Master Bedroom - Very Near CBD!

House - Private room · Todman St, Wellington, Wellington 6021, New Zealand

The Space

This is the large master bedroom of my own property. The house is shared with two friendly quiet male flatmates who work in IT. I have a dog also who may be around from time to time as I maybe (I have a fairly self contained space in the loft), he's a very friendly huntaway, so not suitable for anyone allergic.

The house is a character villa just up the road from Brooklyn Shops on Todman St. The room has just been renovated and consists of a near new very comfy queen bed, wardrobe, drawers, desk, and chair and a heater even a kettle. It also has a basin and vanity unit with cold water only. The room is very sunny and overlooks the deck and native bush so is very private.

The whole house is very private and sheltered and gets all day sun. There are lots of Tuis and other native birds flying about, a large sunny deck out front over-looking the harbour, and a paved courtyard out back which leads down to a yard.

The house is FULLY insulated and fitted with a HEATPUMP/AIR CONDITIONER. The hot water is gas-heated and endless, and the house has warp-speed WIRELESS internet.

Brooklyn is a great suburb with an excellent local pub, library, superette, DVD store, fast food, pharmacy, etc, and the wonderful Penthouse Cinema which plays off-mainstream movies, and of course it's only a few minutes to town by bus. There is a bus stop literally on the doorstep, although it's an easy walk to town through Central Park. There's free parking on the street outside also.

I'm more than happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You're happy to use spices and condiments in the kitchen. You'll love the bed, it's an extremely comfortable pocket coil mattress that everyone who's stayed here loves.

Please message me if you have any questions - happy to help.

Cheers,
Chris.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $13 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $341 /week
Monthly Price: $1376 /month
Cleaning Fee: $22
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Chris is a very friendly, warm and gregarious (thanks for teaching me that word Chris) host! He made us feel very comfortable and at home from the first time we walked into his house. The room was great with a comfortable bed and amazing view of Wellington. Al the dog is a real 'love-muffin' and you cannot help just falling in love him. We were really sad to leave, and we can recommend this listing!

    March 2014
  • Chris is the first Airbnb host I ever stayed with, and I could not have asked for a better experience as an introduction to this whole world. The room was great, as was the whole house and it's location in Wellington. Chris was such a pleasure to stay with, friendly and social, super helpful with things like letting me know when he was going shopping so I could go in the car too, and he even gave me a lift into town a few times. Al the dog is friendly & boisterous and likes to bark at the television when there's an animal on the screen, and he was a pleasure to be around. I didn't see much of the other two guys that live in the house but I did meet them and they are both nice friendly guys, but Chris was just absolutely amazing, and became a friend to me. I would definitely stay here again.

    March 2014
  • This house is unreal. Your room is sun drenched, with a view over the port, and it's attached to a massive, virtually private, balcony with more amazing views of the same. For those unfamiliar with Wellington, Brooklyn is a beaut suburb: there are two local pubs -- one for the bogans and one for the young bourgies -- and I liked both options. From home it's a 25 minute walk to downtown Wellington, but there are two buses that run for the fat. Again, I liked both options.

    Chris was a top host and a terrific denizen, whom I often saw. A very interesting character, with sincere generosity, he instilled the house with an altogether laid-back kind of vibe. We got along incredibly well, and never was there an awkward moment between us. The dog is beautiful and obedient.

    I did not want to leave. Will try to come up with some reason to visit Wellington again to pop in and see chris and the house again.

    December 2013
  • Chris was an amazing host, he was nice enough to pick us up from the airport as he was in town which saved us a lot of effort. The house is a stroll to the city, about 20-25 minutes downhill so it feels very easy and the bus literally stops outside the front of the house.

    The room was great, really comfortable bed and lots of space for everything we needed. The views over the city from the house were something else. All in all, we'd highly recommend staying in the house and like us, you won't be disappointed.

    November 2013
  • Chris was very kind and helpful, and his home (in Brooklyn) was a great location - a great Wellington walk up and up that provided wonderful views over the city. I stayed for a month. It was an easy downhill walk through Central Park to get downtown, or at night or if tired I would take bus #7 to the center of Brooklyn (which also had good cinema, pub, small grocery). I rarely saw his two roommates - because of different schedules - and sometimes Chris was out of town as well. Al, his dog, was a friendly and welcoming presence every time I returned home. The room was well equiped with heater, desk, sink, electric kettle, and big space. [It had a TV that I didn't use, but there was also a TV in the living room.] It was a unique house, wish I was there in the summer to enjoy the deck, and I would stay there again.

    October 2013
  • Stayed here for 3 weeks. The master's room was large, clean, quiet and sunny in the morning. Stayed with 2 friendly housemates. The place is near and has a great view of the downtown city. There's also a mini grocery, bar, and cinema nearby which make it a very convenient place. I had a good drink and guitar jam session with Chris 2 days before I left. His place is well recommended!

    September 2013
  • The house is beautiful and the 2 flat mates really easy to get along with.unfortunately we didn't meet Christopher, but we can definitely recommend his place. It's got a gorgeous view and a lot of space and it's very clean

    January 2013
  • A steep walk up Todman Street, a steep ramp to the bottom of 40 steps up to an old villa on top of the hill--it's for the fit not the fat. For the young, not the old, but very Wellington...A ramshackle but quiet house with denizens seldom seen, loo is out to the enclosed porch then back in, shower room elsewhere...an interesting house, sparsely decorated, a flatmates' house. Chris' room will do, but perhaps not so fine as it appears, Chris being a photographer. Still, at backpacker rates.... Brooklyn is charming with village qualities, eats and bars, and the Penthouse cinema and just over the hill from the CBD, and a nice walk down through the park to town.
    I happened to be there for four nights of gale, and it was all like visiting Wuthering Heights!

    December 2012
  • Great location. Just a short stroll to the local village and the Penthouse Cinema is a local gem. The room was large, quite and very private. A good retreat and base. Really enjoyed the walk to town through Central Park. A lovely place to have a picnic.

    November 2012
  • We enjoyed our stay in Brooklyn. the room was large, comfortable and well-equipped with tv, wifi, fridge and sink unit. We didn't mind sharing the separate shower/bath and toilet with two other housemates. It was lovely to be able to cook and eat outside on the sunny deck.

    November 2012
Per Month
From
$51
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 69 times
Languages
English
School
International Institute of Modern Letters, Victoria University, Wellington - MA in Scriptwriting
About
I'm a photographer based in Wellington. Enjoy meeting new people and sharing all the tips and tricks to make your stay enjoyable and easy. I travelled a lot and love playing music, and work in theatre, television and film also. Tom and Ben who share the house are easy-going, friendly guys in their 20's who both work in IT. Al, my dog, works in 'security'. He's a very clean, friendly and affectionate Huntaway (a special breed of NZ working dog) from the SPCA. But he's sitting pretty now since I picked him up.He always looks forward to you coming back to the house, as the key hits the lock, the tail starts wagging. Just a friendly household..and the views are amazing...
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
2 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings