaction with guests

Catherine and Karl are available for questions and recommendations about anything related to the house and the neighborhood. We both have busy schedules, and our times at home will vary. Occasionally we me be available to have share a meal with you in the kitchen, if time permits!

Other things to note

Our son was born in July of 2016, so he is likely still a baby during your stay. He sleeps in our room, which is one floor up from where you will be staying, and is a generally chill kid. The walls are thick and we have never had a problem with him interfering with a guest's sleep.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 1PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $6 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $49
Security Deposit: $170
Weekend Price: $75 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 1PM

This is a non-smoking home and a shoe-free home. We kindly request that you leave your shoes at the entrance.

We are fairly laid back in terms of noise during the day, however after 10pm on weekdays and/or at the request of other housemates, we ask you keep the noise level to a minimum for the sake of the early risers in the house and on the block. On weekends we are generally up much later!

No guests other than you (who booked the room) are allowed in the house during your stay with out advance written permission.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Safety card
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

107 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Janine User Profile
May 2017
Karl and Catherine were very sweet and helpful, always there to answer my questions and fulfill my needs. I felt very free to be myself, with all my coming and goings too. The bed was so comfortable and clean, and my own bathroom was clean and roomy. Of most value was the proximity to the Subway, right over the road, and it wasn't even noisy in the house. I also found the Diner opposite to be a great advantage, for a quick meal, as a meeting place and fabulous Shakes too! The pink leopard hairdryer is a really good dryer, and I was also appreciative of the Lonely Planet pocket-sized guidebook that Catherine loaned me to get around with.

Emmanuel User Profile
May 2017
Perfectly located spot in Long Island city. Close to subway and easy to reach NY center.Karl and Catherine have been great to welcome us very late with constant info and messages! Thanks!

Laura User Profile
April 2017
Karl & Catherine are very friendly. The building is historic, the room is very small- if you sleep inside you can't get out of bed without waking the other sharing the bed. The 7 train is so close but i am able to sleep through the night that surprises me. I like you have your own bathroom though the shower is tiny. I also like the no shoes in house rule that keep dirt outside. They like to cook so you smell yummy food when you come back. In all, we have positive experience staying with them.

煒森 User Profile
April 2017
The room is clean, with good wifi connection. The community is safe. The place is only less than a minute walk to Court Square subway station. Excellent choice for travellirs who want to access to Manhattan within 15 minutes.

Nina User Profile
April 2017
A great place and nice people. The location is great and convenient to visit sights!

The place is really well located, in front of the subway (line 7), restaurants, bars, etc. Can be a bit noisy due the closeness of the subway, but for us it was not a problem. The room's space is really just a bed and a tight desk, with bathroom across the house. Hosts are super nice (including baby boy!) and we felt comfortable at the house!

Michelle User Profile
April 2017
Karl and Catherine are just very decent, solid, and good people. They are also friendly, have a great sense of humor, and are welcoming; generous in spirit, and very helpful and committed to making their guest feel comfortable and have what they need. Karl got me a fan for my room when I needed it and was happy to. They invited me into their living room, kitchen, and world. The area is perfect for commuting to Grand Central - 13 minutes door to door, and their is a great French cafe 5 blocks away that is delightful. It's also easy to park in the neighborhood! Bed is super comfortable, bathroom is roomy. Looking forward to coming back!

This host has 108 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

New York, New York, United States · Joined in January 2012
Karl & Catherine User ProfileKarl & Catherine is a superhost.

We are 15 year NYC residents, filmmakers, actors, writers and artists. We love to travel, scuba dive, and generally seek interesting cultures and adventures. We enjoy hosting people in our inspiring New York City space. We've recently added a new human to the family who was born in July of 2016!

Looking forward to meeting you. :)

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour