CrocCondos Studio near Beach 2nd fl

Apartment - Private room · Norte, Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo 77720, Mexico

Croc Condos is conveniently located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, 3 blocks from the turquoise Caribbean and 1 block from the famous 5th Avenue. We offer a full furnished studios & apartments, including amenities at an affordable price.

The Space

This studio is on the 2nd floor and is ideal for guests that want a private room with a balcony and hammock. The studio is 1 room with 1 private bathroom, small kitchenette and 1 sliding glass doors to the balcony.

Guest Access

Our fully furnished studios include wifi, cable tv, air conditioning, double bed, kitchenette, private bathroom, stove top, ceiling fan, sheets, towels, silverware and plates. All you need to bring with you is your bathing suit!

Interaction with Guests

There is no on site management so guests are free to arrive any time after 3pm and check out before 11am. Our friendly staff is always available for questions and most often around the building in the morning hours of the day. For any issues or maintenance needs, please contact us via Airbnb for quick and friendly service.
Traveling alone? No problem, CrocCondos is a small community of like-minded travelers who go on trips, bbq on the rooftop, and party at the fun nightclubs together. Many people meet amazing friends and come year after year. We have repeat guests every year and listen to our guests' recommendations to make your stay amazing!

The Neighborhood

We cater to travelers looking for an economical option that provides more than the basics in an amazing Mexican neighborhood. Our guests love playing soccer with the street kids or buying beer or snacks at the local "tienda" (store).
CrocCondos is situated on the north end of Playa del Carmen 3 blocks from the best beach, Coco Bay. We are close to the famous restaurants and cafes on 5th Avenue and also the one and only Canibal Royal Beach Club. Like to cook? There is a supermarket conveniently located within a 3 minute walk away. Like going out? We have a list of restaurants for all preferences and budgets.

Getting around

CrocCondos is located on the north end of Playa del Carmen and is a quick walk to the beach, 5th Avenue and many bars and restaurants in the area. Guests can also walk to the supermarket or take $2 taxi. Buses run along the main highway headed north to Cancun or South to Akumal, Tulum, Sian Kaan, Chetumal & Belize. We also work with Hola Bikes (see our website) who can rent out a bike for a day, week or month.

To arrive to CrocCondos you can take an ADO ($11) bus from Cancun airport to the Playa del Carmen terminal if arriving before 6pm. Once at the terminal, take a taxi to the address listed on the listing. After 6pm, please take a taxi ($40) directly to the building.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $280 /week
Monthly Price: $650 /month
Security Deposit: $250
Cleaning Fee: $15
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • We spent a few days at Croc Condos and the reviews on here we're spot on! Croc Condos is perfect if you're looking for a simple, no frills, inexpensive place to explore the Riviera. Great location and close to the quieter end of the beach. Like a private hostel room with the perks of your own bathroom and kitchenette! Melissa is very guest-satisfaction-focused. Whenever we had a question or snag, she was all over it!

    March 2014
  • Charming little condo. We loved our stay!

    January 2014
  • We stayed at CrocCondos for three days. I really enjoyed the was clean and the kitchen was well stocked. New to air b&b, we didn't know to look for a direct email from them. The code to get in was sent to my junk mail so we were stranded in the street at night. We found a hostel nearby who let us use their internet and we contacted Melissa/Monica. Both responded right away right away which was a relief! I would def stay here again. Thank you!

    January 2014
    Response from Melissa:

    Thanks Jenny for staying with us and the great communication during your stay. We hope you come back and relax with us again!

  • Apartment was everything we needed for our stay in playa.. Good location- short walk to 5th avenue and other shopping/food. Cherished the air con! Loved all the vouchers and discounts for bars and restaurants left for us as well. The rooftop was amazing and we had a couple of great nights watching the sun go down over playa!

    Only negative would have to be our neighbour. After our first night there, we were woken by him yelling at us at 6am accusing us of leaving the gate open overnight and being responsible for his bike being stolen. We had locked the gate, however even if we hadn't, his bike obviously was not locked up despite the sign that says you should! He then left an angry note at our door, and from then on in, was rude every time we said hello or tried to explain that we did in fact lock the gate. So if you are in Studio 6, steer clear of the guy to your right!

    Overall a really great experience at croc condos. Hosts responded promptly to emails and was extremely good value for money. Definitely recommend!

    January 2014
    Response from Melissa:

    Thanks Georgia for staying with us and we hope you come back to stay with us next time. Safe travels!

  • we arrived there was no one waiting for us and it was all broken and the road without lights as district and 'scruffy,
    we asked for help to contact the manager! walked into the room we were shocked by the disgusting, moldy fridge full of dirty kitchen utensils, sheets with blood stains window would not close and dirty toilet! dirty walls with exposed electrical wires! we checked out after one night! 6 am we were out looking for another accommodation! there are many places in piu'puliti d 'neighborhoods,,
    I would not recommend this place for people on vacation and he wants to feel clean when you return to the room after a day at the beach! we had room 8!
    worse than a hostel! then we contacted the host but was very shallow! she definitely lives in rooms so of poor hygiene and comfort!

    December 2013
    Response from Melissa:

    We are very disappointed with this reservation and guest. We have never had
    so many issues with a checkin in all years we have operated. The guest was
    not familiar with the Airbnb system and was rude to our staff before they
    entered the unit. As they are correct, we are not a 5 star all inclusive
    hotel, we do provide incredibly-priced apartments, 3 blocks from one of the
    nicest beaches in Playa del Carmen. We operate in Mexico and although
    Giovanni did not take to the amazing Mexican neighborhood, many of our
    guests do. Its what makes us unique to other places. Although we could not
    accommodate this guest, we hope you read our other reviews and decide
    what experience best suits you!

  • I had messaged Melissa a while back requesting a two month stay at Croc condos. Unfortunately due to unexpected circumstances on my end, I had to cancel one month and move the other to a much later date in the year. When it finally came to that time, I couldn't even stay the full month. With all of the twists and turns, before even having the chance to meet Melissa she accommodated to all of my needs! She even offered to upgrade my room as I only stayed 9 days. Not only was she the sweetest and easiest host to contact, she would go out of her way to ensure that all of our needs were met during the stay. I had travelled alone with my little sister (17 years of age) and croc condos was certainly a safe and beautiful place! It had everything we needed, and was in the perfect location. Our bed was comfortable, we had great air conditioning as well as a fan and a beautifully updated bathroom! It was bigger and better then we had expected. And when Melissa mentions you just need your bikini, she really means it. She had fresh towels for us, shampoo + body lotion, and even salt along with other spices for when we were cooking. I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it to my friends! The price is great, the room is better, and the service is best. What more could you ask for? Thanks for our amazing and memorable stay Melissa!

    November 2013
    Response from Melissa:

    Thanks Annika and we hope you and your sister are able to come back and stay with us again. We appreciate your kind review and do strive to accommodate our guests so they have a memorable vacation. Safe travels!

  • We enjoyed our stay at Croc Condos. The location was great; 4 blocks from the beach and 2 blocks from 5th Ave. We had a rental car, but the place is walking distance to many great restaurants and clubs. We were just a few blacks away from a great cafe and a charming little health food store called Bio-Natural.

    Our studio was pretty clean although the bathroom could have used a good deep cleaning. Having air conditioning was awesome and cable TV was a welcome perk. The wifi signal was good and consistent. It was also nice having a hammock outside our door. Other perks included free coupons for lounge chair and towel rental at a semi-swanky nearby beach club called Canibal Royal.

    We would have liked to have met Melissa, but instead we ended up communicating mostly with Monica from Latido de Mexico, which I guess is the property management company. Although we didn't meet in person, Monica was responsive and professional. When I emailed her to tell her that our studio's skillet and saucepan were corroded, she responded promptly. The next day, a very nice woman named Sally came by bringing replacement cookware.

    Overall, we were very comfortable at Croc Condos. They're not fancy digs, but the value is pretty fantastic. We would definitely recommend the place to folks wanting to stay in Playa del Carmen on a budget.

    August 2013
    Response from Melissa:

    Thanks Tobias & Isabell for staying at CrocCondos. We strive to provide economical accommodation so we are happy decided to stay with us! Hope you come back again to stay with us soon~

  • I stayed in a studio for 4 weeks. Excellent location at an affordable price.

    August 2013
    Response from Melissa:

    Thank you Lydia and we appreciate all the feedback you gave.

  • I don't normally leave negative reviews and I debated with myself a bit about this one, but I think it's important to give the full picture - as I felt very disappointed after reading all the great reviews here and then finding the place wasn't as nice as everyone suggested.

    For a couple days on a low budget, this place might be okay: Melissa is very nice. It's in a good location. And there tend to be nice people staying there, which is always a plus.

    That said, for a longer stay, I wouldn't recommend it. The bed is horrible - you can actually feel the springs sticking into your back. Contrary to their profile, they don't provide everything you need (some basic kitchen supplies were missing and there were no cleaning supplies except a broom). The water and power went out several times while I was there. The bathroom doesn't ventilate well at all. The water pressure (and temperature) was inconsistent. The walls don't keep noise out.

    The biggest issue was that the property manager was often slow to respond and unhelpful in her responses. When one tenant was trapped in his apartment due to a broken door lock, it took her all day to do something about it and her initial response was “I don’t know what I can do for him.”

    It’s not the worst place I’ve ever stayed and, as I said, Melissa is very nice and I think she cares about fixing the problems with the place. But I absolutely wouldn’t stay here again.

    July 2013
    Response from Melissa:

    Of course we are disappointed that you left us not only a negative review about your stay, but also thought it was appropriate to leave negative feedback for other guests when you might not have all the information necessary for that judgment call. We apologize for the problems you encountered, but wish you also included how we fixed a lot of these issues during your stay. As for other guests that review us, I think it would be impossible for us to receive such great reviews if other guests did not find value in what we offer.

  • We had a very nice stay here at CrocCondos!! Simple, but had everything a man could need. Being located at the end of the famous 5 avenue gave a mix of both the local atmosphere and the touristy shops, restaurants, bars ect. Overall a very positive stay, and would definitely recommend someone who wants to experience the lovely Playa Del Carmen on a budget :)

    May 2013
    Response from Melissa:

    Thanks Alexander! We hope you come back and visit us again!

Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 100 times
English, Español, Italiano
Northern Arizona University
Peace Corps Master Trainer, Owner of CrocCondos
I am originally from Chicago, graduated with a degree in Industrial Design from Northern Arizona University, a course of study that included two years in Newcastle Australia. I spent four years working for the U.S. Peace Corps in Bolivia where I assisted in the organization of several small communities, helping to develop a thriving business in beekeeping, honey procurement and merchandizing. After traveling extensively in South America, I found myself in Playa del Carmen where I decided to dedicate years to develop CrocCondos. I went back to the US to acquire a Masters Degree in Business Administration to improve my managerial and customer service skills. My quest for knowledge and new experiences is endless and I am committed to community development through participation in workshops and events such as Taste of Playa & Think Green Eco Expo. I love to travel and have visited around 40+ countries in my last 10 years of travel. I have stayed in cheap dorms to amazing 5 star hotels in all different cultures and landscapes. I enjoy the simple things in life and my favorite thing is hosting new people that are excited to explore the Riviera Maya. We are always open to suggestions about how to improve our accommodations, but try to keep costs for guests economical. We have amazing staff members that work with me and are just as excited as I am to host you. We invite you to see for yourself what the magical Riviera Maya holds!
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings