Stunning, arty Loft with terrace

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Carrer d'Enric Granados, Barcelona, Catalonia 08008, Spain

The Space

Located on arguably the hippest street in Barcelona, Enrique Granados, the loft is a remarkable conversion of the former coach yard of Manuel Sayrach i Carrera’s private family residence (1926), one of Barcelona’s last modernist buildings.

The space was designed by Catalan architect Carlos Nicolau and offers loft-style living in the heart of the city. Experienced in creating retail spaces and hotels as well as residential properties, Nicolau has produced a sophisticated environment with six-metre ceilings, large windows and a total floor area of 150m2. Living areas flow seamlessly into one another providing a sense of calm and space. The loft has been featured in top European design and architecture magazines.

There are two double bedrooms, each with its own bathroom (one en-suite), and a cleverly-designed kitchen and living area. The interior is imaginatively furnished, with Starck chairs, yacht kitchen and a luxurious Coco-Mat bed. A further highlight is a private terrace off the living room mezzanine.

In the mezzanine you'll find a large, light flooded desk and working area equipped with wifi and Mac monitor ideal to get stuff done. Feel like music? The sound system begs top be plugged into your iPhone/player.

The Loft is ideally placed for exploring Barcelona’s many sights; most popular attractions such as the Gaudi buildings are within easy walking distance and there are buses and Provenca metro station nearby. Barcelona's prime shopping area is around the corner. The closest beach, La Barceloneta, is a 10-minute drive. If you want to simply relax in your surroundings, the superb selection of delis, restaurants and galleries on Enrique Granados are only steps from your door. This is the only pedestrianised area in central Barcelona, a favourite with local residents and abuzz with activity.

Rental of the loft (which can double as event space) includes regular cleanings.

We are also happy to offer premium services including:
- Airport transfers
- Personal shopping guides and special interest tours
- Personal virtual assistant at your service by phone, email & whatsup

If interested please send us a message with your travel dates and a little bit about yourself.

Please note that whilst normal check out is by noon and check-in by 3pm we can be quite flexible on this depending on other bookings; also be aware that in high season rental is a minimum of 3 days.

We are experienced hosts and take pride in providing guests a truly memorable experience in this fascinating city.

Please note that the loft is not a tourism apartment nor an aseptic 5* hotel space but our main family home. It is a private space which we enjoy sharing with likeminded persons of all sorts of creative backgrounds. Since starting to host in 2010 we have met and hosted fabulous persons through airbnb. More recently (and due to the success of airbnb?) we have unfortunately had guests with whom we have little in common which has resulted in a few bad reviews (mostly linked to a heatwave this summer and loft's lack of A/C).
Please abstain from booking if you expect a hotel service, are not open minded/appreciative of a fairly personal space and/or happy to deal with possible issues in an amicable manner.
Please take the time to read all our reviews to get a balanced view of the loft and ourselves.

Thank you for your interest and looking forward to perhaps meeting you soon!
Matthias & Noelia

Btw, the cat on the picture has long left to our country house :)

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $2280 /week
Security Deposit: $428
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • It is easy to imagine never leaving the loft! Great open space and an amazing neighborhood. We loved the coffee shops, bakeries and bars/restaurants that are literally outside the door to the building. Could not ask for a nicer neighborhood. We would move there if we could.

    October 2013
  • Our family of four stayed here in August2013. This is definitely one to avoid in summer. There is no air conditioning and being on or below ground level right at the back of some high buildings, there is very poor ventilation so it feels stuffy and airless. More a basement than a loft. There is no window you can look out of and see anything except a wall. The "terrace" would be more aptly described as a "yard" - surrounded by huge walls on all sides.

    The apartment is clean, spacious, quiet and well equipped. It has a nice shower, very good wi-fi and is arty, though not "stunning". Could do with some repainting. The location is very good, on a quiet street with several lovely local restaurants nearby. All the arrangements worked smoothly and we found the document with local advice and restaurant recommendations from Matthias the owner very useful.

    However, given the description and the price, we felt disappointed with the reality of the apartment. However, we still had a great time in Barcelona.

    August 2013
    Matthias
    Response from Matthias:

    Hello Valerie, thank you for the feedback and very sorry to hear you were disappointed. The recent heatwave was not comfortable to anyone in Barcelona. The loft is what it is, the former coach yard of a protected modernist building (it is on the ground floor - not in the basement). It gets more light and air then most apartments in Barcelona and is surrounded by the city's finest architecture. I guess one either 'understands' this sort of space or doesn't. Thankfully over 30 guest reviews of 5 stars testify to the uniqueness and great experience the loft offers.

    August 2013
  • In all my years of renting apartments, this was without a doubt the worst experience ever. The apartment was over-sold on the Airbnb website, it was priced as a luxury apartment, but in reality was a concrete bunker which has been built in the courtyard of the adjacent apartment building (the web pictures gave the impression that it was part of the apartment, not an add on). The concrete structure was exposed to the Spanish sun all day and radiated heat all night. It had no air conditioning and the heat inside the apartment was unbearable after about 10am. At night it was impossible to sleep. I considered it a health hazard, especially for my two young children. We live in California and are well use to high summer temperatures, but without adequate insulation and air conditioning, this was unbearable. When we complained to Matthias, the owner, he provided an additional portable fan (there were two small desk top fans), which made no difference what so ever, but otherwise he was very rude and dismissive of our situation, even saying that it was our fault for renting an apartment in Spain in Summer with no air conditioning. We had booked (and paid for) 8 nights in Barcelona, but could only stand the excessive heat for 3 nights (we should have left after one night, but we don't give up easily and are not people who like to complain), after which we gave up and booked into a hotel nearby, so we had to pay twice for accommodation. Matthias refused to consider any kind of refund for the nights we didn't stay and was very rude and unsympathetic. His attitude contrasted sharply with other Airbnb experiences we have had, all of which have been excellent. Matthias and his unsympathetic, money-grabbing and arrogant attitude as well as the inhumane living conditions of his apartment ruined our holiday in Barcelona. We chose this apartment because it looked nice and was the most expensive available. We expected luxury and instead met with unlivable conditions. I would strongly discourage anyone from renting this apartment at any price, let alone the premium that this landlord charges, but if you are going to book it, check the weather first, if it's going to be hot - forget it !!.

    August 2013
    Matthias
    Response from Matthias:

    It is hard to understand why we are being blamed for a heatwave. And even harder to understand why this leads David to get (very) personal.
    Please read all the reviews before considering booking so as to get a balanced view of the loft and ourselves. Thank you.

    August 2013
  • We had our stay at the apartment at the end of July 2013. The flat is well situated. The supermarket is a block away (3 min walk), restaurants and cafes are right after you walk out from the building. You can reach any part of the city by taxi, bus or metro. You can reach the stations in not more than 5 min.
    The overal impression of the flat is 4 of 5. First of all, we didn't notice that it was the ground floor and we had some troubles with insects. We were unlucky to arrive just after the entire building had poisoned the insects. So, some of them came out from their hideouts. But it was for the first day. After we connected with the host, he coped with the problem and our stay continued to be as we planned.
    Second, it was quite hot in Barcelona and we didn't notice (yes, again) that there were no air-conditioneer. But when you arrive you understand why - the loft is huge, and it's difficult to cool it down. By the way, in Barcelona it's not so popular to instal the airconds. We found fans and managed to survive the heat with thier help.
    Third, the terrace. It looked quite lovely on the pictures, but it's hard to be alone there, because all the balconies and windows from the nearest building are facing the terrace. But we've enjoyed a couple of evenings with cava and ham :)

    But all the things i've said earlier didn't spoil our stay. Everything was quite good and Matthias is a great host. Would recommend this property to everybody who seeks for a comfy and chic stay in Barcelona.

    July 2013
  • Had a nice stay here. The host was very responsive, all went very smoothly. Location is great. There were 4 of us and we liked the loft. There was a list of restaurant recommendations supplied by the host which was mostly good but could do with some updating. For example, one restaurant Ponsa was nothing like what was described in the notes and we would give it 1 star. We tried a few restaurants in the street outside the door. Bardot and Cheri were both good restaurants. Overall the warehouse is well described and a great place to stay in Barcelona.

    July 2013
    Matthias
    Response from Matthias:

    Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy Ponsa restaurant James. We are big fans so thank you for pointing out that we should perhaps review the description and tone down our enthusiasm..

    July 2013
  • Me and a colleague visited Barcelona to attend a n academic conference at ESADE, and stayed in Matthias' loft for 4 nights. In short, the whole experience was excellent! The flat in it self is just amazing, and the location is superb. Just outside the entrance is a very cozy pedestrianized street with a great selection of cafees, bars and restaurants. There are also a supermarket and a 24h (!) bakery located 2 min walk from the flat. So we had fresh, out of the oven baguettes for breakfast every day. So, to sum up: The flat is just as amazing as it looks at the photos, the neighbourhood is brilliant, and Matthias is a great host! Highly recommended! PS: Follow Matthias' advice and check out the nearby tapas bar Bar Mut. Best tapas in Barca!

    June 2013
  • Matthias is a great host and owns a really nice loft in Barcelona, perfectly located ! He did everything to made us feel at home and was very flexible with us, letting us check-in at noon the first day, and at 2pm on our last day (there was no guest that had to check-in the day we check-out). He gave us very good tips about Barcelona to be sure we would enjoyed our stay and we did ! No doubt, next time in Barcelona, we will contact Matthias again to come back and stay in his loft !

    June 2013
  • Stayed at Matthias's loft with a friend this May. It was incredibly comfortable and extremely convenient to be in such a central location.

    Matthias's was a great host and his recommendations were spot on.

    I highly recommend this loft and host.

    Cheers

    June 2013
  • Barcelona is a wonderful place to enjoy a beautiful city and yourself!

    November 2012
  • Noelia is a lovely hostess - I didn't get to meet Matthias but am sure he is lovely too! Their communication was great before, during and after our stay. I walked in to the loft and said "wow". I love this style of home. Brilliant, open design, soaring ceilings and very comfortable. Gorgeous, sleek bathroom. Noelia showed us around and had some bottled water, tea/coffee options and fruit for us on our arrival which was a kind gesture. Unfortunately for me I did not get to really appreciate the apartment and make the most of it. We really only used it as a base to get to Figueres the next day. The best way to enjoy this apartment is with a longer stay to enjoy the kitchen, the spaciousness, the outdoor area and the surrounding shopping area. Oh and if you like reading you could just come and stay and enjoy the enormous array of books whilst lounging on the very comfortable sofa! I love my coffee and was delighted to hear that there was an award winning coffee shop across the road. I would highly recommend this loft but as enjoyable as it was it was an expensive option for what we needed it for.

    October 2012
Per Month
From
$406
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 505 times
Languages
Deutsch, English, Español, Français, Italiano, Nederlands, Português
School
London Business School
About
Noelia is Spanish, Matthias Austrian, we work in communication/media and live in Barcelona with our son Leon. We are avid travelers and enjoy seeing life from as many perspectives as possible. We love to share our enthusiasm for Barcelona (and Spain in general) with friends and visitors. No matter what your background and interests (the more eclectic the better ;)), we love to make sure you get the most our of your stay. We also own a fantastic apartment in the old town of Essaouira, Morocco (a UNESCO World Heritage site) where we love to step back in time, read, cook and play with wind and waves.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
3 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings