Room in House on Maui's Northshore

House - Private room · Kahiko St, Paia, HI 96779, United States

The Space

Room with queen bed in bright, airy, solar-powered plantation house. House has two bathrooms (one which is exclusively for you), washer, dryer, large kitchen with lots of counter space, large fridge, oven/stove, microwave, toaster oven, rice cooker and all necessary pots/pans and flatware. Long dining table with benches, great for get-togethers and board games.

If you stay here you will be renting a room in a shared house. Alec and I stay in the other room. You are welcome to make use of the common areas while you are here.

We live in a safe, working-class neighbourhood. We keep our house clean but the neighbourhood houses (including ours) are not new-looking or posh.

Enjoy breakfast on the balcony, with a view of the ocean. Take a two-minute stroll to a very quiet sun-bathing beach or a five minute walk to Paia town and a nice swimming beach. Hookipa, one of the world's best windsurfing beaches is a five minute drive away. There are many surf spots nearby. Paia has an awesome organic grocery store, several excellent, well-priced restaurants and lots of cute boutique shops. This is the perfect place for a surfing/windsurfing holiday or an authentic Maui experience.

Sharing the house with a couple (entrepreneur and musician). We are friendly people and are happy to give information and advice on Maui. Sometimes we are free to hang out but most of the time we are busy working, running errands and doing our thing. Elaine plays several shows a week and spends a lot of quiet solo time at the house writing and learning songs and booking tours. Even though Maui is a popular vacation spot we are not on vacation ourselves, so we prefer guests that are self-entertaining.

Maui has next to no public transit. We highly recommend renting a car.

Nous parlons francais. Elaine habla espanol.

Please be sure to tell us a bit about yourself when submitting a reservation request, especially if you don't have any reviews on Airbnb yet!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 1
Extra people: $15 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I had a great time with Elaine and Alec. There were
    always there to help if needed or just there to have a chat but at the same time I had a good level of privacy having my own room and
    my private bathroom.

    April 2014
  • Elaine and Alec are multi-talented, uber-friendly people and the location of the house is unbeatable if you want to be in Paia town. A nice room, your own bathroom (detached), and use of the washer/dryer. It's hard to beat!

    Note the house is in a neighborhood, so this isn't your place if you're looking for some silent beach refuge!

    Thank you both for a great visitß

    March 2014
  • The room was a good choice for our trip. We wanted a central location since our idea was to know all :) sides of the island. It was very comfortable, we had our own bathroom, a parking spot and we could leave/enter whenever we wanted in the house. Elaine and Alec are very nice and friendly, and were very helpful when asked about the island. Elaine gave us a travel guide that we used a lot! Overall a great place to stay in Maui!

    March 2014
  • I didn't actually stay at Elaine and Alec's place, but I did all the organizing for my daughter to stay with them, and I was impressed! Elaine was very prompt answering my questions, even though some of them were even about taxi's and Paia. My daughter enjoyed her stay very much and said she found the house very comfortable and Elaine and Alec to be very kind and considerate.

    March 2014
  • I had a wonderful time! Elaine & Alec were so nice! I enjoyed getting to know them. They were so helpful to me. The house is your typical island home. I use to live on Oahu so knew what to expect. It was VERY clean and comfortable. There is however local noise ; ) roosters but again you are on an island living the dream. I purposefully picked their place because I wanted to live the most like a local I could. Everything was so close to their house. I would recommend staying with them! If you want a hotel experience like some other guest seemed to have wanted she should have stayed in a hotel. Plus I got the bonus of meeting Brian & John! Two of the funniest guys and avid kite surfers ; )

    March 2014
  • We so enjoyed our stay at Elaine & Alec's house! The room was perfect - small but had everything you need, the location is perfect, too: In walking distance to the lovely town of Paia with several really good restaurants and a good spot to explore the island.
    Elaine and Alec were really helpful and provided us with information and guidebooks on Maui. They are very nice people, we enjoyed talking to them in the evenings and listening to Elaine singing in Cafe des Amis.

    February 2014
  • I stayed at Elaine & Alec place for a week and it was really pleasant. They are great host, relax and cool persons. It was cool to have our own bathroom and access to the washing machine. The room wasn't really big but going in Maui isnt really about staying in your room, right? there is so many things to see and experience all around. The bed was really confortable too! Overall, i really appreciate my week with Elaine & Alec, it was great!

    February 2014
  • Awesome hosts! Thank you so much for the great time.

    February 2014
  • Location was centrally located, near the Hana Highway for those of you wanting to do the Road to Hana. It's also near Hookipa Beach and Jaws (the work renown areas for windsurfing and surfing for experts). The town of Paia is cool, some shops and restaurants. Not really any nightlife/bars. As far as my experience at Elaine & Alec's was...okay. The house is old and run-down. When I lifted my sheets back to get into bed there was this peculiar black curly hair on my pillow. While my friend and I were there we encountered 1 huge roach in the dining area, a baby roach on our bed, a spider by the table who had formed a web (making me question how well the place gets cleaned), and a gecko in the wine cabinet. The room is very small with little floor space to walk around. The place is literally just for sleeping and not for relaxing. There is no fan or a/c in the house (which I'm sure is typical in HI). She left us each one bath towel each & didn't provide any tolietries for taking a shower (thankfully I came prepared). Although, they did provide 2 full rolls of TP. Oh! You do have your own bathroom, a stand up shower with hot water is always a plus.

    I never met Alec. Elaine was very quiet and kept to herself. When asked about recommendations, she did provide good advice. House rules: you do have to be quiet after 10pm. Realize most of Maui does shut down early anyways, esp Paia. All your outdoor activities should be down early and during the day. Elaine and Alec did provide us a house key, which was nice and convienent. As well as our own parking space shared in the driveway. They do let you cook there and use their kitchenware as long as you clean up after yourself. They also leave two shelves for you in the fridge for refrigerated items.

    Overall, it was an ok experience but I honestly wouldn't stay there again.The neighbors were loud and sounded like they were right outside of your bedroom window. And there is this very annoying rooster in the morning that doesn't shut up from 6-7:30am.

    January 2014
    Elaine & Alec
    Response from Elaine & Alec:

    I'm sorry you had a bad experience. My apologies for the hair on the pillow. I launder all the sheets and pillowcases after every guest but sometimes a hair can get stuck on the fabric in the dryer and I didn't check well enough to get it off.
    It's true that the house is old and though we try to keep it as clean as possible, insects can make their way in from time to time. We don't try to get rid of the geckos - they eat bugs. There are roosters in the neighborhood. Our neighbor just set up a trap for them so hopefully that will cut down on the noise in the future! There are some toiletries in the medicine cabinet in the bathroom in case guests forget their own. Accommodation on Maui is very expensive. The guestroom is small and our place is by no means perfect, but we try to make it as comfortable as possible and hope to offer a more affordable option to guests.

  • Elaine and Alec were wonderful to stay with and I enjoyed getting to know them. They were very helpful and willing to answer questions about the area. The airbnb description and photos are accurate depictions of the house. The bed is quite comfortable, and I slept well while staying here. As mentioned in the description, there is some noise in the neighborhood, including a local rooster. I found the noise charming and part of experiencing life in Paia. If you need absolute quiet, you might not enjoy it. Also, being able to use the washer and dryer was a nice luxury, as I was on my second week of travel.

    Elaine and Alec had a couple of local guide books and a CD guide to the road to Hana that I borrowed. If you drive the road to Hana, start early (7 am) and follow the CD. It is full of interesting stories and has great recommendations on where to stop for both scenery and food. Don't miss Coconut Glen's Ice Cream or Pranee's Thai Food. Remember that the Road to Hana is less about the destination, and more about the journey.

    There are numerous shops and restaurants that are a walkable distance from Elaine and Alec's house. I didn't have a bad meal in Paia. The Fish Market had delicious fish tacos. I also drove a short distance and went to Mamas Fish House. This place is fantastic, and the meal was perfect, as were the ambiance and service. However it is very expensive. Check the prices on their website before you make a reservation.

    I would definitely stay with Elaine and Alec again.

    January 2014
Per Month
From
$80
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 142 times
About
I am a singer-songwriter, born in Ireland, raised in Vancouver, BC. Now I live on Maui with my husband Alec, who is an engineer turned entrepreneur. He makes speedometers for sailboats and spends his free time surfing and windsurfing. We like to cook meals at home and take turns cooking. You are welcome to join our dinner rotation!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings