This is the largest room in the house. It's the Master Suite with big in suite bathroom and a nice private balcony patio for sitting outside. The room has a king size bed a sofa, two very comfortable chairs, a desk TV and music station. The Bathroom is spacious with a walk in shower, bathtub and marble top his and hers vanity.
The location is excellent. The house is half a block off Congress ave. and much of Austin's best shopping and dining. SOCO. or South Congress, is home to Guerros, Vespio, Perlas, Hopdaddy's Home Slice Pizaa, the Continental Club and much much more You can walk to everything including downtown which is a mile. Taxis to down town are about $7 . The house is open and spacious with several outdoor seating areas. Guests are welcome in all parts of the house. The kitchen is large and is a great place to gather in the evenings before heading out.
Very clean and the host was accommodating toward our last minute reservation. Great location.
Friday, February 1, I paid Airbnb $956 for a three night accommodation March 11, 12 & 13. Sunday, March 10 at 3:30PM, Matt Schram called to inform me that the room I rented from him was not available the first night. He said he was trying to accommodate everyone for SXSW and needed to move me to a smaller room. He said he would give me a cash refund. The room I got was a converted pantry and closet with a full size bed. Matt said that the best time to move to the large suite I paid for would be 2PM Tuesday, March 12. I arranged my schedule to work with that. I was out early for a meeting and came back to take a nap and shower at 12:50PM. There were no pillowcases or sheets on the bed, no towels in the bathroom. Therefore, no nap or shower for me. At 2PM, when I went to move to the room I originally rented. It was not yet cleaned. The cleaning lady was in the room, and her daughter was napping on the couch. At 2:40PM, she came out and told me the room was ready for me. The room turned out to be Matt's own bedroom/office, which he still felt free to use although he rented it to me. I have rented many rooms and stayed in many B&B's in my travels for years. I have never run across a situation where the owner has someone rent his own personal room while he stays in the building. The room was filled with Matt's things. The closets and dressers were all full. There was no where to hang clothes. It was strange and uncomfortable to say the least. There were no shades on the window at the head of the bed, no towels in the bathroom. When I was in the room Tuesday, March 12 at 4PM taking a nap, Matt unlocked the door and entered the room. He did not knock. He said he needed to get some shampoo and get cleaned up. Was he going to use my shower? I guess he still felt it was his shower and room to use freely although I paid Airbnb $956 for it. He came into the room and got something from the bathroom. I felt so uncomfortable and cheated at this point that I gathered my stuff, left the house and found other accommodations. Matt showed no regard for privacy, schedule, space. There was continuous construction in the house, broken refrigerator, dog hair covered couches. I have had no response from Matt, and I have received no refund of any kind. For $956, I spent one night in a room that was much smaller than the one for which I paid. I incurred more expenses on my trip and missed appointments as a result.
This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.