Theresa and James Cogger welcome you to Les Petites Charmilles where you can enjoy comfortable friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in their traditional style house set in beautiful wooded grounds in the heart of the Dordogne countryside in south-west France .
All our four bedrooms (2 double, 2 twin) have their own shower & toilet, and look over the gardens. B&B guests have their own entrance and lounge, free use of the swimming pool, barbecue, picnic areas, and a refrigerator. Free wifi internet connection is also available.
++Room 1 sleeps 3 people in 3 single beds or one double and one single.++
Les Petites Charmilles is ideally situated near the famous medieval town of Sarlat and makes a pleasant centre for your holiday in this beautiful region. There is plenty to see and do during your holiday.
Close by are the valleys of the Dordogne and Vézère rivers with an abundance of historic châteaux, caves, prehistoric sites and pretty villages to visit. The area is great for an active holiday; walking, cycling on road and on trails (bring your own bike - we have secure storage - or click here for cycle hire), and horse riding. Hire a canoe on the river or go fishing (in season); tennis is available nearby, and there are golf courses less than an hour away.
Of course you can also pass the day relaxing in the sun by our swimming pool or pass a few hours at a French café watching the world go by!
Please note that we are in a small village with one bar/restaurant but no other shops.. There is no bus service to the village, so an independent means of transport is essntial to enjoy the region. Sarlat, the nearest town is 10 minutes away by car.
Room 4 now has English television.
Nearest AIRPORTS: Bergerac, Brive-Vallée de la Dordogne, Bordeaux, Limoges, Toulouse
Nearest RAILWAY STATIONS: Souillac (Paris-Toulouse line); Sarlat (trains from Bordeaux and Bergerac)
CAR HIRE at all airports and in Sarlat (Europcar, Hertz)
A NOTE ABOUT OUR PRICES;
The prices quoted are per room for two people for one night, including breakfast. if you want more than one room we might quote you a combined price for all the rooms, this is sometimes easier to do.
A "taxe de séjour" (tourist tax) of 0,66€ per person (over 13 years) per night is included in the price.
Please note that we are in a small village with one bar/restaurant but no other shops.. There is no bus service to the village, so an independent means of transport is essntial to enjoy the region. Sarlat, the nearest town, is 10 minutes away by car.
Premier séjour en chambre d'hôtes pour nous.Accueil (website hidden) chambre 2 n'est pas très spacieuse mais le but de notre voyage n'était pas d'y passer la journée ...propreté irréprochable tant pour la chambre que pour la salle de bains.James et Theresa sont plein d'attentions envers leurs hôtes .Le plus : un lieu reposant et régénérateur ...
Le lieu est calme et agréable, la chambre est petite mais la propreté est irréprochable.
Il est dommage que Thérèsa ne parle pas français, ce qui complique la communication et gène à la convivialité.
Un lugar precioso, todo el Perigord !!!
la casa esta a cinco minutos en coche de Sarlart, un sitio agradable i los anfitriones muy agradables.
muy limpio y tranquilo.
el desayuno completo. Hablan francès i ingles
The reservation was canceled 152 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Un couple très accueillant sur un air anglais !
2 très bonnes nuits dans cette jolie maison située à 5 min de Sarlat centre. Bonne literie, propreté impeccable, copieux petit-déjeuner avec de bonnes figues fraîches.
Tout simplement à recommander !
Chambre et maison très agréable, dans le calme de la campagne du Périgord noir. Nous ne sommes restés qu'une seule nuit mais avons apprécié notre séjour chez James et Theresa.
We enjoyed our stay in Sarlat with James and Theresa. The room was spacious (we got upgraded to a bigger room with no extra cost) and we had a lovely breakfast! Will come back if around!
After our arrival we were in shock! The home and grounds looked nothing like the photos. The pictures showed a well groomed and tidy cottage, yet we found the grounds to be overgrown and very unkept. As well, the parking accommodations were not good either.
Before arriving, we were lost, and our GPS would not pick up the location. We called and asked for assistance with the directions and Theresa scolded us for not being able to use the GPS properly and asked "did we not have the detailed directions she provided." She reminded me of my worst school teacher. Instead of being helpful, she was condescending and unfriendly.
We did not feel welcome once we arrived. Her children and grandchildren were there for the weekend. No one was very friendly,and we felt like we were intruding on a family occasion.
There was no private lounge or separate entrance, and the bathrooms were not located in the bedrooms, but across the hall and dirty. The fridge was a small community fridge which was packed and shared by other guests.
After a long day of traveling and finally finding the property, which is much further away from Sarlat than indicated in the advertisement, my poor mother asked James for a coffee and he informed her that she would have to wait until morning and she would be served tea. Who can't make a coffee for someone?
We book with airbnb all the time and are always so pleased. This was our first disappointment. I cannot comment on how the actual stay was, because we forfeited our money, cut our loses and drove back to Sarlat immediately to find a place to stay.
It would be very inconvenient to stay at this location if one wants to be in the heart of the city and sightsee or simply have access to a cafe, grocery store, etc. You are in a remote location.
We had an incredible time in this gorgeous region of France. I would highly recommend this area, but not this rental property with James and Theresa.
We are sorry that Matthew was disappointed enough to leave without explanation within 30 minutes of arrival.
We do send guests our GPS coordinates and driving directions from nearby towns and normally guests find their way here easily, but if they do get lost we try to be as helpful as we can, and have even driven to meet the guest and lead them here.
We often offer our guests a drink on arrival, or provide the means to make tea. We apologise if Matthew and his mother felt this offer was not made.
We do not say the lounge is private, and the entrance is separate from our own entry into the house. As we are not self-catering we provide a small fridge for drinks and snacks only, however we don't control what guests can keep in it.
As for the garden both our lawn mowers were unfortunately under repair and we have had difficulties in maintaining it this year, because of the weather.
The room descriptions have been amended to make it clear where the bathroooms are and that we are in a small village with limited amenities (many people prefer this) and 10 minutes drive from Sarlat.
We had a lovely stay here, thanks to the kindness of Teresa and James. They helped with planning our day and made us feel at home.
A delicious breakfast was prepared every morning.
Peaceful location in a beautiful part of the world.
Great swimming pool too!
Hemos pasado unos dias magnificos en compañia de unos maravillosos anfitriones como son James y Theresa, una pareja encantadora que han hecho nuestra estancia mas agradable si cabe. Un lugar muy recomendable a un paso de todos los lugares que merece la pena visitar pero con la tranquilidad de la zona donde esta ubicado. Limpio, tranquilo y excelentes los desayunos que preparan.
This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.
This is the final rate, including VAT along with fees from the host and Airbnb.
This is the fee charged by Airbnb
This is the fee charged by Airbnb and includes VAT