Eco house, fresh fruit & simplicity

House - Entire home/apt · Clay Ave, San Diego, CA 92113, United States

The Space

- 1-bedroom house... all yours
- Plentiful free parking
- Full kitchen with cookware & stocked pantry
- Private bedroom and bathroom with bathtub
- Fast wireless internet

Tucked away in Central San Diego, in an urban and ethnic neighborhood, this little eco house provides a cozy and charming experience for travelers who want to stick close to the city center, including those attending events at the nearby convention center (accessible by bus or trolley).

Previous guests have enjoyed making fresh squeezed orange juice in the morning, picking the fruits directly from the trees in our yard. There's a nearly year-round harvest of apples, oranges, lemons, peaches, guavas, and avocados. Feel free to enjoy these fruits as they ripen -- pick as much as you like during your stay.

This home seems best suited to those who want to live like a local and eat like a local. Mexican market, popular Salvadoran restaurant, tamale vendors, and taco truck with $1.25 fish tacos and $2.50 fish ceviche tostada :) are a couple blocks away.

Or… utilize our fully stocked kitchen and cook meals, do yoga, stream a movie across speedy wifi, luxuriate. The bedroom closet will provide plenty of room for your luggage and clothes to be stored away out of sight.

FREE PARKING on the street in front of the house with no time limits or street sweeping requirements.

Less than a mile to freeway entrances I-5, SR-94, and I-15. That means easy driving access to popular destinations in San Diego: 5 minutes to Downtown San Diego, Balboa Park, Coronado Bridge & 15 minutes to the beach, Mission Bay, airport, the Mexico border. Or walk two blocks to the bus line and you can be at the convention center / downtown in 30 minutes.

Those who are desire a traditional hotel experience might be best served elsewhere -- we want all of our guests to be happy with their choice in where to stay and we work hard at earning their satisfaction.

---------------------
WHAT WE OFFER
---------------------
- Clean linens & towels
- Organic cotton sheets
- Extra pillows and blankets
- Refrigerator, stove/oven, cookware, utensils, wine glasses, microwave, toaster, salad spinner, pantry essentials, oils, salt, pepper, spices for cooking & baking.
- Initial supplies for your stay including soaps, travel-sized hairdryer, COFFEE & TEA, sweeteners, creamer, etc.

Entertainment:
- Password secure FAST WIFI network
- i-device compatible CD player/radio
- Projector & wall-sized video screen installed (hook up your laptop and watch movies on a big screen)
- Maps, menus, info about fun things to do waiting for you upon arrival. Check our Airbnb guidebook for initial ideas.

Extras:
- Airport shuttle, errands, tour guide available if arrangements are made in advance.
- For the pet-and-allergy-sensitive types, this is a pet-free house (no animals on the premises) and we use green cleaning products.
- Light sleepers: we are situated well south of the airport landing pattern.
- Couch turns into a bed for a third guest.

There is a small load WASHING MACHINE with spin dryer and a backyard clothesline for your minimal laundry needs.

In addition to the above you'll find eclectic zen vibes, energy efficient choices, and character that comes with vintage 1940's houses. The freestanding 1 bedroom/1 bathroom house and surrounding property is not shared with anyone.

Our calendar is always up to date. Any other questions just ask!

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $5 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Monthly Price: $1550 /month
Cleaning Fee: $40
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The reservation was canceled 48 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    April 2014
  • This little cottage is great. If you like big faceless hotel chains in snooty areas then it's not for you. If you want a genuine travel experience in an authentic neighbourhood you'll love it :)

    March 2014
  • Hillary was really helpful with every information we needed during our stay.
    The apartment is nice, the bed was super comfortable.
    The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook (also spices!)
    I agreed with other reviews that the neighborhood is working class, not super fancy, but quiet.
    Maybe I recommend to arrive by car the first time to get used to the neighborhood.
    But at the end we had a good stay. Thanks!

    March 2014
  • Hi Hillary, what a lovely time we had, very comfortable, vey close to most of the tourist attractions and we are enjoying the avocados that are ripening nicely!!
    Your home has a wonderful feel to it, it reminds me of a cottage I once had in England.
    Thank you for sharing your home with us,
    Molly and Ed Rossmiller

    March 2014
  • The apt/cottage was a comfortable spot. Haven't had the chance to meet the land lady but she definitely seemed nice. We stayed inside for the most part cause we had our own awesome movie theater through a DLP Projector, projecting HD screening, if you bring your own HDMI cable to utilize the HD projection. Otherwise, you're stuck with standard definition with the provided VGA or DVI connection. HDMI cable must be at least 8ft long. And if you want a good audio experience with the proper placement of the provided stereo, bring an extended mini phono jack of at least 8ft long to further extend the placement of the stereo to your laptop's mini phono jack. Keep in mind, they already provide a 6ft male to male 1/8" mini phono jack but too short for proper placement of the stereo to experience theatrical audio with the DLP projector. Internet speed is OK. It runs at 5Mbits/sec. It's definitely fast enough to browse through the internet, but not fast enough to download and simultaneously watch HD video. Standard Definition download is definitely fast enough. Everything in the apartment/cottage, was provided. Design of the apt had an ikea setting, makes you appreciate the artistic work put into the internal design of the apt. The bed was comfy and is alternatively upright reclinable. Perfect for movie night but unfortunately, no tv in the bed room. Projector and Screen are located in the living room. Or fortunately, so you can finally put your eyes to rest or focus your eyes on something or someone else.

    February 2014
    Hillary
    Response from Hillary:

    Happy to hear you had a comfortable stay. We really appreciate all the technical details you provide for future guests who want an optimal HD viewing experience. Thanks!

  • The home was very cosy and intimate. I quite enjoyed it's size. It was perfect for two people and I loved Hilary's stocked kitchen.

    One thing we failed to notice until after we bought some frozen foods was that there was no microwave! But it was easy enough to cook stove top and in the oven.

    Public transportation was very easy and very close by. It's one bus to the Gaslamp district.

    Yes, the neighbourhood is working class, with many wire fences, metals bars, and a regular amount of dog poop on the sidewalks. This neighbourhood, though non-threatening, is definitely not for everyone. However, if you're a confident traveler or are arriving in a car, this place is perfect. Great value for such comfortable rooming.

    Her bed is so comfortable. The bedroom was our favourite spot to chill in. We plugged in the iPad to the stereo and enjoyed movies on our nights in.

    Hillary, though I didn't get to meet her, made herself available to my questions and even checked in here and there. I totally appreciated that. It just felt nice that she checks in!

    February 2014
    Hillary
    Response from Hillary:

    At the time of this guest’s booking there was no microwave, however, we do listen to our guest’s feedback. As a result, we have since added a microwave to the kitchen amenities. Pleased to hear you made use of the kitchen and that your stay was comfy & cozy!

  • Hillary and Michael's home is simple, clean, and filled with all the goodies of a home away from home.
    I enjoyed my stay there while attending a 5 day conference in San Diego-it was very comfortable and convenient for public transportation. Hillary was very attentive, considerate, generously stocked with basic staple and great suggestions for exploring the local unique features like awesome mexican food. The weather was perfect, the fruit trees were delightful for making fruit cocktail drinks, each morning. The wireless internet connection was fast.
    I highly recommend Hillary's as great travel stop.

    November 2013
    Hillary
    Response from Hillary:

    Thanks for the tip to mix our fresh squeezed fruit juices with coconut water -- will definitely try it! So glad you had a good visit. We'd be delighted to host you again!

  • October 2013
  • Our stay here (10/7/13 - 10/14/13) was very positive for my partner and I, and we couldn't have asked for a more attentive host. Hillary was always available by email if we had any questions.

    Hillary's description does a good job of summing up the house and neighborhood. The central location made navigating San Diego easy. The full kitchen made our trip more affordable and allowed us take advantage of the really excellent produce available in the city--guacamole and salsa become staples of our diet. The house itself is located in a mostly quiet, predominately Latin-American working-class neighborhood. Around midday Saturday, singing coming from the church across the street competed with music from family parties in the neighborhood for airspace.

    The house is very comfortable: great bed, cozy breakfast nook, enough seating space if you'd like have a couple of others over for diner, will smell like guava if you pick fruit from the tree out-front. It has a washer (read instruction carefully) and any of the other appliances you'd need.

    It's a great space with a great host. I recommend it without reservation to folks looking to stay in a local San Diego community.

    Cheers!

    October 2013
  • We had a great time at Hillary's house. The house had everything we needed without any clutter and was decorated beautifully! We enjoyed cooking dinner in the kitchen and watching movies on the giant projector screen. It was a short drive to gaslamp and within walking distance to a delicious taco truck and a market where they make tortillas! We would definitely stay here again.

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$80
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 305 times
About
Hillary & Michael : We are travelers by choice and we love meeting interesting people. When we travel we seek a more genuine experience of a place. For work: he's an engineer, she's a therapist. For play: outdoor adventures, food, culture... expanding our horizons. Wherever we've lived, our spare bedroom or couch has always been open to friends and family, and we have enjoyed opening up the whole house for travelers and vacationers, too. Positive experiences all around!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
6 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings