Bathroom is big enough :)You have writing desk, computer desk and television in your room
Private bath+ Hike/Bike/TransitScore97+

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Guest often comment on how quiet it is, given the location in the middle of a busy neighborhood.
The bed, too, gets well reviewed! Good mattress and pillows.
The room is close to the front door so it's easy to come and go as you wish :)

The space

The master suite in my third floor (no elevator) condo is spacious,light,quiet and welcoming. Queen bed for your comfort.

You are welcome to share living space with Thriller, the black cat, and me. Additionally, Patrick is here to work early each morning. Other BnB guests most weekends (they share my bath, you have your private bath).

Dolores Park, Mission Dolores, the trendy Valencia Street corridor are all just over a block away. Lots of new and established restaurants near-by including Delfina, Tartine Bakery, and so many others.

Walk to the Castro, Noe Valley and more.
This is a transportation-rich area.
J-Church Muni line is 1.5 blocks away,
BART is an easy 5 block walk, buses abound.
The F-Line is an easy walk to Market Street. Take it to Fisherman's Wharf (do get off for a visit to the Ferry Building at the foot of Market Street. Locals are seen here rather than at the Wharf or Pier 39 :) Old and imported street cars travel above ground (as opposed to BART and the J-Church,etc. which go underground on Market St.) The Embarcadero is very lively. It's where you depart to Alcatraz and to other ferry destinations.

SF water is (URL HIDDEN) need to buy bottles. Our Hetch-Hetchy/Yosemite water tests better than most paid-for-by-the-bottle water. I never use a filter just drink from the faucet water.
SF weather is variable. By which I mean it changes from minute to minute, street to street. FAR TOO MANY visitors have to buy extra layers here to be comfortable (yes, even in summer - in fact, especially in summer when the fog rolls in...which is why Mark Twain is quoted as having said "the coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco!)

Parking - Street parking here is difficult, especially during the week (2 hr.limit) Garage at Hoff St x 16th is one of the closest. You might check parkopedia ap as well. Tickets in SF are $60+, towing will cost you $500+ and we have an issue with break-ins. If you park near here leave NO thing at all showing or you invite a broken window, sad to say.

Interaction with guests

Our paths will cross while you visit.
Happily give you my primary phone number so you can text me,
even when out and about, with questions.
DO ask if you need cups, glasses, etc. (if the maid did not leave glasses in you bathroom, etc.)

Other things to note

***Please do bring at least a windbreaker.***
SF is often windy and chilly, at least some of the time. I carry/wear my light-weight down parka most of the time - honestly.
Please read the item re parking if you are driving. STR-0000504

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room


Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 25
Security Deposit: 300
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price: 150 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM

-Guests/friends only w prior permission, not over-night
-3 o'clock check-in or as we arrange
-Check-out time is 11AM
-Lock the deadbolt if you are the last person in at night

NOTE: SF weather is variable. By which I mean it changes from minute to minute, street to street. FAR TOO MANY visitors have to buy extra layers here to be comfortable (yes, even in summer - in fact, especially in summer when the fog rolls in - it's why Mark Twain is quoted as having said "the coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco!)



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay

264 Reviews

Check In
Henry User Profile
July 2017
This place is a real find. The location is wonderful- just a 5 minute walk down from Dolores Park and 7 minutes to the Castro! All beautiful areas to wander around and discover San Francisco. Great public transport links too- close to the F line, we went all the way to Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown in about half an hour. Breakfasts at Tartine and Dolores Park Café, just up the street, were excellent. Jan is the real star of the stay, however. She made us feel immediately comfortable and perfectly balanced suggestions with letting us find our own way. The place is very clean, the wifi was easily accessible and we were able to leave our bags in the condo on our last day so we could enjoy the San Franciscan sun unburdened. We were really very happy here and would stay again!
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Do look forward to seeing these two again!
July 2017

Dominic User Profile
July 2017
Perfectly located near Dolores Park in a comfortable room with a lovely, welcoming host, this was our perfect start to a two week Californian trip.
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Happy to have provided a good FirstStop! Do enjoy it all.
July 2017

Chaoyi User Profile
July 2017
Really nice location! Close to the public transportation. Jan is really nice holder and she has a very cute, friendly boy cat. Jan let us early check in and late check out due to our plane time. Highly recommend the bi-rite icecream shop, only 2 mins walk from her home. We went to eat the icecream everyday!
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Concur...BiRite ice cream is excellent. Love the salted carmel!
July 2017

Michelle User Profile
June 2017
Jan was a delightful host and gave excellent local tips. The place was clean, comfortable, and in a safe neighborhood.
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Glad you enjoyed SF!
June 2017

Jin User Profile
June 2017
We had a great stay at Jan's. She was very welcoming and the location was good.

James User Profile
June 2017
Jan's place is perfectly located. Walk to great restaurants in Castro/Mission area. So much to do right in the neighborhood. Convenient to public transport if you need to go further. Her place is private, clean and quiet, and the cat will keep you company. I would stay there again. Wish I could have stayed longer!
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!
June 2017

Miranda User Profile
June 2017
The room and private bath were clean and comfortable. It's in a wonderful location with a beautiful park up the street and several nearby shops and restaurants. The host was able to accommodate me by allowing to drop my baggage off before check in so that I could enjoy the city without lugging it around. Thriller was a sweetie and really added a smile to my stay.

This host has 182 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

San Francisco, California, United StatesJoined in November 2012
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.

Welcome to my home! I’ve lived here in my condo on Oakwood St. for over ten years. Fell in love with San Francisco when I was here in college at SF State and have been 'at home' here since.

Since landing in SF I’ve traveled regularly, from Germany to Russia, from Vietnam to China. I love to hike, and belong to the Bay Area Ridge Trail. I'd be happy to recommend local hikes, both long and short! Among the things I enjoy are movies, reading, ballet, progressive thought, and conversation - especially over good food and wine, both out and at my table.

You'll be comfortable in my home if you're like previous guests and quite happy with the area you've chosen. My neighborhood is lively, centrally located, and provides plenty to do—if you want, I can recommend restaurants, cafes, theatres, shops and more. We'll enjoy chatting if you wish, I'll leave you alone if you want privacy.

Languages: Deutsch
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings