About this listing
Near beaches Apartment is situated in a quiet part of Jelsa, 50 meters from the sea and the rocky beach. Not far from the apartment there are several small pebble beaches. Relax to the sound and sea.
Near pebble beaches Apartment "B" has a bedroom with two beds and one extra bed, bathroom and kitchen. In front of the apartment, in the shade, is a area with table, chairs and a small gardens with palm trees. Guests can use grill and WiFi internet. Also, in each room there are linens, bathroom towels and a ceiling fan. Car parking is 50 meters from the house and it is free of charge.
The combination of the pine forest and the sea, along with promenade near sea provide excellent conditions for sports and recreation for your entire family (jogging, cycling, rollerblading, long walks, Nordic walking). The usual offer is made complete with beautiful landscapes that gradually ascend from the sea towards the interior of island, making it an ideal destination for cycling lovers, where you will find wine cellars, olive oil tasting rooms, taverns with Dalmatian specialties where you will experience all the richness of Dalmatian flavors and scents of the Mediterranean.
Jelsa is located in a bay on the northern coast of the island of Hvar, which with its moderate climate, beautiful beaches, unique vegetation, historic and cultural heritage is considered as one of the most beautiful islands in the world. Of all the places on the island, Jelsa has numerous and most beautiful beaches. Besides its natural beauty, Jelsa is abundant with olive groves and vineyards, and some of the best Croatian wines come from Jelsa's vineyards and cellars.
The house is situated in a quiet part of Jelsa, 50 meters from the sea and the rocky beach. Not far from the house there are several small sand and pebble beaches. Around the house there are gardens in which there are many mediterranean plants such as olives, figs, pomegranates, lemons, rosemary ... and by the house is a forest. All these plants coupled with the proximity of the sea contributes to the unique relaxing and pleasant aroma.
The island of Hvar has been known since antiquity for its important strategic and nautical location, its various historical periods, cultural and natural monuments, and literature. It is characterized by mild climate, warm winters and pleasant summers, mediterranean nature is not disturbed, tourists can enjoy fresh fish and distinguished wines. It is considered one of the ten most beautiful islands in the world. In the central part of the island lies Jelsa. The first lady of the whole island, richly decorated with indented coastline and numerous islands, romantic coves and defiant capes, its beauty is still, above all, a result of a healthy way of life of its residents.
Between Vrboska, Jelsa and Stari Grad lies the most fertile field in the Adriatic islands. The large plain rich with mediterranean culture - lush vineyards and very well-known wines, orchards, olive trees and vegetables. A special artistic atmosphere, as is rarely to be found, is achieved with the surrounding mountains and hills, where it is grown and bred mediterranean herbs - relaxing lavender, healing sage, delicious almonds, authentic carob, distinctive slender pine and dignified cypress. The trees and plants are anthem of health, planted with effort of human hands, and blessed with the sun - the trademark of the whole island. Hvar in fact has the most sunny hours in Croatia, an average of 2726 sunshine hours per year! It is right to say that the one who travels to Jelsa actually goes to get the sun.
What characterizes the climate of this region are the summer winds. Morning levant and afternoon mistral create an almost full day of air flow that brings refreshing thoughts. The effects of this synaesthesia of smell, taste, sound, color and touch are generally known - a natural herbal cocktail every needs. Beautiful scenery, pleasant climate and numerous historical monuments that tell the interesting history of this region and the hospitality of the people invite you to meet this town. When you visit Jelsa it will forever remain in your heart.
Guests can use barbecue, free public car parking and WiFi internet. There are linens, hand and shower towels.
•On the day of arrival the guests have to give to the owners their identification documents (passport or ID card) for the purpose of registration at the Tourist Board and the police. The documents will be returned to them within 1 hour.
•The guests are responsible for the cleanness of the apartment. The owners are not required to clean and tidy up, or to take out the garbage during the whole stay of the clients.
•The owners will change the bed linen every 7th day, and bathroom towels each 4th day, and for every new guest. Guests are not allowed to take towels, linens, or any other things outside of the apartment. We do not provide beach towels.
•There is no washing machine in the apartment, but it is possible to wash clothes with additional payment.
•The guests are obliged to take care of their personal things and valuables left in the accommodation. The owners will not be responsible in case of any disappearance, we advise the guests to always close windows and lock the doors when they go out.
•The owners will enter in the accommodation in order to check situation if they have any reason to believe that house rules are violated.
•The guests are kindly asked to take care of the accommodation and its furniture situated inside and outside of it. The guests are not allowed to move the furniture or to transport it to another location.
•When the guests go out of the accommodation they have the obligation to switch off the lights and electrical appliances, close the gas and water. It is not allowed to cool down food and drinks by leaving them under running water. It is forbidden to throw waste in the toilets or in any other place not predicted for this purpose like outside the house or in its vicinity.
•It is strictly forbidden that any person other that the guests stay inside or outside the accommodation. If any other person that the one declare at the moment of the reservation are present in the accommodation, the owners have the right to cancel the reservation.
•Guests who intentionally or accidentally damage the property, will have to reimburse the owners the full amount of the occurred damage.
•On the day of the arrival guest can come to the accommodation no earlier than 2 p.m.
On the day of departure the guests have to leave the accommodation the latest at 10:00. If they leave accommodation after 10:00 owners will charge guests will be charged like they have stayed one more day. Charging for extra day, caused by guest's later check out, doesn't mean that guests are allowed to stay one more day. The guests have the obligation to leave the accommodation in the same condition as they found it, tidy and undamaged.
•The guests are requested not to disturb the peace of the owners and other guests from 2 to 5pm and from 10pm to 8am.
•If you cancel your booking cancellation policy will apply. If you decide to leave apartment before agreed date we will not return you money difference.
Violation of house rules can result in the cancellation of the reservation, and charging the full amount of the price of the accommodation regardless of the shorter stay.
From Sep 30 - Dec 31, 2015 the minimum stay is 3 nights.
Fine room, but nothing more. Has all the things you need and an ok kitchen. Not much outdoor space to eat and relax - you are close to other guest, for better and for worse:)
Great location and amazing surroundings with plenty of amazing places to go and see. Renting a scooter and exploring the remote beaches is amazing.
Host are very kind even though they don't speak any English. All contact was to the son, who run the airbnb listing via phone, and he was very easy to contact. Host will pick you up and drive you to bus for 50 kn.
Listing is accurate. We enjoyed our stay however it wasn't our favorite place we stayed in Croatia. Robert was very helpful, professional, and quick in communication prior to arrival (on ferry options especially). We really appreciated that. Despite detailed directions we still had difficulty finding the place (mainly we got off on the wrong exit to Jelsa from the main road - I guess there are 3 or 4 and the most convenient one to get off on is the most west one(I think)). The location is nice, just an easy walk outside of Jelsa so you can see Jelsa but also have a private swim and enjoy the quietness - the sea is so gourgeous. The island is beautiful and we recommend renting bikes, and/or driving around Hvar! Jelsa is very family friendly and quiet compared to Hvar town. However, Hvar might be overrated compared to other parts of Croatia. Croatia is full of beautiful places and Hvar tends to be pretty popular and expensive compared to other places - the restaurants in jelsa were not as tasty and the servers not as nice as in most other parts along the coast or on other islands we went to. There wasn't really anything bad about the place (so we didn't complain) just a couple of things that weren't as nice as other places: 1. no hand soap, we used dish soap 2. kitchen adequately but not super well stocked - small plug in burners (2 and one usually wouldn't work) for very small pots and pans so I cooked each person's separately, no spatula, tiny cutting board, no cooking oil or pepper (there was salt, we ended up buying a huge oil) 3. little communication upon arrival, no recommendations or anything like that 4. floor was a little dirty and space was pretty small 5. tight space that just doesn't feel very private- your room is right next to another as well as a patio used constantly while we were there (by some elderly people - maybe Robert's parents) 5. no view as there are houses between this and the sea 6. using the washing machine cost 5 euros per load, did not include hanging up our clothes just use of machine. On the other hand, the room smelled nice - of lavendar, and sitting at the little table outside we felt cool and fresh in the shade. Robert's wife offered us some crepes on our last morning so that was nice. Overall, this is a good value for Hvar.
Thank you for nice and constructive review. Also thank you for sharing your diary with us. I always love reading travelogues and someone's experiences on travels, to which I have no influence. :)
I believe that your comment is written in good faith even if I don't agree with some of them. I agree that there was not hand soap in apartment. That is something what you should tell us and we will bring you soap. We have forgot it and you should tell us that.
First I don't agree with you statement that "there was not anything bad about place (so we didn't complain)" and then you write a lot of things which you are complaining about. I'm sorry that you haven't complained right away because most of those things could be fixed in few seconds. We just want that all our guests tell us if something is missing or if they need anything and then we can help them. Now is too late to fix it since you are already left apartment. If you have told us everything what you have wrote here then your stay could be much better for you.
I don't agree that floor is dirty. I do agree that place is small. Next time you should pay more to get bigger apartment instead of paying less for small apartment and then complaining about size. Place is as it is described and you can see how big it is in description and photos. Also you haven't rented apartment with view and also it was not described that apartment has view. We have also apartments with sea view. Your apartment was next to small gardens with palm trees in the shade, exactly like described.
Those old guys walking around are not my parents, those are other guests.
Next is washing machine... We have decided to give our guests chance to wash their clothes because we are aware that most of the guests which stay for less then a week are traveling a lot and they change apartments very often. Most of those apartments doesn't have washing machine, and we are aware that traveling with bag full of dirty clothes could be annoying. Because we have low prices we can not afford to spend half of earning on washing powder, water and electricity. Using of washing machine was free before, but when we started to have a lot of guest which have stayed for 1 or 2 nights and which have washed their clothes 3-4 times during their short stay we have decided that we have to charge something. The guest can choose himself whether to take the offer or not. Yes we don't hang up your clothes because we do not have laundry service, we just have washing machine. There is also laundry service in town which charges 15€ for using washing machine, and drying is also charged.. So you could wash your clothes there and then you can write in review for my apartment something about them, same like you have wrote about your experience with waiters and restaurants. Now I'm not sure should I leave washing machine to guests or not, since more complains I have with w.machine then without.
By the way, what is the point of writing and complaining about something that I don't have in apartment and neither in a description of apartment. We also don't have massage service or heated pool in apartment included in price and I don't know why you haven't mentioned that :)
This is a nice little place to stay, right near the water in Jelsa. Jelsa is a lovely town with a beautiful promenade and a good place to relax.
The room was just like you can see on the pictures. The neighboorhood however was not as described, and we had many difficulties in finding the place... The beach is close to the flat and you can walk downtown (approx. 15-20 minutes).
I recommand this (very) cheap room if you are planning to stay a short time in Jelsa.
Dear Matthieu, I don't know what is not as we have described... I would like that you are more specific. If you could send me in email what is wrongly described, I will be glad to fix those things.
I am sorry and I am surprised that you had many difficulties in finding our house.
However, I have sent you my web site with complete instructions and step by step Google street photos how to find us.
I wish you have had check those directions, maybe than it wouldn't be so hard to find. All our guests which follow those directions find us very easily.
We were very well received by Robert's parents in this apartment. Very nice people and even though they did not speak english(well... I dont speak croatian :) they did their best to make us feel welcome. One night we got into the appartment and found some pancakes with some delicious jam. They did not last long.
The description of the appartment is accurate and the kitchen has enough equip to cook. The appartment is decently located on a quiet residential area. Jelsa is a small city and the villa is located at about 20 min walk from the center. I like to stay away from the noise and there were none arround, other than the animals in the area.
There are two nice pebble beaches near the house with no one to share them with. Even though it rained for a few days when I stayed, me and my girlfriend had a good time.
Some advice: DO NOT TRUST Google Maps to take you there. You'll climb a huge stair and end up in a mud road. Just walk arround the harbour and follow the coast.
This was a great little apartment and for such a great price! Robert was really helpful and kind, although we never met him in person. He was always quick to respond and great to communicate with. His parents who don't speak English checked us in, again we didn't see much of them but they were nice. The apartment was very cold at night for us, since we were there not during the hot season. This is probably because the apartment would be designed to keep cool during the summer. Jelsa and the surrounds of this apartment are just beautiful! We enjoyed exploring the rock pools across the road and seeing the amazing natural landscape as well as seeing the quaint towns of Jelsa and Vrboska. We also drove some days to Stari Grad which had some interesting things to do. We were able to park our car in the street by the apartment, but do note that there is a row of buildings between the apartment and the road so you can't see your car from the apartment. Having said that it's a very quiet area so I doubt there would be any problems, seems very safe. People in the area seem nice and friendly and overall it was a great value apartment in a lovely area! I imagine in summer it would be even nicer!
Robert, Nana and indeed Stephan, Robert's dad (his mum too but we didn't get her name) were just SO friendly, helpful and caring. Nana was so concerned about our baby and the mosquitoes it was just heart warming, she even brought us a suitable baby mosquito repellent for us to use. The apartment is nicely situated if you're looking for a quiet place to stay close to the sea and not very far from towns then this is ideal. The wood fired grill in the garden is great and we used it a few times to cook. A good choice of beaches within easy walking distance. Really, we couldn't have asked for more. Can't recommend it enough.
This host has 109 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Robert
My family and I have several apartments for lease in Jelsa, a small town on most beautiful island, Hvar. We are renting apartments for almost 30 years. We started renting our apartments through Airbnb recently, and so far we have great reviews! We love traveling and meeting new people but even more hosting people and we will do whatever we can to make your stay at our apartments the best possible. Hope you will enjoy your time in Jelsa and our apartments.