Please make yourself at home
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Private room in a historic district home walking distance from downtown and RR station. There is an on-suite (shared with another bedroom) bathroom and walk in closet with space for your belongings. Full size bed, Fast Wifi. Refrigerator , snack bars and coffee provided.
Business license #113142

The space

We are an international family (German/American) and have a cute pup. We are a professional couple and one of our daughters, Alisha, currently lives with us. Our home is in the old railroad district and closed to public transportation (train station, busses). We have many restaurants and entertainment nearby.
Downtown is a mere 7 blocks away. This location works well for visitors who enjoy walking or biking.

Use of the kitchen, small guest refrigerator, back patio

We are very friendly and outgoing, love to give people an overview of what's available upon request. You can have as much privacy as desired and comfortable.

Quiet downtown neighborhood, close to the train station ( you will hear a couple of trains during the day). Close to shopping and restaurants, 7 blocks from downtown

Busses are up the street, cabs available. Very walking friendly town

We do have stairs leading up to the front door and two steps in the back

Guest access

Use of the kitchen, refrigerator space, coffee maker, tea, granola bars, water bottles, backyard use if desired

Interaction with guests

We are very friendly and outgoing, love to give people an overview of what's available upon request. You can have as much privacy as desired and comfortable.

Other things to note

The city has started to charge a 13% transient occupancy tax, we do include this in our rates

The bed is a full size bed

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 5PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Host greets you

Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises
Laptop friendly workspace

Cleaning Fee $25
Security Deposit $100
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $110 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 5PM

This is a home and everyone is expected us use common courtesy when using it. Since we both work, quiet time is after 10 pm and before 8 am. The bathroom is shared and we expect guests to keep it neat. Please be mindful of the drought and limit your water usage.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

2 nights minimum stay

110 Reviews

Check In
Ricardo User Profile
September 2017
Came out to SLO for the long weekend full of activities. The location is prime for anyone looking to be central to everything! We didn't really need a car unless going to Pismo beach or nearby coastal cities. Downtown, rail station, restaurants were all close by. Marianne and her husband are very accommodating hosts and of course, knew all the best places to eat/check out. And must love dogs, they have some fun canines! Would definitely stay here again.

Rosemary User Profile
August 2017
Marianne and Jim were very welcoming and excellent hosts. They made us feel at home and provided the right balance of interaction and privacy. Their home is a great location for walking to shops and restaurants in SLO. The whole family (including the pups) are wonderful hosts and ensured that we enjoyed our stay!

Charlene User Profile
August 2017
Marianne's place was clean, comfortable and the whole family were great hosts including the dogs.

Rebecca User Profile
August 2017
Marianne is a very welcoming host with a lovely home close to the train station in SLO. I loved the location - close enough to walk to downtown but far enough away from the noise. The home is a beautiful craftsman with lots of light and plenty of privacy for guests. I look forward to visiting again.

Hannah User Profile
July 2017
My fiancé spent the weekend in SLO for our anniversary. Marianne's house was very comfortable, clean and perfect walking distance to downtown. We took an Uber downtown the first night but then soon realized we rather walk because the neighborhood is so quaint and safe. The house is beautiful and they have a comfy couch on the front porch that we sat on at night and listened to the crickets. We would definitely stay here again!

Scott User Profile
July 2017
Marianne and her family are delightful. Jim regaled us with the history of SLO, and he was quite knowledgeable about the local restaurants. Alicia was also helpful in determining good sites to see and places to eat. Our hosts were also kind enough to let us store our bags at the house after checkout, so we didn't have to haul them around on our last day in town. Speaking of town, we went for Marianne's place because it was close to downtown SLO. We didn't rent a car, and walking was a breeze. The house is lovely. Must love dogs.

David User Profile
July 2017
I could stay a couple of days in San Luis, much than this i had the chance to meet two wonderfull people : Marianne and Jim. We could share great conversations and some activities, how thankfull I am. The place as well is very calm and quiet, if you need to slow down and tank some energy. I loved it!

This host has 94 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
San Luis Obispo, California, United StatesJoined in August 2012
Marianne User Profile

We are a both working Full time, Marianne is originally from Germany and speaks German, and some French. She works as a social worker with people with developmental disabilities. Jim is a project manager at an engineering firm. We have family in many countries and love to travel and visit them. Jim's hobbies include his Harley, a BMW 6 series and playing softball. Marianne enjoys gardening, knitting and reading as well as yoga and bicycling.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings