Friends and family away from home!

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · St John's Ave, Roseau, St George Parish, Dominica

We offer accommodations in our family home. Your room has it's own private entrance and bathroom. You can keep to yourself or join our family for meals, activities etc. we offer kayaks, bikes and quick access to hiking, snorkeling etc.

The Space

Rent a private room with personal bathroom off of a larger house near the Caribbean Sea on the island of Dominica. Share meals or prepare your own by accessing the large kitchen and living area in the main house. We offer river access, kayaks and bicycles. Dominica is famous for its natural beauty, hiking and diving. We are near Ross University which often organizes outings which guests can participate in for a fraction of the normal tourist prices.

Expect to be treated like an old friend or member of the family. We can arrange to prepare meals, to share meals or let you do your own thing.

We are on the northern end of the island near Portsmouth, about 45 minutes from Roseau. The house is on a quiet street surrounded by trees. The Picard River flows through our back yard about 100 yards from the ocean. We are within a 5 minute walk of restaurants and a grocery store. Near Ross University.

Cabrits Diving is blocks away and taxis and buses are readily available.

Guest Access

Kayaks, bikes, the river, the beach, a dive shop within a couple of blocks, convenient grocery store and transport access. If you have children, we have a large fenced yard with a tree house.

Interaction with Guests

The level of interaction depends on the guest. Do you want to join us for dinner or cook a meal? Would you like to play board games or go for hikes together? Do you like to visit with other people?

The Neighborhood

It is usually very quiet, surrounded by trees and near the ocean. There is a river bordering the back yard as well. The house is within walking distance of stores and restaurants and close to an American medical school.

Getting around

Transports are easy to catch and run fairly regularly 6 days a week. Taxis and car rentals are also an option.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $190 /week
Monthly Price: $700 /month
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Bree and her family are really great. I had a good time staying at her guest room. In the house I missed nothing. It is not a hotel, it is more like a living community.

    Thank you Bree and Doug

    April 2014
  • we spent two nights at Bree's house and it was definitely a good experience.
    the house is a 10 min walk from city center and Indian River.
    Breed helped us with directions, she offered us her canoes and she was flexible when we asked to stay one more night (and finally we didn't)
    lovely family, included her 2 dogs.

    March 2014
  • I had a wonderful 6 weeks with
    Bree and her family. I felt very relaxed sharing their family home. Sometimes they cooked, or I cooked or we shared cooking. They were very accommodating and any minor problems were resolved. They gave me a local sim card for my phone and arranged various excursions via the Ross university spouses group.
    The house is in a great position, so close to the beach and I loved the river at the bottom of the garden, where i made my own hot pool amongst the boulders. Don't expect a hotel experience. This is a 'normal' messy home with kids and dogs and it was exactly what I wanted. Bree and Doug are friendly and kind hosts.
    So, thanks Bree and Doug. I hope we stay in touch and that one day you will come to England and stay with me. Big hugs and much love...Naomi

    February 2014
  • This place have an small room, one double bed, and that's is.The shower didn't function, no mirror on the small bathroom. Nearly no possibility for using electrician things like shaving masking, CP, light ... Very, very bad condition for making a little food, and boil some water for the an so one . No good host, should not be allowed to rent out .2 and 3 dogs barking nearly all time. We left one day before we should, could not stay there anymore, however we paid for one night without sleep there.Nancy

    January 2014
  • We spend 6 days there and we had a very great time.
    We feeled at home immedialtly, the Portsmouth area is furthermore a very nice region for a family. Bree and Douglas were of good advice. Merci beaucoup!

    December 2013
Per Month
From
$30
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 18 times
School
Capital High School, The Evergreen State College, University of Idaho, Gonzaga University, Gonzaga University
Work
Ross University School of Medicine, Wellpinit School District, The Krista Foundation for Global Citizenship
About
I live in Dominica and teach at Ross University School of Medicine. We moved here from WA state in July. I have a 5 year old daughter and two 3 legged dogs! We lived in Micronesia for 2.5 years and taught on an Indian reservation in the United States. Enjoy sailing, diving and reading. We love to travel and meet new people.
View full profile
Response Rate
50%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
yesterday

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings