Sunny Room in Colorful Beach House

House - Private room · Santiago St, San Francisco, CA 94116, United States
Brian And Mollie
Your host, Brian And Mollie
20 Reviews
Response rate: 87%
Response time: within a day

The Space

Hello!

INTRO:
My name is Brian and I'm an ocean writer who is renting out the top floor of my house while I'm living in Hawaii. My friend Mollie lives in a private studio downstairs and takes care of everything while I'm away. Please read through our description -- most of the answers to your questions can be found there. :)

(I have recently started offering the whole house -- so please refer to the "other property reviews" for more from past visitors!)

HOUSE INTRO:
The house gets amazing light throughout and was remodeled a few years ago, but still retains its charm. It has a very mid-century nautical theme.
It’s near the expansive Ocean Beach in San Francisco with two bedrooms, along with a kitchen and private bathroom. You'll also have a living room and dining room. There's (email hidden) if you'd like to pour yourself a drink.

Downtown by car is an easy 20 minute drive. It's perfect for someone who is visiting and wants to spend time at Ocean Beach, surfing or strolling for sand dollars -- or is stopping through on a drive down the coast as the house is a 1 minute drive from the Great Highway. It's perfect for two couples or two friends that need a place a little more relaxed or a larger group who wants to utilize the air mattress/sofa.

PARKING:
There is free, unregulated and ample street parking outside if you decide to bring a vehicle. Space is easily found throughout the day. After the evening hours, parking on the next block may be necessary. Please discuss with host if you need further parking accommodations.

NEIGHBORHOOD:
It's a much more quiet neighborhood than the Mission District. And the place is one block from the L line so town is about 18-25 minutes away (depending on your stop).
One block away on Taraval, there are a few restaurants, a great small grocery, a bakery where you can get coffee and Chinese pastries, a liquor store, and a Walgreen's pharmacy that you can walk to. There are two large grocery stores about a 5 min drive from the house. There's a great local surf bar a few more blocks down toward the water and plenty of Asian cuisine close by. Judahlicious (raw and delicious food), Outerlands (locally sourced, organic New American restaurant), Devil's Teeth Baking Company (lots of sweet breakfast-y treats), Indian Pizza, and Trouble Coffee are all a short drive or bus ride away as well.

TRANSPORTATION:
The L train goes from the Zoo to the Embarcadero, downtown. It runs from about 5am to 1am, and comes every 10 minutes or so. It takes 15 minutes to get to the Castro/Market St and 25 minutes to get to Embarcadero by train.
There are bus stops within one block on leafy Sunset Blvd. as well that will take you to Golden Gate Park and the beach if you decide not to bring a vehicle.

BEDROOM:
The bedroom has a queen bed, with a large desk, ergonomic task chair and task lamp -- great light, a full closet, blackout shades and garden views. It's in the back of the house so there is no street noise at night and it overlooks the landscaped backyard.

THE HOUSE:
The galley kitchen has plenty of dishes and you're welcome to use any cooking essentials in the cupboards and fridge. There's also a full-size oven and stove.

Off the kitchen is a breakfast nook with a microwave, table and lots of beer and wine if you'd like to have one.

The bathroom has pink wall tiles and hexagon floor tiles, a separate shower, vanity, and full bath. Both the kitchen and bath have skylights as well.

The living room includes a vintage flight recliner and a mid-century couch. There's a full wall shelf that hides lots of treasures, (cards, games, small toys, lots of books). The couch is small, but comfortable for a smaller person to sleep on and sheets are provided if you would like to use it to do so. There is also an air mattress that fits 2 people and is available for you to use.

The small patio in the center of the house provides additional light to all the rooms (but please keep any smoking in the front of the house).

There is a washer and dryer on the premises that we can arrange for you to use during longer visits (1wk+).

PETS:
Well behaved dogs under 45 lbs considered for an additional $10 per night.

RESERVATIONS:
**Please note -- Airbnb provides the final price and I cannot see their calculations. Enter your dates and group size into the calendar to find your end cost.

Please let me know if you have any questions about the place and the location. Please send me an inquiry about yourself before, booking as well, so I can let you know if friends are staying in town or if the house is free.

Thank you for reading my listing!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 6 nights
Weekly Price: $600 /week
Monthly Price: $2200 /month
Security Deposit: $500
Cleaning Fee: $100
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The place was immaculate. The bed was great. It's a quite location. Everything was very nice. Would definitely stay there again.

    August 2012
  • We had a great stay at Brian’s house. Everything was clean and ready for me when I got there.Thanks Brian!

    August 2012
  • A laid-back but well organized and tidy little townhouse. We enjoyed walking on the beach and being away from the hustle and bustle of the center city. Access to transit was convenient. The house was full but the other residents were quite busy while we were there, which was good for us, because we could just relax like we were at home.

    June 2012
  • I had a great stay at Brian's home. Everything was clean and ready for me when I got there. It really felt like home and his roommate was great! I'd recommend staying here to anyone!

    June 2012
  • Great place, very comfortable, loved my stay. Thanks Brian.

    November 2011
  • Spent 5 great days in San Francisco with two friends staying at Brian's house. The house is really nice, located in a quiet neighborhood, clean and everything is in good shape. It's only acouple blocks from the beach, which was awesome for us for surfing etc.
    Downtown can easily be reached by car or tram/bus.
    Although we unfortunately didn't see much of him, Brian is a great host and made everything very uncomplicated for us - thanks!!

    October 2011
  • I was travelling with my two daughters, aged 24 and 18. We knew that we would be spending a lot of time in Marin County hiking and visiting with friends, so we rented a car at SFO. One of the things that was important to me on this trip was easy on-street parking---not easy to find in San Francisco---but in Brian's neighborhood it was no problem. It was wonderful coming back to Brian's house each night---we really felt at home. When we didn't want to drive, the L Taraval Muni-Metro line is just one block away---so convenient. Brian's house was perfect for us!

    October 2011
  • hiking on the great west san francisco shorelines, a supurb brunch at the cliff house, jazz in the city and fleet week all while staying at brian's place. just what the doctor ordered.

    October 2011
  • it is totally great, perhaps my greatest stay in america!!
    the room is awesome and the residential area is safe, though it takes bit of time to get to the city center, we enjoyed loads for living in such neighborhood.

    October 2011
  • all good and will go there again.
    thanks brian

    September 2011
Per Month
From
$82
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 91 times
Languages
English, ภาษาไทย, 中文
Work
The Scuttlefish, The Wirecutter
About
Hello! We're Brian + Mollie! Two friends from SF who love California but travel a lot -- so you should take advantage of our place! Hi! Brian here. I love to surf, bodysurf, open water swim and snowboard. I'm a writer, editor and owner of publications about the ocean and tech. I write adventure and exploration stories involving how field science and oceanography is being changed by technology. I'm Mollie! I spend my weekends exploring California and weekdays roaming San Francisco. My favorites destinations in no particular order are Judahlicious, Salton Sea, and any coastal redwood forest. I love hot chocolate from scratch or from a packet.
View full profile
Response Rate
87%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings