Cozy Apart. near Port Wine Cellars

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Rua Doutor António Granjo, Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District 4440-452, Portugal

The Space

This apartment is ideal for an affordable and relaxing holiday. Totally renovated and decorated with simplicity and taste. It has 2 rooms with 2 individual beds, kitchenette and a bathroom. The apartment is ideal for 2 couples or a couple and 2 children.
Setting
Only 200 meters from the famous port wine cellars in the historical center of Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto and the river Douro. The location is secure and with free parking available at the door. Supermarkets, coffee shops and bakeries only 100 meters away. Close to the Arrábida mall and Arrábida bridge. Quick access to A1 and VL8 routes.
Activities and attractions
The location is perfect for holiday makers wishing to visit the historical centers of Porto, Gaia, or take a tour along the River Douro. All within walking distance. The closest beach “Lavadores” is only 4km away. Buses are available to all mentioned routes, only 100 meters away from the apartment.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Extra people: $7 / night after 3 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Gabriel is very nice and helpful, the apartment is new, clean and has all the equipment. Location very good, parking .Krystyna and Wojtek Warsaw

    April 2014
  • Nice flat, but in the winter quite cold, as there is no heating.

    January 2014
  • We stayed 5 days at Gabriela’s apt. She’s a wonderful host, very nice and talkative. We used her pick-up service and we were very grateful because the flight left at like 4 AM. The house is exactly like in the pics but unfortunately I didn’t know that the house had no heating. She was very helpful and brought us a heater. We were there on the 2nd week of Jan. and it wasn’t that cold (5º - 15º). The problem was that when you wanted to take a shower, first the pressure was really low so if you have long hair…forget about washing it and secondly if you had the heater on you couldn’t take a shower bc the lights would go out. Since there isn’t enough power you can’t have 2 things at the same time. Such as, oven and shower etc. I was there with my parents who are 70 yrs old and are in good shape but I wouldn’t recommend elderly people to visit unless they go by car. Finally the apt is above 2 bars/restaurants and they are open from Tuesday – Sunday until 1 o 2 AM, they were SO noisy that it was almost impossible to sleep. If it weren’t for these things I could say that for the price and the host we had a nice stay. Thank you & Obrigada Gabriela! Beijos de todos!

    January 2014
    Gabriela
    Response from Gabriela:

    Just a few things to explain the comment. On the description it is stated that there is no central heating. The apartment has an electric water heater from CLAGE. It works fine, but the water pressure has to be reduced a (website hidden) consumes a lot of amperes, therefore we cannot have many appliances switched on at the same time as we use the shower. We have 30 amp and 6.9kVA, which is a normal electricity contract for a flat.The guests called me at 10:30 pm to complain about the noise from the restaurant below as the restaurant staff were pushing the wooden tables and chairs, although later the guests confirmed that it was only that evening and they could not remember what time the noise stopped. I agreed to move the guests to another apartment that I manage that has central heating and no restaurant below, (at an extra cost), but the guests refused. This flat is on a 1st floor and the busstop to Porto center is just on the other side of the street.

  • The reservation was canceled 18 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    November 2013
  • We had a great time at Gabriela's place. She was very helpfull and gave us some good tips. Thank's for this spontainious acception.

    September 2013
  • Our stay was pleasant and nice. The apartment is exactly as shown on pictures. Above all, Gabirela is a great host. You just have to ask her to pick you up from the airport ;) We had not only a transportation, but also a great tour and an introduction to what was worth to see. Sometimes the restaurant below the apartment doesn’t allow to forget it’s open late hours, especially near weekends.

    September 2013
  • We had a perfect vacation at Gabriela's appartement. The flat was comfortable and neat. Public transport is around the corner, so you'll arrive the City Centre of Porto in max. 10-15 minutes. In the area you'll also find supermarkets, a really nice bakery (lovely croissants) and some restaurants.

    Gabriela is a helpful host. She picked us up at the airport and showed us the main sights of Porto.

    September 2013
  • My boyfriend and I stayed at Suzana's apartment and loved it. Suzana was a wonderful host from start to finish. The apartment was extremely clean and convenient and she made everything so easy. The apartment was great just like the pictures. We would recommend this place to our friends.

    July 2013
  • We had a great stay at the apartment and everything we needed was there! It's not far away from the Douro.
    Gabriela was a wonderful host and she recommended spots that were worth a visit! We went to "Ponte de Pedra" restaurant and they had great food and very friendly staff.
    If you have a car then you should visit Espinho. Great beach and nice town!
    When we visit Porto again we know where to stay! Thanks Gabriela

    June 2013
  • Gabriela gave us some good information about the local area, food, and activities. We found the apartment to be mostly as described in the photos, but there's no real "living room" to relax in. The location was near the port wine caves and like most areas of Gaia, it was quite hilly. We enjoyed the steep hilly walks (there's an amazing view of the city at one point along Gabriela's street), but it might be challenging for older visitors. It's about a 15 minute walk to the main bridge across the river to Porto, so in terms of sightseeing it's quite convenient. We also used Gabriela's drop-off service to the airport, which was so much appreciated with our very early flight!

    June 2013
    Gabriela
    Response from Gabriela:

    The apartment is as shown on the photos, as they are verified and taken by a professional photographer from Airbnb. The description does not include living room. The appartment has a kitchenette with two sofas, as can be seen on the photos. Regarding the hilly walks, "older people" are sometimes even fitter than young people :) It was a pleasure hosting you guys. Hope to see you again..

Per Month
From
$54
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 81 times
Languages
Deutsch, English, Français, Português
School
EXTERNATO DEUTSCHE SCHULE ZU PORTO, Deutsche Schule zu Porto - Colégio Alemão do Porto, Iscap
Work
CAM Macau International Airport Company
About
Hi everyone, my name is Gabriela, but all my family and close friends call me Gaby. I was born in Porto and I have lived in Macau for 20 years and have travelled a lot. Since 2000 I live in Vila Nova de Gaia. I have 2 sons and 2 granchildren. I love antiques and handicrafts and sometimes I sell my goods in flea markets and antique fairs in Portugal. Both Porto and Vila Nova de Gaia are two cities with a lot of cultural activities, and it is not only Casa da Música! I love to go to concerts and festivals and stroll around the city.Portwine is my favorite drink and all the Portwine cellars are located in Vila Nova de Gaia and are worth visiting. As I like to meet people and to socialize I decided, in 2009, to rent my apartments to friends and tourists. All the preparation and cleaning of the apartment are done by me and I love to welcome my guests myself. Everything is prepared with care as for my best friend. You will not regret to stay in one of my places, all in Vila Nova de Gaia. All your requests are wellcome. Just let me know. I am also available to pick you up from the airport for a small fee and show you around our cities, Porto and Vila Nova de Gaia.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
3 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings