Crossroads Rundown Guesthouse #7

Apartment - Private room · Princes Hwy, St Peters, NSW 2044, Australia
Jody
Your host, Jody
4 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

****Please read the description below and contact me before booking so I can confirm prices and dates. ****

There are 10 bedrooms in total, two kitchens, three bathrooms and some rooms have their own showers. The smallest rooms can sleep two and the largest rooms can take six in dorm style, or a small family. There is a coin operated washing machine and dryer on site.

Room 7 has a king size bed and is suitable for a couple who like a lot of space. It has a private shower, a small dining table, full size fridge, hanging rack for clothes and new carpet. This is the nicest room for a couple in the house.

The guesthouse is above a shop in the warehouse/industrial area close to Sydney Airport and it is on the corner of some very busy streets. If you find noise in the house is an issue you can ask for free earplugs but most people get used to it very quickly. There is street parking behind the building.

Although the actual block the guesthouse is on is very ugly and so is the immediate area, it is a fantastic location if you are adventurous and prepared to walk a bit, or use public transport. It's less than 5kms from the airport - a taxi is very cheap to the house.

Rooms do not have TVs and there is no common lounge or dining area. We do provide free fast wifi Internet across the house. We are best suited to be either a “crash pad” for travellers who are out most of the day and don't need common areas or for students who will be spending a lot of time in their rooms studying or working.

There is no reception desk so this guesthouse is suitable for independent travellers who do not need much assistance. This is by no means a party place – if you would like a more social atmosphere with common areas and a backyard look at my other listings for Scruffy Old Campsie Guesthouse.

We are child friendly and can provide cots, highchairs, stroller/pram and toys for most ages of children. We do have stairs without child gates however. This room would suit a small family who co-sleep or would use trundle beds/cots for their children.

I do not live in the guesthouse but can be contacted if there are problems. I provide a professional cleaning company once a week to clean common areas, along with all bills paid, all kitchen and bathroom supplies and hotel quality linen which is washed for you every two weeks. Think of it like a giant share house but with less hassle and a few more perks.

This is a great opportunity for backpackers, workers, families and students who want private lockable rooms in the Inner West with free use of multiple kitchens and bathrooms and who understand that the rundown nature of the guesthouse means cheap rooms!

Getting around

t's is also only 5kms from University of Sydney and UTS. It's 8kms from University of New South Wales and buses to both places take less than half an hour. We are fifteen minutes walk from St Peters or Sydenham train stations (1.5kms) but the buses are directly outside the door so you should experiment to see what you prefer – you can buy a weekly ticket that works on buses and trains. It's about 6kms to Central Station in the city. We are also only about 4kms from RPA Hospital.

You are less than five minutes walk to a small shop, a Hungry Jacks(Burger King), a KFC and a McDonalds. Opposite the house is a pub with restaurant, events,music and cheap drinks. Fifteen minutes walk takes to you a beautiful big parkland area with a cafe, or to the local shopping centre of Marrickville with the nearest big supermarket.

Thirty minutes walk or a short bus ride takes you to some very cool shops and bars in Marrickville(Marrickville Rd) or Newtown(King St). It would take you 20 minutes to drive to the beaches or an hour by public transport. And if that's not enough you can take a 20 min walk (2 minute bus) trip to the biggest IKEA in the Southern Hemisphere just down the road from us.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $15 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 7 nights
Weekly Price: $271 /week
Monthly Price: $1064 /month
Cleaning Fee: $29
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Room was spacious and the toilets were clean. However, there were a lot of cockroaches in the room and the kitchen. Overall I felt that the place was alright, i.e. if you dont have anywhere else to go.

    May 2014
    Jody
    Response from Jody:

    Zeeshan did ask to extend his stay with us, which we couldn't accommodate, so even he doesn't really believe we are only somewhere to stay if you have nowhere else! But we do understand our style of accommodation doesn't suit everyone and we ask all guests to read our detailed description before booking. I'm sorry about the cockroaches. They are a constant battle in most properties in Sydney and we have a professional treatment of the entire property every three months. It seems we have have to increase the frequency of this. Thanks for alerting us and we will fix this quickly.

    May 2014
  • Jody runs an efficient place and although it is somewhat old, it is still functional and enjoyable. It is a walking distance to pulsing Newtown and proximity to the Sydney transport rail hub which makes this place an ideal base for exploring the city, particularly for prolonged stays and if constrained budget-wise.
    Housemates are very friendly, easy to get along and helped me get familiar with the city.

    April 2014
  • Crossroads is a very handy location particularly it is very close to the airport. Also buses are lirerally at the front door to go to the city and back. I would certainly stay here again.

    February 2013
  • not enough space for our group of 12 people, dirty kitchen, dirty toilets (only 3 for about 20 people, one broken, one not lockable), not enough sheets, very small kitchen (only 3 chairs), no earplugs provided
    Jody and Craig tried to make everyone happy, didn't work though..

    way too high price for what we got there.

    January 2013
    Jody
    Response from Jody:

    I'm sorry about the issues you experienced. None of them were reported to us during the stay so we could address them, which is a shame. Earplugs are available on request, as are more chairs, sheets etc. Also the toilet issue was not reported, but will be fixed. Ultimately a stay in our house is only as good as the communication.

    The kitchens and toilets were dirty partly because of this large group - we cleaned for several hours every day but could not stay on top of the mess generated by a large group booking intent on partying hard and drinking over the holiday season. I was assured the group would just be using the room for sleeping when I advised it was going to be crowded, but they did in the end want to hang around which we couldn't cope with. I had advised before arrival reducing the number or beds in the room to make it less crowded but was told it wasn't a problem.

    We do have in our profile the number of toilets, photos of the size of the kitchens and we state that we have no common areas and are not a party hostel. I think this was the wrong booking for the wrong house really and we will not be accepting large group bookings again.

    The behaviour of this group impacted on the stay of everybody else over New Year. There were many complaints and when confronted they were drunk and rude (although apologetic when sober the next day).

    We charged $40 per person, per night over New Year for this group with no minimum booking, when similar hostels charged $60-130 a night with a minimum 10 day stay. I still think that is excellent value for the time of year. However, I admit that my adventure into accepting groups of backpackers was a disaster for everybody concerned and that the guesthouse will go back to focusing on singles, couples, small groups of friends and families.

    January 2013
Per Month
From
$39
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 20 times
Languages
English
School
Griffith University, Macquarie University
About
I'm a 35 year old solo mama of one boy, Elliott, who is four years old. I was looking for some way to stay home and raise my son without working long hours so I started renting out rooms in my personal house. That grew so busy I found an old guesthouse, and then another one, and now I have over 55 rooms for rent! My father, John, lives part time at Campsie Guesthouse and also part time at our new project, The Rex Tamworth. He is a real character! If he isn't around then I also live at The Rex with my son and our dogs currently. We also (email hidden) in house manager couple, Helen and Megan at Campsie. There (email hidden) in manager, Elyce, at Crossroads Guesthouse. We're a friendly bunch and happy to help you get settled in Sydney or Tamworth and give you some local knowledge. If we are busy then we have instructions on how to check yourself in without our help and we will try and say hi during your first few days! We love independent travellers, students and families who aren't looking for "the party scene" but want more a friendly, home like vibe. We're very LGBT friendly, love people from all backgrounds and children of all ages. The guesthouses are older style, very basic and clean with a bit of character. Most importantly the guesthouses are safe and in local areas!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings