Cozy living room from the front entry.Living room and dining area from the front entry.
Comfy guest room in North Berkeley!


Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Welcome to the comfy guest bedroom in my cozy, modest 2-bedroom duplex in North Berkeley - a quiet, safe neighborhood. Just 5 blocks from the North Berkeley BART station, it's a great location from which to explore Berkeley and the greater bay area!

The space

My guest bedroom is approximately 10' x 12', with hardwood floors and a very comfortable pillow-top, full-size (double) bed with flannel sheets, a down blanket, and cozy, hand-knit throw. (Other natural-fiber blankets are available during summer and for people with feather allergies upon request.) Area rugs and a radiator-style heater help make it cozy, and there's a fan for warm weather.

The room has a large table for study/work, and a bedside lamp. Upon arrival your sheets and towels will (of course!) be freshly laundered, the guest room will be aired, and I will greet you with a smile!


Guest access

You are welcome to use my compact kitchen for light cooking during your stay. It has a new gas stove, a brand new large toaster/convection oven, large frig and full-size dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, pots and pans, and most kitchen tools. I have a men's bicycle (just tuned up) and lock which are available for my guests to use with a refundable deposit of $125.

In addition to the guest bedroom and the kitchen, guests have access to the bathroom, the living room and dining area. Except for the guest bedroom, all areas are shared with me and the kitty. My boyfriend and I just got a German Shepherd mix puppy. She doesn't live here, but she visits in the evenings.

Interaction with guests

I interact with guests as much as they want to, assuming our schedules overlap. I usually see people in the morning and/or evening, unless they are up and out quite early or return home quite late.

Other things to note

I grew up down the street, attended Berkeley schools, Berkeley High, and U.C Berkeley (Cal), and am very familiar with the local sights, attractions, and restaurants. Additionally, I have over 15 years of experience hosting international students through a local language school. Over the years, more than 25 students have happily spent from 1 week to 3 months in my home, and I have become good at communicating with people who don't speak a lot of English.

Cat-lovers especially welcome! My kitty is adorable but shy. The guest room door is always kept closed, so even those with mild cat allergies can be comfortable here.


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 7PM - 9PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 50
Security Deposit: 150
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 7PM - 9PM

Please remove your shoes at the door. There is an area inside the front door where you can store your shoes.

The cat is indoor only, so please keep her inside! Do not hold the doors open any longer than necessary to enter and exit. When entering, look for the cat and make sure to close door promptly and completely behind you. When leaving, always look around for the cat before opening the door, and close door promptly and completely behind you.

This is a smoke-free home, so please smoke outdoors only, and at least 20 feet away from doors and windows.

You are welcome to use the kitchen for light cooking during your stay, but I ask that you please clean up after yourself!


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

64 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kara User Profile
July 2017
I was staying at Stephanie's while I was looking a permanent place in Berkeley. It was very convenient, close to Bart and a bus ride/quick bike ride to UC Berkeley campus. It was also walking distance to some restaurants/ cafes. The bed was very comfortable and the room cozy. There was space for me to keep things in the fridge and in the pantry area. The bathroom was small but fine. Overall, I had a great stay!
Stephanie User Profile
Response from Stephanie:
Kara, So glad things worked out so well on both sides! I enjoyed hosting you, and wish you the best as you start this new chapter in Berkeley1
July 2017

Jennifer User Profile
June 2017
Stephanie is a wonderful host. The guest room was just right for me and I appreciated having a fan. She was quick to respond to questions and went above and beyond the call of duty while I was there. I would definitely stay here again!
Stephanie User Profile
Response from Stephanie:
Jennifer, you are welcome back anytime! I really enjoyed having you as my guest!
June 2017

Andrei User Profile
May 2017
I cannot recommend this place enough! The house is great, the room is very comfortable and it feels homey, it's in a quiet really pleasant neighbourhood some 20-30 minutes walk to downtown, there's a bus that takes you straight to UCB campus in just a few minutes and being so close to BART means you can get to San Francisco very quickly and easily as well. Stephanie is extremely nice and talkative, she'll make sure you have everything you need and is great to talk to.
Stephanie User Profile
Response from Stephanie:
Andrei, Thanks so much for your enthusiastic recommendation! It was great having you, and you're welcome to stay again if/when life brings you back to Berkeley. Best, Stephanie
May 2017

Sheila User Profile
April 2017
I enjoyed my month long stay at Stephanie's house. There is a nice restaurant with a patio (Leila's) and great bakery (Acme bread) nearby. The Bart is just a 5 minute walk away. I didn't have a car, yet I found everything I needed within a short walking distance. The green way is nearby for jogging, walking and riding bikes. Stephanie's cat is very shy; chances are she will hide in Stephanie's room and you will rarely see her. Cat lovers, like me, may be disappointed, the cat will definitely not encroach on your space or sit in your lap. Stephanie's mom, Suzann, visits mid-day to feed the cat. I enjoyed my interactions with both Stephanie and Suzann. There is a washer and dryer in the basement. The laundry facilities are shared with the other tenants, but it was available every time I needed it. Stephanie was either working or visiting friends, so I had the house to myself most days. The kitchen is well equipped. However, it would be difficult to fit a weeks worth if groceries or a lot of ingredients in the allotted space in the fridge or freezer. I mostly ate out in restaurants or at my son's house, so it wasn't a problem for me. As Stephanie says in her description, plan on light cooking. I found this location very convenient. I enjoyed getting to know Stepanie and Suzann. I would stay here again when visiting Berkeley.
Stephanie User Profile
Response from Stephanie:
Sheila, It was a pleasure hosting you and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at my place! I have only heard from 2 guests in over 4 years of hosting that more fridge space was needed - it only comes up when a guest is not either working or going to school full time when they are staying with me. Best, Stephanie
April 2017

Takuya User Profile
March 2017
I stayed here for a month and spent a comfortable time. Stephanie and her boyfriend are really nice. The house is very near the North Berkeley station so I was able to access San Francisco easily. Definitely I recommend this place and I will stay again if I have a chance.
Stephanie User Profile
Response from Stephanie:
Thanks, Takuya, you were a great guest, and always welcome to stay with me again!
March 2017

Fiona User Profile
February 2017
Great place in a quiet location. The bedroom has all that you need and a very comfortable double bed. Stephanie is a welcoming and friendly host who will make sure that you have all that you need.

Sarah User Profile
February 2017
Stephanie is a great host! She really takes care of her guests. I greatly appreciate all the hospitality she showed me. The room is very clean and comfortable. It's a big plus that the location is so convenient to get around Berkeley!

Berkeley, California, United StatesJoined in October 2012
Stephanie User Profile

I'm very friendly, outgoing and creative, and I enjoy helping my guests see and do the things they want to while they are visiting the bay area. I've lived in Berkeley since I was 2 years old and grew up down the street from where I currently live. I attended Berkeley public schools, Berkeley High, and Cal, and am very familiar with the local sights, attractions, and restaurants.

Additionally, I have over 15 years of experience hosting international students through a local language school. Many guests have happily spent from 1 week to 3 months in my home, and I have become very good at communicating with people who don't speak much English.

I'm an avid reader of historical fiction and historical mysteries, a cat and dog lover, and a Berkeley foodie. Tell me what kind of food you want to eat and I can likely tell you where to go! I'm also a frequent walker, so I'm happy to share my favorite local walks and hikes.

I look forward to meeting you when you come stay with me!

Response rate: 80%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings