Entrance to the apartment - a lovely place to sitYou enter into our downstairs gallery space
Old distillery quiet and central
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

A whole floor in a fascinating old distillery & malting complex - a calm oasis within an old industrial area now home to art galleries, fashion houses and creative startups. Minutes from vibrant Gertrude & Smith Sts and a lovely walk through parks to the CBD.

The space

Our apartment is part of a fascinating old red brick brewery complex built in 1862 - when Melbourne was 25 years old! It's an amazing oasis in the middle of an old industrial/brewery area now mainly occupied by architects, art galleries, graphic studios and fashion outlets. Although only minutes from vibrant Smith, Gertrude and Brunswick Sts the area is surprisingly peaceful. Your space has its own private door onto one of Collingwood's funky graffiti covered lanes which features a new cafe, artist run gallery and neon artworks glowing night. It would suit a couple or two single people.

Guest access

You have use of the whole ground floor consisting of gallery, bedroom/study/kitchenette & bathroom. The bedroom contains a super comfortable queen bed, WiFi, TV and small sitting area overlooking a leafy internal light well. An air conditioner for winter heating/summer cooling as well as fans & electric blanket. A separate office opens off the bedroom with a good work desk, a eclectic collection of books, (old) iPad and (older) iMac you are very welcome to use. This extra room would suit independent guests and would be very useful if you need somewhere to work. There's a single bed on a mezzanine level in the office accessed via a ladder. While there's no door between the rooms the beds are well out of sight. You have a small refrigerator, kettle, microwave, toaster, tea/coffee & breakfast cereals, milk, spreads etc. The bathroom is at the other end of the gallery and is for your use only. You are welcome to use our kitchen upstairs to prepare meals and may like to have breakfast in the morning sun on the upstairs terrace overlooking the laneway.

Interaction with guests

Mercedes and I are always happy to give local advice and help you make the most of your visit. We often enjoy sharing stories with guests but of course you can come and go just as you please - either by the front door or the door in your room. We won't bother you however if you have a query, or feel in need of a chat, we'd be delighted to oblige. We are generally around.

Other things to note

We are happy to run a load of washing for you. There's an iron & small ironing board in the room - just ask to borrow a full sized one if required.


Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee $25
Weekly Discount: 16%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check out by 10AM

Our living room upstairs is open to the gallery so we ask you to be quiet in this area when we're at home.
Please keep the upstairs kitchen and gallery clean after use as these are shared areas.
No smoking inside the building but you can in the courtyard or back lane.
You a very welcome to explore our rather eclectic book collection - just put books back where you find them.
Please let us know beforehand if you intend to bring other people into our home.
Thanks!!!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

198 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jordan User Profile
September 2017
Definitely a place to stay. Mercedes and Paul are so welcoming. They make you feel like family. So close to restaurants, bars, Coles, public transport and parking. We had an absolute blast! Can't thank them enough!!

Simon User Profile
August 2017
My second stay here and I had a great time again. Great space, clean and spacious with lots of character in an excellent location close to bars/restaurants of Fitzroy and Collingwood, and very close to the CBD. I enjoyed chatting to Paul and Mercedes who are very friendly, welcoming and helpful hosts. Would definitely stay again. Thanks a lot!

Audrey User Profile
August 2017
A perfect stay with perfect hosts.

Michaela User Profile
August 2017
What a great, private, awesome place. So central, we walked everywhere. Hosts are fantastic and helpful. Would highly recommend it; we plan to visit again. Great place.

Grace User Profile
July 2017
A great place in a lovely location. Very easy to get around from here. We would definitely go back.

Ward User Profile
July 2017
Paul and Mercedes are lovely hosts. They gave us tips about Melbourne over a drink and a talk. Recommend!

Ben User Profile
July 2017
I had a terrific stay at Mercedes and Paul's place. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for something especially evocative of Melbourne's inner north.

Collingwood, AustraliaJoined in March 2012
Paul & Mercedes User ProfilePaul & Mercedes is a superhost.

Mercedes has a background in social work/counselling, teaching, farming & fashion and follows passions in art and craft, gardening, home renovation and volunteer activities. Paul had a university career in science, education, software development and information system and is occupied on a range of woodwork, jewellery, home renovation & app development projects. We've both travelled quite widely over the years and have grand plans for the future.

Airbnb was a revelation to us - discovered through Paul's daughter, an active host in Fairfield and frequent traveller. Now multiple family members have become active and enthusiastic hosts and travellers. We love living in this great part of Melbourne with its history, architecture, galleries, cafés and dynamic cultural mix and feel privileged to be able to share our passion with others. We'll be only too pleased to help you make the most of your stay in Melbourne.

Languages: Deutsch, English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings