Houseboat Aviva Amsterdam

Boat - Entire home/apt · Da Costakade, Amsterdam, North Holland 1053, Netherlands
Annelies

Always wanted to stay on a houseboat? This is your chance, stay in the “Aviva”! This stylish 2 bedroom houseboat is very comfortable for a couple with or without children. Perfectly located, just a stone throw away from the city center.

Your host, Annelies
43 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

Always wanted to stay on a houseboat? This is your chance, stay in the “Aviva”! This stylish 2 bedroom houseboat is very comfortable for a couple with or without children. Perfectly located, just a stone throw away from the city center.

The Space

The houseboat consists of a big living room with huge luxurious kitchen, a double bedroom, a smaller bedroom with 2 bunk beds, bathroom and terrace on the water side.

The sofa in the livingroom turns into a comfortable double bed. There is a tv with dvd available and cable tv and wifi are free of charge.

The kitchen includes an oven, dishwasher, microwave, a nespresso coffee machine and all the crockery, cutlery and utensils you will need for your stay.

The smaller bedroom has two bunk beds. This room is more suitable for two children, but can sleep two adults. We should point out that space is limited in this room.

In the separate bathroom you will find a bathtub, shower, toilet, sink and washing machine and dryer for your use.

Outside on the waterside is a pretty terrace providing a wonderful relaxing place to sit and relax watching the world go by on the canal.

- cable TV and Wi-Fi are free of charge
- towels & bed linen are provided
- smoking is NOT allowed inside the boat
- coffee, tea and sugar are complimentary

Guest Access

The houseboat is exclusive and is completely private for you.

Interaction with Guests

I will be available for any questions, but won't be present in the houseboat.

The Neighborhood

This lovely houseboat is is well located in a neighborhood called “Oud West”. It’s just a short walk from many restaurants, cafes and shops, and within walking distance of Dam square
The neighborhood is the perfect base for experiencing all that Amsterdam has to offer with it's fantastic cafes, restaurants, coffee shops and bars. Oud West is a vibrant multicultural area and is located very close to the city centre. From your doorstep it's just a 2 minute walk to the area of "Jordaan", that oozes atmosphere with its narrow streets, picturesque canals, brown cafes, art galleries and unique shops.

Getting around

The city center is on walking distance.
If you don't feel like walking, there is a tram stop around the corner, so the city center and the airport are easy to reach.
Unfortunately parking is quite expensive in our neighborhood, but if you don't need your car during your stay I can recommend cheaper places on the border of town.
If you are interested in renting a bicycle during your stay let me know. I can have them delivered to the houseboat for you.

Other Things to Note

Extra services + fees:
Early check-in between 9am -2pm = 25 euro fee (in case of vacancy)
Late check-in between 9pm - 12pm = 50 euro fee
Late check-out after 11am = 50 euro fee (in case of vacancy)

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Extra people: $56 / night after 4 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Security Deposit: $210
Cleaning Fee: $84
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We stayed for a couple nights in June with our family. We loved that the houseboat is in a quiet neighborhood yet near the happening neighborhood of Jordan. Everything is really not far if you are on bike. We loved the comfortable couch overlooking the water, having good internet and being able to cook a meal. I would definitely recommend Annelie's lovely houseboat! Thanks for contributing to making our stay in Amsterdam extra great! GO NETHERLANDS!

    June 2014
  • The location was perfect.
    You do need to keep noise down, and the neighbour did visit to pre warn us. Lol.

    June 2014
  • This houseboat is AMAZING!!! We had such a good time. The boat is exactly as described and shown in the pictures. The beds were comfy. The kitchen was fully equipped and we ate most meals on the boat. It also has a lovely soaking tub in the bathroom. We really enjoyed watching the always changing landscape of the canal from the sofa in the living room. We especially enjoyed having a proper clothes dryer! After a few weeks on the road with most accommodations only having a washer, it was nice to have fluffy clothes again. Btw, there's a nice terrace on the back of the boat if you want to smoke. You just have to step out the window. We are in Amsterdam after all.

    May 2014
  • We stayed for 6 nights with our 2 teenage girls. The experience was great. The houseboat is beautiful and spacious and looks just like in the photographs. The small bedroom with the bunk beds was too small for our daughters and they prefered to use the double sofa in the living room which was much more comfortable. The small room was used as a storage for our stuff. The wi fi works great. There were enogh towels and linen. The location is perfect. In fact some of the best restaurants we visited were on the street near to the houseboat. There is a wonderful supermarket 2 minutes away, and almost everything is within 15 minutes walking distance.
    There are some minor things which I think could improve the stay: The place is quite clean but needs dusting and removal of the cobwebs. The greeting process should be more efficient - showing how everything works, including possible problems and how to solve them (we had problems with the water pump alarm going off many times and the electricity fuse going off once - it took a long time to find the box with the fuses). The kitchen is very big but should be better equiped - for example: wine glasses. When a family comes for a week, there should be more coffee capsules, and sugar. This is just a small thing, but it's about being more generous and giving the guests a better feeling.
    Again, these are minor things but for the price of 200 euros a night I expect everything to be perfect.
    My only disappointment was the petty request for an extra 25 euros for greeting us 3 hours earlier than check in time. What difference does it make? The place was free so why be so ungenerous?
    But on the whole, I would recommend this place to all my friends. The drawbacks I mentioned are minor.

    April 2014
    Annelies
    Response from Annelies:

    Dear Avner,
    Thanks for being my guests and for leaving your review. I’m happy to hear your feedback and I’m taking it into account to improve my service. I want to give a short reaction on the problems you experienced with the pump during your stay. Actually before you arrived we had a new pump installed on the houseboat and it still needed some fine tuning. That’s why the alarm went off when you were there. After you left the pump technician adjusted the settings and we didn’t experience this problem anymore. Hope to host you again in the future!
    Kind regards,
    Annelies

    April 2014
  • the best way to stay in amsterdam is a houseboot.
    if we come back to amsterdam, its sure that we book this houseboat again! we: a couple with to little children.
    anneslies bakker's houseboat is great, clean & everything you need is there!! near to everything - breakfast, center, dinner, shopping, bikes to rent, playground for the children, trams, ... we would have like to spent some more few days there.

    April 2014
  • The Houseboat was absolutely fabulous and the best choice we could have made for our family of 5's stay in Amsterdam. The location was perfect - within walking distance of everything we wanted and needed and yet far enough away from the traditional tourist circuit. The communication before and during the stay was superb as well. Everything within the houseboat functioned without issue and everything was as described and shown.

    I highly recommend the Houseboat Aviva for anyone seeking a unique, private, and fun location for your trip to Amsterdam!

    March 2014
  • Terrrific Experience!

    Had some trouble with the Airbnb website and had to do a few special frustrating things, Annelies was with me every step of the way and was extremely accommodating every step of the way. Place was great, clean, well stocked and maintained, and just a cool Amsterdam experience. Plus we got to hang out with the ducks that occasionally tried to jump in the window. Thanks for everything!

    March 2014
  • Colorful, cozy, and close to anything you might want to see. Annelies was easy to work with, and we truly enjoyed our time on the houseboat. Would happily stay there again!

    March 2014
  • Great location close to the city center and we really enjoyed staying there.

    March 2014
  • Nous sommes ravis de notre séjour, le houseboat est très joli et très bien équipé. C'est lumineux, spacieux et très propre, le passage des canards donne un coté bucolique très agréable en pleine ville. Il y règne une ambiance douce et sereine.

    Les nombreux commerces et restaurants à proximité, ainsi que la distance pour rejoindre le centre d'Amsterdam font de cet endroit un super point de chute pour visiter la ville.

    Annelies est très sympa et de bon conseil, la location de vélos par son intermédiaire est top, les vélos nous étant déposés devant le bateau.

    Nous recommandons la location de ce houseboat, et reviendrons avec plaisir visiter les quartiers que nous n'avons pas eu le temps de voir.

    Merci Annelies

    February 2014
Per Month
From
$280
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 719 times
Languages
English, Nederlands, עברית
Work
manager at (website hidden)Dam
About
I'm an Amsterdam host who loves traveling and meeting new people. If you have any special requests for your stay or need information on places to go, eat, drink, please do not hesitate to drop me a line. I will try to answer you as best as I can to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings