Clean, Sunny Boston Back Bay Studio

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116, United States

Beautiful, clean, cozy, private, centrally located apartment with a queen size bed and private bathroom and entrance that's fully furnished with all amenities included.

Your host, Jason
14 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

Beautiful, clean, cozy, private, centrally located apartment with a queen size bed and private bathroom and entrance that's fully furnished with all amenities included.

The Space

Fully furnished - queen size bed, kitchen stove, microwave, fridge, toaster, coffee machine, lounge chair, 42" wall mounted flat screen, full bathroom and shower/tub, etc. Beautiful hardwood floors and large closet. Well lit, with top down bottom up window blind so you can keep just the top open to let light in without sacrificing your privacy. Small and cozy. On second floor of four-floor building that is very, very quiet with only 10 other rooms.

If you like fresh air, you'll be a couple blocks from the Charles River where you can kayak, run, bike, etc.

Supreme location, right in heart of Boston's Back Bay with anything/everything you'd ever need within literally three minutes walk; e.g. bars, restaurants, shopping malls, pharmacy, barbers, hardware stores, grocery stores, trader joes, coffee cafes, etc. Five minute walk to subway. Boston Commons is ten minute walk.

Go ahead and eat/drink anything you see in moderation (please don't pig out and consume more than like $10/day worth).

Check out my response rate - it's close to flawless. I'm extremely accessible, very courteous and take pride in making sure your stay is wonderful.

This is an entirely separate room with your own key and own entrance.

All heat, electric, water and other utilities included in flat rate i.e. no hidden fees. Temperature stays 70 degrees year-round. There are three dry cleaners literally on same street, within not even 60 second walk.

There's a very nice ceiling fan in addition to a standing tower fan, for great ventilation.

I have a special, dead simple and automatic process set up so you are able to retrieve and return the key with ease, at your leisure. It's super convenient - you get it whenever you arrive no need to coordinate an in-person mtg. with me to hand it to you if you don't wish to.

All details around exact address, apartment number, process to retrieve key, etc. are shown as additional information automatically to confirmed guests once the booking is complete.

Guest Access

Guests have access to everything, even the food in the cabinets and beers in the fridge. Nothing is off limits. I just ask guests to be reasonable.

Interaction with Guests

I interact with my guests as much as they would like me to, through phone, e-mail, text, etc.

The Neighborhood

If you like fresh air, you'll be a couple blocks from the Charles River where you can kayak, run, bike, etc.

Supreme location, right in heart of Boston's Back Bay with anything/everything you'd ever need within literally three minutes walk; e.g. bars, restaurants, shopping malls, pharmacy, barbers, hardware stores, grocery stores, trader joes, coffee cafes, etc. Five minute walk to subway. Boston Commons is ten minute walk.

Getting around

Yes, there are multiple bus routes right outside the door and the subway station is a four minute walk from the front door.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $129 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $1799 /week
Monthly Price: $6799 /month
Cleaning Fee: $69
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • Well located on trendy street in Boston. Jason was very communicative both before, during and after the stay.

    June 2013
  • Jason's apartment is clean, quiet and in a great location. It's in the heart of Back Bay surrounded by countless shops, restaurants and bars, and is only a few minutes walk to the T and Charles River.
    Jason was an excellent host. He was always accessible and willing to help or give advice about places to visit. He was also very accommodating when I needed to extend my stay, and helped make my 2 weeks there very enjoyable.

    April 2013
    Response from Jason:

    My pleasure, Jez, and thanks for the kind words!

    April 2013
  • Positives:
    -Excellent location; a short walk to anything you could need. I did have an issue checking in and getting the key.
    -Quiet building, and the 2 fans drown out any noise that may be going on as well.
    -After initial check in fiasco, Jason was polite and available for questions that came up.
    -Jason told me I could arrive anytime after 8:30 am, when suddenly at 2pm (and once I had already gotten into the city and lugged my luggage to the apartment) he told me I wouldn't be able to check in until 7pm or go retrieve the key from another location. I ended up having to lug it all back to the garage and go to work in the clothes I had traveled in. If I had been in town to sight see, that wouldn't have been an issue, but I was there for work and had a strict schedule. His responses to me during this period were downright rude.
    -The apartment was not clean at all. The entire apartment needed to be vacuumed, but there wasn't one available.
    -There is an iron, but no ironing board.

    March 2013
    Response from Jason:

    I'm happy you enjoyed your stay, but must admit, very surprised to see this review, Kerry. My understanding was we were on same page moments after you checked in, and that all was well and that you were very content. To my defense the check-in time was always on the listing as 2p.m. (EST), and you successfully retrieved your key from that alternate location so did not have to wait until 7p.m. You only would have had to wait until then if you wanted me to personally deliver the key to you in person, which was never promised to begin with. Regardless, I was willing to do it as a courtesy so am disappointed you are holding that favor I offered as a courtesy against me. Moreover, I reached out to you on several occasions during your stay asking if there was absolutely anything I could do to make your stay more enjoyable, etc. and you did not respond - so why am I just hearing this now? I was nothing but polite, and stretched to be extra courteous. Again, this review baffles me. Also, as I confirmed with you on the day of your arrival there was in fact a cleaner that visited the apartment, but I respect your criticism on their sub-par performance vacuuming the carpets so I have made a note to ensure that never happens again. Thank you.

    March 2013
  • The studio was in the perfect location in Boston. Jason provided a clean studio with sheets and towels. Great place to spend the weekend. Jason kept in touch with me through out the weekend and was very helpful.

    March 2013
    Response from Jason:

    Pleasure was mine, Scott, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback.

    March 2013
  • This apartment offers an excellent value, particularly for a solo traveler visiting the Hynes Convention Center (it's closer than any of the conference hotels!) A Trader Joe's around the corner and CVS/Walgreens a block away allow some self-catering with the included utensils, microwave, and rangetop.

    This rental is VASTLY superior to a hotel room in the area. Understanding what you're getting -- as opposed to focusing on its modest size -- is important for full enjoyment of this compact place.

    February 2013
    Response from Jason:

    Spot on, Mr. Croson - thank you!

    February 2013
  • Best thing about Jason is that he is easily available through airbnb. you leave a message and he will try his best to help you ASAP. for example first couple of days I had problem with internet connection. he made phone calls and they fixed it. Or when my flight got canceled I was able to contact him right away to make sure he will keep the room available for me.
    The room is small (I live in 18 m2 back home so it was ok for me) and it is whatever you see in the pictures. for one person it is convenient, for more you should check. but there is no table to eat on and instead there are lots of things that I didn't have use for.
    Location is very good. Price was rather high but I guess that is the problem with Boston in general? One last thing he let me have a late check in which was really nice.
    In general I liked Jason as a host and had a good time in his home.

    February 2013
  • One of the things that this apartment really has going for it is that it is so well located in an utterly beautiful street in Back Bay. The apartment is quite small but was perfect for our 3 night stay because we only used the apartment for sleeping. It was comfortable enough for the 2 of us butiam not surprised that some people found it cramped. It was also quite warm but there was a fan which helped. Unfortunately the wifi didnt work during our stay but Jason was very kind in offering to let us stay an extra night to make up for the inconvenience.

    January 2013
  • Disappointing. This is partly because our first two Airbnb stays were really wonderful. We will not return, but this place may be perfect for somebody else.
    Great location with clothing stores, restaurants, bars everywhere.
    Very quiet
    Nice ceiling fan that is effective and quiet

    Very small. Frig, range, sink approx. 30 inches from bed. Lounge chair mashed up against bed on other side.
    Too warm: 75 degrees all night and no way to adjust heat or open window.
    Window is sealed with plastic so no way to get a breeze.
    Bed is not made. Sheets are folded at foot of bed (and house rules insist that they be left folded at end of bed)....So, do they really get washed?
    And, the bed is so tightly wedged with furniture that it's very hard to make the bed.
    Crumbs on the bureau.
    Clothes in all bureau drawers.
    Closet padlocked.
    Two sets of sheets supplied: one stained, one ripped.
    Rug was dirty.
    Toilet paper roll almost done with no replacement, same with paper towels.
    Yes, there is a nice 42" TV screen, as mentioned, but it doesn't get any TV channels or stream movies. There is a DVD player, but no DVDs.
    WiFi was on but would not connect to internet.

    So, buyer beware. Once we had coped with all of the cons we actually had a peaceful night's sleep.

    December 2012
  • Positive: Location-which is right on the heart of BackBay; Bed-a queen, which is comfortable; TV- large, easy to access the back in case you want to plug an HDMI in to watch something off your computer; Room- Quiet with a gas cooker and full bathroom.

    Negative: cleanliness- The room had not been swept/cleaned before we had arrived. This did happen mid-week, but should have been done earlier. There was no access to broom/vacuum for me to clean the room; bedding-there was only one pillow, no pillow case, ripped sheets and no blanket (A ripped sleeping bag was to double as a blanket). This was solved by my contacting Airbnb and the company giving me money with which to buy a bedding set and extra pillow, so there now should be 2 pillows with pillow cases; Communication- I was unable to contact the host via the phone, despite my multiple requests. Jason was reasonably fast to reply over the message thread, but this is not helpful when not in the apt. Room- No counter space, Fridge is a bar fridge and the freeze box does not work due to ice build-up, no temp control which lead to the room being very warm for several nights (the clock claimed 84F, although that is at the top of the room and may not be the most reliable measure of temp), no access to the closet.

    Other(Neutral): Key system- works alright, but only if the key is placed in the box on time; Room- small, with the queen bed taking the majority of the space

    Recommendation: If you are flexible and looking to overnight or to shop/bar hop on a weekend this is a fine choice, but for a longer stay (we were there a week), the room might not be ideal.

    December 2012
  • What we liked :
    - the street of course, very good place

    What we disliked:
    - the appartment : not clean, and not tidy
    - the system to get the key ...! if you don't have internet the D day, you are in the s****!
    - we were dependant to Jason : we waited 3 hours before he answered and give us the code which permit us to give the key back...!

    I think the price doesn't worth the service...

    December 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 51 times
Hempfield High School, Drexel University, The Art Institutes
A successful alternative transportation start-up
I'm a 29 year-old male who's easy-going and currently the COO & Co-Founder of a successful alternative transportation start-up. My professional bio: Jason comes from a family of entrepreneurs - his identical twin brother, mother, father, uncle and father’s father run/ran their own businesses. He is the Co-Founder of a successful alternative transportation start-up, which he built from a bootstrapped consultancy to a venture-backed software company in the bike sharing field. His company continues to thrive thanks to the relentless dedication of Jason and the team he has been honored to cultivate. Jason has represented his company in publications such as Forbes and Entrepreneur Magazine. He frequently volunteers his time to high schools and universities to guest lecture on his entrepreneurial learnings. He graduated Summa Cum Laude from Drexel University, has been recognized with a variety of awards due to his diligence and attention to detail, was an Adjunct Professor at Temple University and has built software for Unisys, the Dept. of Commerce and Merck Pharmaceuticals. He loves making the world a smaller place with the connections he's made through his international travels to well over three-hundred cities within more than twenty different countries throughout the world. A native of Hershey, PA Jason rides his bicycle most everyday and loves staying active and fit, preferably outdoors.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 days ago
Similar Listings